We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and service”

Gallery Restaurant at The Ballantyne
Ranked #89 of 2,731 Restaurants in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 10 - US$ 65
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: Ballantyne East
Cross street: Johnston Road
Description: Gallery Restaurant specializes in a locally sourced, progressively Southern approach to exquisite new American cuisine. Driven by modern culinary techniques, Gallery's culinary team is committed to creating delicious and beautiful cuisine featuring the freshest regional ingredients. The restaurant's comfortable ambience is enhanced by a captivating art exhibit from local contemporary art provider Shain Gallery, establishing an authentic gallery feel. Gallery Restaurant serves upscale breakfast, lunch, weekend brunch and dinner daily and offers a full bar and bar menu. Gallery is an ideal restaurant for weekday business lunch and dinners and offers a private dining room which can accommodate up to 20 guests.
Reviewed 6 January 2018 via mobile

The food here is not too bad. It is supposed to be fine dining and I think it fits that bill. Pretentious menus, loaded with words you have never heard of? Check. Knowledgeable staff? Check. Artwork, curated from a local gallery on the wall? Check. It isn't too bad, but this restaurant seems like every other fine dining restaurant in a pretentious hotel. To me the best meal here is breakfast. If you want something less stuffy, go and eat in their bar area. A different menu can be found there.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank wallstreetredbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2018

The restaurant had a three or four course price fixe for NYE. The choices were plentiful enough and the food was very good. I had the Prawn Cocktail and Surf and Turf and all were great. Service was akin to a cruise ship. Very attentive without being annoying. A nice experience.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Charlene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballantyne H, other at Gallery Restaurant at The Ballantyne, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Dear Charlene,
Thanks for celebrating on New Year's Eve with us. We are delighted you enjoyed your experience, and we hope to serve you again soon.

Sincerely,
Chris Shatto
Director of Outlets

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2017

From the start, the service was poor. We never got our bread and our drink had a fly in it. The meal was expensive but lacked flavor. This is my 4th time giving this restaurant a chance. Management appears to be around but did not acknowledge the fly in the drink. We a little more training this restaurant has so much potential.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jose C G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballantyne H, Director of Outlets at Gallery Restaurant at The Ballantyne, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2017

Dear Jose,
Thank you for dining with us on multiple occasions. We apologize that you had a disappointing experience, as we strive to provide exceptional dining from start to finish. We have reached out and hope to have the opportunity to discuss your concerns directly. Again, we are sorry that we did not deliver upon our fine standards.

Sincerely,
Chris Shatto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2017

What a pleasure to find quiet, upscale, gracious fine dining in a city where boisterous chain restaurants abound. Food is creative without being odd or eccentric. Soups are to die for - don't know how they do it. Service is grand, affording privacy while there with just a nod or a look up. Order drinks as you like them made and they are served with pride and a smile. Whether sitting barside or at a table, this is my favorite Charlotte restaurant. Hospitality can't be beat, and what you spend is easily controlled by whether you flirt with and share several appetizers or an entree or two.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank MarkRMetuchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballantyne H, Director of Outlets at Gallery Restaurant at The Ballantyne, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2017

Dear Mark,
Thank you for your kind review. At Gallery, we strive to provide the best in service, cuisine, beverages and overall ambience. We are delighted you experienced this firsthand. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Chris Shatto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017

Ok, we booked this restaurant based on the positive reviews for my daughter’s graduation.
When we arrived we were asked to wait because the table was not ready. We waited for at least 15 min and were sitted at the hastly arranged table. The waiter was nice but was overwhelmed with other tables so we had to wait for a long time for every drink or dish order. He even forgot about the drink for my daughter and confused which drinks I ordered bringing a wrong kind. The food is pretty average, not bad but dors not worth the price tag for sure. So in short it is overpriced and overrated place, with below than average service.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank AlexM252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballantyne H, Director of Outlets at Gallery Restaurant at The Ballantyne, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2017

Dear AlexM252,
Thank you for selecting Gallery to celebrate your daughter's graduation. We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced and take all feedback very seriously. At Gallery, we are committed to providing memorable dining experiences, and we are sorry that we fell short of this. We will reach out to you and hope to have the opportunity to address your concerns directly.

Sincerely,
Chris Shatto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gallery Restaurant at The Ballantyne also viewed

 

Been to Gallery Restaurant at The Ballantyne? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing