We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel but poor bedding”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Dunhill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Dunhill Hotel
Ranked #43 of 177 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel but poor bedding”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

This is a beautiful hotel located in downtown Charlotte. It's conveniently located and beautifully decorated but it was one of the worst nights sleep I've ever had. The bed was very lumpy and the pillows as well. My back and neck were so sore the next morning from so little support.
Also, the air conditioning system was poor. I couldn't get my room cooler than 74 degrees
The bathroom was beautiful with all updated fixtures.
If it weren't for the bed and pillows, I would rate this hotel a 5!

Room Tip: Ask for a bed with an updated mattress and soft pillows
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hannah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Dunhill Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback. It is extremely helpful to us as we strive to exceed the expectations of our guests. I am very sorry that the bed and pillows were not comfortable during your stay. We have replaced the mattress pad in your room and are in the process of upgrading our pillows as we speak. I hope that you will stay with us again on your next visit to Charlotte so that we can provide you with a great stay and an even better nights sleep. Please contact me directly to make those arranements.
Sincerely,
Craig Spitzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    108
    37
    13
    11
See reviews for
52
173
21
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

This hotel is very clean and well kept. The staff is very helpful and friendly. It is well located in the downtown area. Many attractions are nearby and in walking distance. The parking garage is right next door and is very convenient. We highly recommend this hotel when in Charlotte, NC.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TWOFLORIDATRAVELERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aiken, SC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

We stayed here when attending a wedding at a nearby church. The staff was helpful and solicitous, and the hotel was convenient to lots of attractions and restaurants though I think I would go back just for the shower. It had three jets! (I understand not all rooms had that however). It is one of the Historic Hotels of America. Those have never been a disappointment.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moonflowerAiken_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

Thanks to the great staff and the historic charm this place is a great place to stay. We had a wonderful King bed and loved the bath amenities. It is the perfect spot to stay for a weekend getaway. Close to lots of downtown restaurants and activities. We also enjoyed the food at breakfast the next morning. Freshly made and delicious! Try the Gluten free foccacia it is great and the coffee is perfect. We own a B&B so we are fussy about our coffee! Thanks for a great stay, we will be back!

Room Tip: We were up on the 7th floor, I would chose there or higher to get away from traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

We decided to spend the Memorial day weekend in town and I booked the hotel via Priceline. I was hoping I will get a regular hotel but I got Dunhill. I used to work next door to it and Dunhill always intrigue me. I tried to get Priceline to change the hotel after reading the reviews about how small the rooms are. The room is indeed small say 10' * 20'. It has 1 queen bed and mini-twin pull-out sofa bed. We have four people in our party so we need something for the fourth person. Dunhill gave us a rollaway bed. Once the beds are down we could not move around in the room, you have to be agile to get around. The hotel staff were very service oriented and were always eager to please. The hotel was a good break from the usual chain and it is in the middle of everything downtown Charlotte all the restaurants, football stadium, basketball arena etc. The one interesting thing is how thin the walls are. You could hear sex sounds from the neighbors so I will be worried about in young kids here. This happened multiple times. Overall the hotel will be perfect for a couple, single or business traveler.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Logic_Constructor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#39 of 177 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,887 reviews
Third Ward
Charlotte Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown
Third Ward
Courtyard Charlotte City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dunhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunhill Hotel

Property: The Dunhill Hotel
Address: 237 N Tryon St, Charlotte, NC 28202-2136
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Fourth Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#35 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,693 - ₹ 21,972
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dunhill Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Decades before The Dunhill Hotel would open, local architect Louis Asbury Sr. was entranced by the great Italian craftsmen who created cathedrals famous for their soaring, elegant roof lines. Today, The Dunhill Hotel stands distinct on the Charlotte skyline, an amalgam of American, British, and Italian influences, something those with an eye for period detail can detect. Opened in 1929 as the Mayfair Manor apartment hotel, with half of its original 100 rooms permanent residences, today's Dunhill Hotel is a thoughtful evolution. A full restoration was recently completed, and various on-going aesthetic improvements all share a common goal--to celebrate the original vision of Mr. Asbury, with a nod to the needs of the modern traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dunhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunhill Hotel Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing