We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Holiday Inn! Excellent Any Hotel for That Matter!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City
Ranked #40 of 177 Hotels in Charlotte
Neenah, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent Holiday Inn! Excellent Any Hotel for That Matter!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

I travel nearly every week, and I usually stay at IHG hotels. So when I tell you the service here was some of the best, that is saying a lot. The front counter staff was prompt, attentive and made me believe they were concerned about my satisfaction with everything about the hotel.

My room was very clean and decorated very well. The European-style bowl sink and the iHome by the side of the bed were great touches to make my room feel like home.

The hotel is located in the heart of downtown, with great restaurants and nighlife within short walking distance.

If I find any fun clubs or great places to dine, I'll be sure to post a review.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ATW-Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    248
    96
    41
    26
See reviews for
95
128
35
289
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

All the members on the staff here I meet truly care about about what they do, how they do it and who they do it for...their guests!!! This is certainly a cut above the rest with a great location, service, food and atmosphere. Everyone seems to go beyond what's required to make their guest feel welcome with a warm greeting and a smile, followed by exceptional service. This hotel is consistent and persistent with their high standards of quality. Many thanks!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitsett, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

I was going to be in Charlotte on business so I did my research on hotels uptown. After reading all of the positive feedback and reviews I decided to book this hotel plus you couldn't go wrong with such a wonderful location...the WORST mistake ever!!! When I arrived for check in, I stood at the front desk for several minutes before anyone acknowledged my presence...terrible customer service. I got checked in and headed to my 1st room, which smelled of mold/mildew. The decor of the room was dated and clearly not what was advertised on the website plus the bed was uncomfortable to sit on so I knew it would be terrible to sleep in. I got into the shower when I realized the drain was backed up and disgusting dirt and debris floated around my feet. I tried to call the front desk but neither phone in my room worked so I had to use my cell phone to contact the front desk. After being transferred 2 or 3 times to request another room I finally had someone come up and give me a key to my 2nd room. Once in the 2nd room (which was even more dated in decor than the last) I checked to make sure the shower worked properly. I then wanted to cool the humid and stuffy room, that's when I noticed the air conditioner didn't work! Now I'm having to go to a 3rd room! Not once have I received an apology or anything and this is all taking place within the first night!!! I get to the 3rd room which I can say was upgraded in decor but that was about it. The bathroom floor and tub were nasty. The water in the sink ran down the drain extremely slow. To make matters worse, the water in the shower barely got lukewarm and I got of the shower literally shivering! The next morning a requested an extra blanket; it took about an hour for me to receive it...I almost had forgotten I requested it. The 1st night's experience was so horrific that I stayed the 2nd night with a co-worker that was staying at the Hyatt House (which was amazing!). When I checked out I attempted to express my concerns and the only thing the lady at the front desk said was "Oh I'm sorry. Would you like to stay for breakfast?" I travel frequently and this was by far the worst hotel stay I've ever had!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UrFuture P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
UrFutureP,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

The hotel staff really make the stay worth while...Carolyn Jackson(front desk), thank you for all that you do to make our stay such a wonderful experience. We could not have done it without you! The location, service, food and additional amenities are excellent. Management has gone beyond what's required to make their guest "welcome"...they provided additional areas for entertainment and longer hours for food availability...exceptional service. Thanks again..see you all next year!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Letitia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

Clean, hotel staff very efficient consider it was busy CIAA Basketball conference weekend. Hotel restaurant was wonderful, especially the full breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: Make reservation for hotel restaurant before going...food is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Third Ward
Courtyard Charlotte City Center
Third Ward
Charlotte Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#39 of 177 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City

Property: Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City
Address: 230 N. College St., Charlotte, NC 28202-2112
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > First Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#47 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,828 - ₹ 16,819
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City 3*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to a little uptown ambience. Uptown always means style, class, and maybe even a little attitude. Uptown Charlotte blends arts, events and entertainment with the prestigious setting of the second largest financial center in the U.S. The Holiday Inn Charlotte Center City hotel is located in the heart of Uptown and Charlotte’s Business and Entertainment District. We are only a short walk from dozens of restaurants, entertainment, retail shops and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City Hotel Charlotte
Holiday Inn Center City
Charlotte Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing