We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal”
Review of Mr Tokyo

Mr Tokyo
Ranked #382 of 2,731 Restaurants in Charlotte
Restaurant details
Reviewed 18 December 2017

My favorite place!! Lunch for $12.99 is such an amazing deal-- I have yet to find any sushi that tops this place.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cterickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2017

2 visits in a row, the hosts tried to seat other people before us.. The first time I caught it in time and got the bar seats.. The 2nd time, they seated a whole table of 6, when that party had checked in after us and we told the staff and they didn't do anything to fix it.. I had 3 toddlers with me.. that had already waited 40 minutes for a table.. I will never go back with a big party.. Make sure you are added to the list using your phone # so they cant lie to you about your place in line..
The sushi is VERY GOOD.. Worth waiting 40 minutes for..

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Janneth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

The all you can eat menu has a lot on it, but many of the rolls are fried or have tempura bits on top. My husband got the all you can eat and had a couple rolls, one fried and doused in mayo and one that wasn't fried. He thought they were OK. He also tried the grilled squid and it was very over cooked and tough. I like rolls but not fried so I ordered one from the regular menu, it listed all the contents and it didn't say fried or mayo on it, yet the roll showed up covered in tempura and mayo. They made me another one and when you could see the avocado on top, it was all browned. Soups, salads, and yellow tail sashimi were OK. I think you get what you pay for here though.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank jaimew578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

The sushi, seaweed salad and other appetizers are very good. The best thing is that nearly the entire menu can be had as unlimited for only $18.95. Order all the sushi rolls (even specialty), appetizers, even fried rice as much and as often as you like. You only pay extra for leftovers so make sure you clean your platrs.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank jekcpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

This is an amazing concept. The food is pretty good. This is not a full tilt Japanese restaurant. But they manage to hit all the high points. Service is great. Wait staff are efficient and pleasant. Chefs get the food out quickly. Price is very reasonable for what you get. They strictly enforce the no waste rule, so order only what you are certain you can eat. However, the don't seem to have a problem with your continuing to order more food, only with not eating it.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wtyson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mr Tokyo also viewed

 

Been to Mr Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing