We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dinky Room” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Carolina Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Carolina Inn
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Tarheel In North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Dinky Room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

We stayed in a deluxe queen room, recently renovated. It was one of the tiniest rooms I have ever stayed in, in any city. One of us had to step aside for the other to reach any other part of the room. Our view was of the roof, and there was extremely limited counter space in the bathroom. However, that wasn't the bad part. When we checked for the weekend in we learned that the 'historic elevator' was out of commission for the last 8 days, and would not be operating 'until next Wednesday.' No apologies. The only other elevator was on the other side of the building, and out 3rd floor room was as far as you could possibly get from the elevator. No such thing as a 'quick trip' down to the lobby. Apparently the bed had not been recently renovated, because it sagged. On the upside - the location is super convenient, and if you want to rub shoulders with a lot of half drunk students, Friday night is free bluegrass music on the lawn.

Room Tip: Don't pay for a 'deluxe renovated' broom closet - pay less and go with the larger unreno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Muelleac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Carolina Inn, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
We are very sorry you were disappointed with your accommodations. Also, as you pointed out the historic elevator has been down for more than a week as we are having parts that are no longer available fabricated as soon as possible so we may return it to service. We are truly sorry for the inconvenience. If you would be kind enough to give me a call at 919-918-2728 I’d like to discuss your experience with you personally. We do care very much about your opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    886
    202
    63
    18
    17
See reviews for
423
244
62
326
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
173 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

We are staying here for a nieces wedding held tomorrow on property. I booked a king bed with large tub in bathroom. The bathroom is huge. Seperate toilet. Windows with blinds. Huge tub. Two sinks. Large shower. All the tile is immaculate. I like the basket weave pattern on the floor and will steal the look for my own bathroom. The bedroom with king bed has a chair and ottoman, desk and bureau with flat screen tv. I'm watching the US Open on it right now. The lobby is so beautiful and smells like roses. Plenty of conversational areas and southern traditional furnished. We had a chance to walk around and the grounds are pretty. A party with music open to all seems to be had on Fridays on the front lawn It starts at 5 and was just breaking up at 8. Looked to be attended by locals and students. I love the area within the campus. You can have great walks from here. Will stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryla_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack S, Director of Sales at The Carolina Inn, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
We are pleased you were delighted with your accommodations here at the Inn and hope you will return many times! Thank you for sharing your comments here on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

We stayed at The Carolina Inn, Chapel Hill, for our daughter's orientation for college on June 7 and 8. This was our first stay at this hotel and we were terribly impressed and will most definitely stay at The Carolina Inn many more times over the next four years. This beautiful historic building is nestled in the heart of Chapel Hill on the campus of UNC. Although the hotel is was build in the first part of the century, it is beautiful, clean, and modernly appointed throughout. The staff displayed the finest in Southern hospitality. Although we arrived late and hungry, the waiter in the Carolina Crossroads Bar, on-site-, was gracious and friendly, not once rushing us or seeming annoyed that we ordered food minutes before closing. We reserved a Queen double room and were pleased to learn that we had been upgraded to a corner Queen suite. The halls of this charming hotel are filled with pictures, political cartoons, and other historic memorabilia from the University of North Carolina. The rooms are not cheap, but the location, service, and accommodations are worth every penny. We left on a Friday, just as the hotel was filling up the front lawn for their summer program, The Front Porch - a delightful mix of live music, various wines and beverages, and families with picnics and blankets. Although my daughter will not return until August, I may have to find a reason to return for the summer Porch evenings.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

The Carolina Inn is a very nice place to stay. We were there for a wedding. There were several weddings going on at once but it was not uncomfortable or crowded. What was unexpected was the renovated Deluxe Queen room with no view. We did not have a window. The drapes were there but there was only a wall with a shuttered transom window at very top that you could obviously not see anything out of because of the height and shutters. The hotel should not book someone into the room without full disclosure and a discount when they check into the hotel. Since there were many weddings going on, we did not ask for a room change, although we should have. Our stay at the hotel was great otherwise.

Room Tip: Ask where the room faces, when checking in
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bsmy84
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

I've been going to this hotel every Christmas for a rather large, formal family gathering for over a decade, and as delightful a venue as it is, the food has never failed to disappoint ... except for the desserts and salads - maybe.

I don't know how they do it, but unless you order something basic like a grilled steak, you're probably not going to enjoy what you get. Your entree will look terrific, but its appearance is likely to be deceiving.

Also, your parking is supposed to be free, but if you have your parking stub stamped when you get there, and you go over 3 hours, you're apt to be stuck with a hefty parking fee, too. In other words, it would be wise to wait and ask your waiter to have your parking stub stamped shortly before it's time to leave.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bsmy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chapel Hill hotels
0.5 km away
The Franklin
The Franklin
#4 of 17 in Chapel Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
4.5 km away
Rizzo Center
Rizzo Center
#1 of 17 in Chapel Hill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
3.0 km away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Chapel Hill University Inn
Chapel Hill University Inn
#6 of 17 in Chapel Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
6.5 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
2.9 km away
Aloft Chapel Hill
Aloft Chapel Hill
#10 of 17 in Chapel Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carolina Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carolina Inn

Property: The Carolina Inn
Address: 211 Pittsboro Street, Chapel Hill, NC 27516
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chapel Hill
#2 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chapel Hill
#4 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,763 - ₹ 24,152
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carolina Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located in the heart of downtown Chapel Hill, at the doorstep of the beautiful campus of The University of North Carolina. Come experience world-class service, elegantly appointed guest accommodations, superb dining, outstanding meeting and banquet facilities, and an expert staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions and Booking.com so you can book your The Carolina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carolina Hotel Chapel Hill
Carolina Hotel Chapel Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing