We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”
Review of River's Edge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
River's Edge Motel
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Our room was large, very clean and comfortable. The free wi-fi came in handy while we passed time sitting on our balcony over the river. The shower was excellent! Would recommend this motel, it is great value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dromomaniacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (256)
There are newer reviews for River's Edge Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

223 - 227 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2012

I booked this hotel through hotels.com. We paid only $56 per night! The location is supreme, the front desk staff (especially Bonnie) were exceptional, the rooms were very clean. The beds are comfortable, but I would bring my own pillow next time. The motel is right on the road, so you have to exercise caution if you don't back your vehicle in. Each room has a balcony that overlooks the river. The view is great! It is located very close to shopping, restaurants and the park entrance. Downtown Cherokee is right down the road. We usually always stay at Hilton/Hampton and i was a little hesitant about booking somewhere we had no prior knowledge of. I am thrilled that I chose this place and we would not hesitate to stay here again and will suggest it to anyone we know planning a trip in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dbae27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

This Motel is a small "Motor Lodge" style motel. The rooms all have balconies that are right over the trout river which makes a very pleasing sound as the water rushes by. The beds are VERY comfy and for the price I don't think you can get a better value anywhere. There are no real amenities to speak of but the location on the river is worth the price. Definitely go to Peters down the road for breakfast, it's really good. They only serve breakfast but they do it well. Pauls across the street within walking distance is kind of hit or miss to be honest, we've never had an issue with the food but the service can be a bit slow. The indian taco is worth the drive.

Unfortunately with Harrahs growing in this town I fear for the survival of these smaller places. I feel their time may be coming to an end, as is the whole vibe of the Cherokee experience, I'm afraid soon it will be like Gatlinburg and who wants that?

Room Tip: We always try to stay on the ground floor, it's closer to the water.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doug S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

we had a wonderful time at the rivers edge about 2 yrs ago and we r headed back there in aug of 2012 for our honeymoon along with my uncle and his new bride all honey mooners ridin, they r very biker friendly and the view of sitting on the balcony on the ground level especially, in the rockin chairs was unforgettable,looking forward to staying there again this yr,we would recomend this place to all our friends and family,thank you rivers edge for your great hospitality and clean relaxing atmospheres.

Room Tip: id say the best rooms are the ones at ground level,with balconys just above the crystal clear water...
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

nice hotel loved the river,friendly staff.beds wre realy hard and pillows did not sleep well at all was ready to leave,other than that it was nice.

Room Tip: ask to check beds for comfort
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandy11santee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cherokee hotels
0.5 km away
Rolling Hills Lodge
Rolling Hills Lodge
#4 of 28 in Cherokee
125 reviews
0.8 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cherokee Smoky Mountains
2.7 km away
Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Great Smokies Inn
Great Smokies Inn
#7 of 28 in Cherokee
225 reviews
2.5 km away
Cherokee Grand Hotel
Cherokee Grand Hotel
#23 of 28 in Cherokee
282 reviews
2.3 km away
Hampton Inn Cherokee
Hampton Inn Cherokee
#3 of 28 in Cherokee
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River's Edge Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River's Edge Motel

Address: 1026 Tsali Blvd, Cherokee, NC 28719-9217
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Cherokee
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cherokee
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cherokee
Price Range: ₹ 6,231 - ₹ 18,952 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — River's Edge Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently remodeled and located on the Cherokee Indian Reservation in the heart of the Great Smoky Mountains, River's Edge has everything to offer. You can sit on your own private balcony overlooking the Oconaluftee River, or just step out the door to choose from convenient restaurants, stores, and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your River's Edge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River`s Edge Hotel Cherokee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing