We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't quite make it to five stars...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Charlotte Marriott City Center
Ranked #23 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
222 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Can't quite make it to five stars...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

The good:

Staff - every single person, bar none - were incredibly helpful, friendly, and always had smiles on their faces.

I checked in early and "my" room wasn't ready, but they "found" me a room on the 6th floor, which was fine.

Cleanliness - excellent!

Bed - comfortable!

Conference services - good.

Why not five stars?

1. No in-room safe. Unless it was so well-hidden I couldn't find it. This is a problem.
2. Traffic noise. Yes, I understand Charlotte is a busy city. But my room faced Trade Street, which seemed inordinately busy and is obviously a main route for police cars, ambulances, and fire trucks. Additionally, it's right across the street from a Hooters - with outdoor (on the sidewalk) seating. And Hooters-goers apparently party late into the night. And loudly. With much gusto. Not sure what the hotel could do about this - I'm sure all-new windows/extra glazing would be cost prohibitive.
3. Spotty Internet connection.

I'd stay here again, but only if I could request a non-street-side room.

Room Tip: As for a room with no window overlooking Trade Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stefmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

778 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    305
    119
    33
    21
See reviews for
122
174
37
300
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012 via mobile

No complaints at all during my recent four day stay for a conference. The room was pristine, and the bed was comfortable. The in-room thermostat ensured that the temperature was always just right. I kept the do not disturb sign on my door, and twice when I passed housekeeping in the hallway they checked to make sure I didn't need any towels or toiletries. The event facilities were also very nice, and the food was surprisingly good. Every hotel employee I encountered was courteous. Given its location at "city center" there were plenty of good restaurants nearby, as well as a pharmacy. I don't drink coffee, but several of my colleagues appreciated the Starbucks in the lobby. I would definitely stay there again!

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sealander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
88 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Stayed three nights here on a business trip. The hotel met all the high standards that I have come to expect from the Marriott chain of hotels. Front desk staff were attentive. I experienced a problem accessing the wireless internet from my room, called the front desk, and help arrived at my room within ten minutes. The hotel has a great location right in the heart of downtown Charlotte. Lots of very good restaurants and pubs within walking distance. The NASCAR Hall of Fame and Time Warner Cable Arena (home of NBA's Charlotte Bobcats) are also within walking distance. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeogProfOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Within walking distance to shops and restaurants. Very pretty city but not much to do .

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfv3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

Stayed one night, good stay. View from our room not great, but other rooms probably had better views. Bathroom looked updated, with waterfall faucets. Over all a nice hotel room.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moonpie711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Third Ward
Courtyard Charlotte City Center
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#37 of 178 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
First Ward
Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City
First Ward
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
#18 of 178 in Charlotte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlotte Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlotte Marriott City Center

Property: Charlotte Marriott City Center
Address: 100 W Trade St, Charlotte, NC 28202-2144
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Third Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,956 - ₹ 31,505
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charlotte Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bringing new polish to a building filled with history and character, Charlotte Marriott(R) City Center is breaking the mold of hotel design with a residential-style aesthetic. Our Charlotte, NC, hotel's reinvented style draws the Charlotte community into dynamic, tech-enabled public spaces perfect for connectivity and integration. Our fresh, open-design approach to the traditional hotel lobby features a coffee social hub with locally sourced coffee, unique retail and limited-edition food selections. Stoke, a community-inspired dining experience with an immersive kitchen, places guests in the center of the action. We've tailored our guest room designs with inventive solutions, and our new fitness concept goes beyond the ordinary with more than 600 on-demand workouts and state-of-the-art equipment. Foster collaboration and harness the ingenuity of your group in 20,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, including our new Event Hub with high-end technology enhancements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Charlotte Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlotte Marriott City Hotel Charlotte
Marriott Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing