We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely delightful - a must do if you haven't”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ballantyne, Charlotte
Ranked #9 of 182 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 19 September 2017

Check in was so easy and friendly; valet parking is complimentary; had a room on the 5th floor overlooking the golf course. Rooms were very sound proof. They have assured you of all the amenities you could want. Bed was very, very comfortable; loved the large lounge chair; two chairs at the desk were nice; loved the glass walk -in shower and the soaker tub was nice also. Provided luxury robes and slippers; the spa was elegant and again met more than you expectations. Banquet food was elegant dining. The wait staff looked and acted so professional. Every staff member you saw, took the time to speak to you - to welcome you - or ask you to return. I would love to fine just one thing that could be improved and that was probably the fan in the bathroom was LOUD but I really didn't need to turn it on. You must treat yourself to a night or two here and enjoy the surrounding area of Charlotte while you are there.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the golf course have an excellent view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank channingway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballantyne H, General Manager at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear channingway,

We cannot thank you enough for taking the time to share such a wonderful review of your stay. It sounds as though you joined us for an event, and we could not be more pleased to know that our colleagues' genuine and friendly service was a highlight for you. Along with our luxurious accommodations and the beautiful views from your room, it was our pleasure to provide you with a memorable experience. We hope your travels will bring you back to the area in the future, as we would love to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Peter Grills
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (832)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 36 of 832 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2017

We are not really resort people. For us, we'd rather do city centre and experience local life.
So, we are not really the target audience - nor are we experienced reviewers of resort type places.
I think they do it well.
Our room was HUGE!
Palatial.
The wagyu burger in the veranda bar was awesome and Lee the bartender was great fun too.
Claudia had a treatment at the Spa which she said was fabulous.
The fact that we only had breakfast on Sunday may mean we had a non typical experience.
The menu was the "brunch" menu, and was not really appropriate for 7am!
Also the breakfast items on it were ferociously expensive.
Overall it is lovely - very event/wedding focused.
It was labour day weekend, and so maybe busy in a non typical way.
Nice place though.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballantyne H, General Manager at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear Michael C,

It is wonderful to read that you tried something new with your stay at The Ballantyne, and were pleased with your experience. Our guests can expect a beautifully tranquil atmosphere and luxurious accommodations, along with exceptional service. We will be sure to pass your compliments for Lee along shortly. Labor Day weekend can be a busy one for us, but we certainly have times when guests can expect to not see any events being held. If you are in the mood for another relaxing experience in the future, we would be more than happy to recommend the perfect time for you to join us again.

Sincerely,

Peter Grills
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

I was disappointed with my stay here. We booked a golf course view balcony room as we knew it would be much better than staring at the main intersection on the other side of the building. When we arrived we were told they were all taken by a wedding and they could only give us a room on the 2nd floor on the parking lot side. So I had a view of a tree. This defeated the purpose of paying extra for the balcony and view.

The pool (outdoor) shows quite a bit of wear. Tiles are missing. Also the staff was not very helpful. For being a "Luxury Collection" property they need to train the staff better. The pool attendants made no effort to assist people with the umbrellas etc. Wait staff and to be flagged down. This was not relaxing or pleasurable for me.

Overall the property is ok but not amazing.

Room Tip: Request Golf Course Side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Imperial_Eli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballantyne H, General Manager at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Dear Imperial_Eli,

We appreciate the time you have taken to share your review. Providing our guests with an exceptional experience from start to finish is our specialty, and we apologize for not better serving you. Please trust that we are making note of your concerns and of the lapses in service that you encountered, so as to ensure they are not repeated. If we have the opportunity to accommodate you in the future, we are confident we can provide you with a thoroughly luxurious and flawless stay.

Sincerely,

Peter Grills
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile

As a gold SPG I expect they would have a room ready for me by 2:25 pm especially since we were attending a wedding at the hotel. The best they could do was a downgrade or have my room MAYBE ready by 3:15. The room and bed were very comfortable but the room was far from quiet with a lot of outside noise from outside and the hallway. The bar downstairs was very average. The gym had a lot of great equipment and the golf course was a very good track. Overall a good stat but nothing special about this hotel.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Rabs22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballantyne H, General Manager at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Dear Rabs22,

First, we want to extend our gratitude to you for being a loyal SPG guest. We will of course do our best to accommodate our loyal guests' need for an early check-in, but without prior notice, we cannot guarantee that a room will be ready. We apologize for whatever frustration this may have caused. Additionally, in the future, we can plan ahead to reserve a room that is located in a more quiet corner of our property. We hope the wedding you attended was lovely and that you enjoyed your overall time in the Charlotte area. If we have the pleasure of serving you again, we look forward to improving on this experience.

Sincerely,

Peter Grills
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

I had the pleasure of staying at the Ballantyne Resort this weekend. It was a girls road trip complete with a fantastic massage at a great resort. We arrived Friday night and the hotel was very quite and peaceful. Our check in was seamless and the room was really nice. The beds were comfortable and I love the plush robes and slippers that were provided. Had a great massage on Sat and just relaxed in the Spa area for over an hour. There was just one really strange thing that happened on Monday evening, I know the hotel had no control over but as I was in the bar/lounge area, which is a really nice space where they serve Tea on Sunday's and you can sit with a drink or just read and socialize, there was a couple there with their bare feet up on the coffee table and the couch. They were lounging like they were at home. Gross!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 5th, 6th or 7th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CRB1511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballantyne H, General Manager at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Dear CRB1511,

Thank you for choosing The Ballantyne for your girls' getaway. it sounds as though you were in search of a relaxing retreat, and we hope we delivered. Between our luxurious accommodations and sumptuous Spa treatments, there are so many ways to unwind with us. We do apologize for the disturbance you encountered on Monday. It is possible that one of our associates did not notice and thus, we could not remind them to lounge appropriately. We will keep a better eye out for this sort of thing going forward. If you and your friends are interested in returning in the future, we are committed to raising the bar for you even further.

Sincerely,

Peter Grills
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Fourth Ward
The Ivey's Hotel
The Ivey's Hotel
#1 of 182 in Charlotte
182 reviews
First Ward
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
#16 of 182 in Charlotte
690 reviews
Fourth Ward
The Dunhill Hotel
The Dunhill Hotel
#51 of 182 in Charlotte
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
The Westin Charlotte
The Westin Charlotte
#34 of 182 in Charlotte
1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ballantyne, Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ballantyne, Charlotte

Address: 10000 Ballantyne Commons Pkwy, Charlotte, NC 28277-2484
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Charlotte
#3 Green Hotel in Charlotte
#3 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#6 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#12 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range: ₹ 12,946 - ₹ 29,401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ballantyne, Charlotte 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ballantyne, a Luxury Collection Hotel by Marriott, Charlotte welcomes guests with gracious service, elegant accommodations and abundant amenities. Explore the spa, seasonal outdoor pool, indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna, tennis, golf, fitness, exquisite dining, 24 hour room service, afternoon tea and leisure offerings. The Ballantyne features beautiful hotel rooms, a lovely cottage and The Lodge at Ballantyne, a 35 room group retreat. Meeting and event planners are invited to view meeting and event facilities with spacious and picturesque outdoor venues, on-site group activities and creative culinary offerings. The Ballantyne is located within nine miles of SouthPark and Carowinds and within 18 miles of Uptown Charlotte and Charlotte Douglas International Airport. In addition to its great accessibility to Charlotte’s impressive recreational and entertainment offerings, the hotel is set amidst shopping, dining, retail and the thriving Ballantyne community. Guests enjoy a complimentary shuttle within one mile and access to many dining and conveniences within walking distance and even more within a short drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ballantyne, Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ballantyne Hotel Charlotte
Ballantyne Hotel Charlotte
Ballantine Resort Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing