We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I love everything about this hotel !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dunhill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Dunhill Hotel
Ranked #42 of 176 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Porland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I love everything about this hotel !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

Where to start...
Great service from everyone, especially the bartender Pete who remembered my name and drink of preference and kept all his customers entertained and feeling good.

Fantastic food at the restaurant for reasonable prices breakfast is amazing farm fresh eggs grits homemade sausage all gratis with room

Great water pressure
Good bed
Feels a bit like home away from home

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oenogeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    107
    37
    13
    11
See reviews for
52
172
21
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

I had the good fortune of staying overnight here for a job interview in Charlotte, and the hotel is gorgeous, clean, and they have the most accommodating and friendly staff of any hotel I've ever been. The showers are gigantic-you could easily fit ten people in there. It's quaint, the beds are remarkably comfortable, and everything is so elegant. It sits right in the middle of downtown Charlotte- right across from the beautiful downtown library and two blocks from a CVS should you need anything. They will shuttle you anywhere free of charge, the restaurant downstairs serves nothing but local, organic, and delicious food, and they have some great views of the city. I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: I only know of the room I stayed in, but the people at the front desk are so sweet- they will help y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

The Dunhill provided the perfect location for our first Christmas as "outlaws". We were close to but not with the newlyweds. Great lobby bar provided an A + meeting spot and the in-house restaurant breakfast was not to be beat. I plan on making the Dunhill my next Charlotte stay!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melrosetoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, VA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

This was our second time here, and we'll definitely be back, based on the outstanding service beautiful decor, good value. We were greeted by Tom, who gave us a warm welcome and upgraded our room. Had a queen suite on 5th floor - beautiful room, very comfortble bed, feather pillow, small but serviceable bathroom, very nice wardrobe with flatscreen TV. Pete, the bartender, also made us feel at home - he's amazing at remembering everyone's names! Do go to the restaurant that's connected - Harvest Moon Grille - not like any hotel restaurant we've been to - it's farm-to-table, wonderful food. Ask Jennifer for suggestions - she was very helpful! Location is perfect if you're going to the Spirit Center - easy walking distance.

Room Tip: High floor was nice for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateRoanoke_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virgina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

When we first pulled up here I was intimidated but from the guy working in the garage to the the person working the front desk service was exceptional. The bed was so soft, the blankets were made of down, there was a freakin Keurig!! :) The room was so lovely. Now I know some people on here are sticklers for certain details so yes there was a crack in the toilet that was just a problem cosmetically. Also there was a bus stop outside so I heard it all night. These things didn't bother me at all-to be in a historic, immaculate hotel I realize that it wont be as quiet as the Hilton. But the Hilton lacks character and the Dunhill has plenty. We will return!!! Oh and GREAT location so close to so many great places to eat.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsTarakD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#36 of 176 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,843 reviews
Second Ward
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Westin Charlotte
Westin Charlotte
#30 of 176 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
Third Ward
Charlotte Marriott City Center
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dunhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunhill Hotel

Property: The Dunhill Hotel
Address: 237 N Tryon St, Charlotte, NC 28202-2136
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Fourth Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#35 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,642 - ₹ 24,695
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dunhill Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Decades before The Dunhill Hotel would open, local architect Louis Asbury Sr. was entranced by the great Italian craftsmen who created cathedrals famous for their soaring, elegant roof lines. Today, The Dunhill Hotel stands distinct on the Charlotte skyline, an amalgam of American, British, and Italian influences, something those with an eye for period detail can detect. Opened in 1929 as the Mayfair Manor apartment hotel, with half of its original 100 rooms permanent residences, today's Dunhill Hotel is a thoughtful evolution. A full restoration was recently completed, and various on-going aesthetic improvements all share a common goal--to celebrate the original vision of Mr. Asbury, with a nod to the needs of the modern traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Dunhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunhill Hotel Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing