We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed bugs!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte Northlake
Ranked #7 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Bed bugs!”
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We have stayed at the Drury Hotel in Charlotte many times and have always been impressed by the cleanliness. Twice I have written the corporate office to acknowledge their high standards. Unfortunately, our experience in April was different. As usual, the room appeared clean. While visiting the bathroom around 2am, I noticed a bug on my shirt. I killed the bug and noticed blood on the tissue....bed bugs! After turning the lights on in the room, numerous bugs were seen on the linens. On inspection, the top of the mattress showed clear signs of bedbugs. As one might imagine, this was upsetting. We contacted the front desk and were told that we would be moved to another room. The desk clerk appeared at the door with new room cards and an envelope containing the amount paid for the room (part of the cash was rolled coin). I am not sure what they hoped to accomplish with this gesture, but money was not something we were concerned about at that time. We did not want to take bedbugs to our home. We were instructed by the manager to leave our belongings in the infested room. The exterminator would arrive early in the morning and would heat treat our belongings along with the room, killing the bedbugs. Unfortunately, none of this happened. We received a call from the manager at 9am at which time she informed us that the exterminator “only found two bed bugs”, our untreated belongings had been moved to our “clean room”. No further action was taken on the part of the hotel staff. They were done! As evident by the appearance of the mattress, others have been exposed to bedbugs in that room. I hope that they have been informed of their exposure. Judging by the actions or lack of by management during our experience, I would guess not.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
10 Thank fisher20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DruryHotels, Manager at Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte Northlake, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Thank you for being our guest! We appreciate you letting us know about your recent stay at our hotel. Immediately after you brought the issues to us during your stay, we brought in a professional to inspect and treat the room to eliminate any potential issues. No bedbugs were found. We also reviewed procedures with the team in case bedbugs are reported. Again, we appreciate the information and feedback so we can be better at our jobs. We do hope you will return to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    547
    162
    35
    7
    5
See reviews for
337
189
34
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

My husband were in Charlotte for Father's Day weekend so we could see his parents. This location was convenient to where we needed to be around the city.

First, kudos to Jennifer and Greg at the front desk. Jennifer helped to check us in and did a great job of getting us a room that worked for us (the first room had a smoker in the hall, so she upgraded us and put us one floor up from the initial room). I will say that because of the great customer service here, they do tend to get alot of large groups in on the weekend. There were two family reunions and a wedding party staying there while we were there. Luckily the room we had was tucked around the corner so it was relatively quiet.

Greg is the night desk person. All I can say is this kid has a ton of patience since some of the kids from one of the larger groups decided to play a prank in the kitchen area and spilled coffee onto the floor. I was able to witness Greg just take the next right action and clean this up like it was nothing. Truly amazing.

The rooms are clean and are not so dark as some of the Drury Inns that we've stayed at before. We usually bring our dogs, but left them behind this trip and brought our road bikes instead. The room was large enough to bring our bikes inside for safekeeping.

EVERYONE that works at this hotel is nice. When we were heading out on Sunday we needed to put our key at the front desk and we ran into the cook from the kitchen area. She was happy to step behind the desk and check us out.

The location of this hotel is on the perimeter road around the NorthLake mall. There are plenty of food establishments nearby including Moe's, a Panera bread, Wendy's, and several sit-down restaurants. It's very close to the highway and is very easy to get to.

Room Tip: For us, we found that room 430 was a good choice. IT's on the end of the hotel so is around the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anonymous196307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

At last, a hotel I can't say anything negative about.
Spacious, modern, clean, friendly staff, quiet AC (No loud wall units, great TV selection, terrific breakfast. You can walk to a huge shopping mall from your room!
This hotel is like an "oasis" for someone who is frequently on the road.
No loud slamming doors. Peaceful, clean, great lighting and counterspace in bathrooms.
A wonderful place to stay!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vintagelinensbylois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario,Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I love these hotels!! Great service and very clean and comfortable. Always complimentary drinks, food in the evening and morning. Beautiful hotel! I always look for these hotels first when travelling, I wish there were more in the northern states.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanuckMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2012

This hotel is probably the cleanest hotel I have ever stayed at. The staff is very friendly and asks all the time if there is anything else they can do for you. I would definitly stay here again and only wish they had locations in the Northeast.
Thank you, Drury Hotel, for making our stay very enjoyable.

Room Tip: I can't imagine that there is a bad room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marie228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown
Mineral Springs
Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte University Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte Northlake? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte Northlake

Property: Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte Northlake
Address: 6920 Northlake Mall Drive, Charlotte, NC 28216-2857
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#7 Best Value Hotel in Charlotte
#8 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#11 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,925 - ₹ 12,113
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte Northlake 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte Northlake is conveniently located off I-77 and I-485. This north central suburb is close to Lake Norman and only 15 minutes from downtown Charlotte attractions like Bank of America Stadium. In addition to free hot breakfast every morning, we serve free hot food and cold beverages every evening at our 5:30 Kickback(R). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte Northlake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn And Suites Charlotte Northlake
Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte Northlake Hotel Charlotte
Drury Inn Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing