We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average motel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge Cherokee
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
Certificate of Excellence
ATL
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average motel.”
Reviewed 15 September 2009

I stayed for one night. This is your average motel: exterior corridors, basic breakfast, basic cable TV, free wi-fi with good reception.
The room and bathroom were quite clean, but the blankets were dirty and sticky.
Doable for a 1 night stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    86
    39
    9
    7
See reviews for
56
109
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Turin, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2009

it a quiete econolodge, very clean and with helpfull staff. the breakfast was very basic nut the place is ok . - free wifi-

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marco.to
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 January 2009

Will never stay in any of “Econo Lodge” hotels ever again!!

Our trip was scheduled for Dec. 24/2008, also my wife’s Birth Day. Due to unexpected financial changes we had to forget about our trip to “Econo Lodge” Cherokee, NC. And because it was creasy time around Christmas holidays I forgot to cancel our reservation with “Econo Lodge” in Cherokee, NC.

Was not surprised to see that my credit card was billed for the service I didn’t use but what really upsets and angers me is the hotels management un-wiliness to do the right thing for the customers. Even after several phone calls to the hotel and conversation with hotel’s manager Susan, explaining that my wife lost her job and we had to cancel our trip, I was unable to get any money back or a hotel credit.

Instead I received a letter from hotel manager Susan saying that they cannot find my cancelation number and can’t help me. How lame is that! I have never said I canceled it. Just was hoping they would be human and understand why I failed to cancel and give me a refund. But who was I kidding.
They all just money hungry, heartless individuals.

Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank msivyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoCherokeeMgmt, General Manager at Econo Lodge Cherokee, responded to this review, 8 July 2011
We are sorry this guest did not understand the motel's holiday cancellation policy. Had the guests taken a second to cancel this reservation in advance of the arrival day we would have been happy to cancel for them. However, on a busy holiday weekend when we actually held the room and did not therefore have the opportunity to rent the room we would loose revenue by cancelling the room after the fact. No business could function if this were the common practice. TIP: when needing to cancel a reservation most motels are happy to do so even if
it is in violation of the cancel policy. If the guest is responsible by taking a moment by calling the motel to make the cancellation so the room can be released back into inventory to be rented. Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky Point NC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2008

We had gone to see the leaves and just have a get-away. We stayed in room 115. It is on the bottom floor.The room was nice and clean. We had a coffee pot, hair dryer and small fridge in our room.The hotel itself is in a great location! No matter which way you needed to go ,you could turn out of the driveway at a light.The staff was nice and very helpful. When we was leaving my windshield was dirty. The house keeper let me use her windex and rag to clean it.They all made us feel at home. This is one of the quietest places we have stayed at. We stayed for 2 days. I will stay there again! I do recommend eating at Granny's Kitchen. It has a buffet bar with different meats and veggies.

  • Liked — Qiet and clean ,great location
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank linda28457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2008

I picked this place because I was traveling with a group of four (my sister and her young adult kids) and I wanted as many beds as possible for a reasonable price. The Econo Lodge delivered as we had 3 Queen beds for slightly under $90 in August. From the outside, the place looks like a typical cheap motel and the room smelled very musty, but once I aired it out and we saw the view of the river from the room it was fine. This is within walking distance of the "Unto These Hills" shows but is across town from the casino.

The breakfast is the usual unspeakable motel breakfast of donuts and coffee so we went to the casino instead where they serve a very good breakfast.

This place is fine for a short stay.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jurnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cherokee hotels
1.1 km away
Rolling Hills Lodge
Rolling Hills Lodge
#4 of 28 in Cherokee
113 reviews
2.4 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cherokee Smoky Mountains
1.1 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 28 in Cherokee
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#9 of 28 in Cherokee
275 reviews
2.0 km away
Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort
1.0 km away
Hampton Inn Cherokee
Hampton Inn Cherokee
#3 of 28 in Cherokee
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Cherokee? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Cherokee

Property: Econo Lodge Cherokee
Address: 20 River Rd, US Hwy 19, Cherokee, NC 28719-9771
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Cherokee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cherokee
#5 Family Hotel in Cherokee
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,708 - ₹ 10,190
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Cherokee 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Econo Lodge nestled in the heart of the Great Smoky Mountains is a conveniently located hotel in the downtown area on the Cherokee Indian Reservation adjacent to the Oconaluftee River and is minutes from most of the areas popular attractions like Harrahs Casino, Paula Deen's resturant, The Cherokee Indian Museum, Oconaluftee Indian Village, Unto These Hills a powerful outdoor drama that brings to life the tragic history of the Cherokee people, Oconaluftee Island Park and the Blue Ridge Parkway. Other points of interest include: Santa's Land. Cherokee Bear Zoo. Cherokee Fun Park Tubing on the River. Fontana Dam, Deals Gap (Tail of the Dragon), Cataloochee Ski Area, Gatlinburg/Pigeon Forge, Great Smoky Mountain Railway. Come stay with us and enjoy being in walking distance to restaurants and many shops with a theater complex just across the street from the Econo Lodge. Activities include tubing, world class trout fishing, bonfires and picnicking on the river. The Econo Lodge is also just 30 minutes away from Western Carolina University. Guests of this Cherokee, NC hotel are invited to enjoy many great amenities like free fresh coffee, free wifi, free local calls and a free deluxe continental breakfast. Business travelers will appreciate the access to copy/fax services and free wifi. Traveling families will enjoy our larger family suites. All of our spacious guest rooms come equipped with coffee makers, hair dryers, cable television with free Showtime and refrigerators. Handicapped accessible, smoking and non smoking rooms are available. Whether traveling for business or pleasure the Econo Lodge hotel offers a convenient location, relaxing accommodations and affordable rates to everyone visiting the Cherokee area. Our friendly staff looks forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Cherokee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherokee Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing