We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Chapel Hill
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible Experience”
Reviewed 6 June 2012

My experience at this particular location was terrible. It started from the moment I checked in for my 1 week stay. First, my room was not ready at 5 PM. Second, a new roll of toilet paper was not available (the original roll was running out). I had to go to the front desk to pick a roll up myself. Third, the mattress and the feather-free pillows were OLD. I can feel the springs in the mattress. The pillows were flat as soon as I put my head on them. Fourth, the walls and the door are so thin I can hear people talking in another room and in the hallway. Fifth, the internet is SO SLOW I can barely log into work account and send an email. Last but not least, the hotel was VAGUE about the transportation service they can provide between the hotel and the conference center that is <1 mle away prior to my reservation. Needless to say, it became a major issue. It should've been something Marriott needed to resolve between the management and the customer, but instead they went to the conference center hotel and requested that they send a shuttle to pick up Marriott customers. I have never heard of this. Our conference organizers went beyond their call of duty and PAID for the shuttle service due to liability issues. In addition, the taxi service Marriott recommneded was also VAGUE with pricing. He never once told us how much it will cost per trip when we requested for the price. I travel often enough to know that this is something unacceptable. Needless to say, I will not be a repeat customer at this particular location. If you do choose this location because of the price, be prepare to make frequent calls to the front desk.

Room Tip: Be prepare to call the front desk often and bring your own pillows and aero bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deb s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    122
    54
    18
    11
See reviews for
126
47
22
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Located almost centrally, right off the exit, we were able to take advantage of restaurant by Friday center, Brixx...see separate review...the lobby, the halls and the room was clean and had overpowering smell of soap or cleaning products. I was disappointed to find out that no microwave, no fridge was available in the room...then I was doubly disappointed with the tv selections, no hgtv, no foodnetwork...limited channels for sure. I was happy with the Internet, but not pleased with no free breakfast offered as with other hotels I am used to staying at...I was also disappointed with inconsistent housekeeping...but front desk staff was very helpful when we came in late and needed directions to late night restaurant...

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blake0821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

The rewards points are not worth it! Adjoining room noise woke my family up after 2hrs of sleeping. Called front desk and they argued with me saying could not confirm the noise. We were supposed to stay for three nights but will check out tomorrow. Traveler beware!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tired88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Valley, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

I arrived late night and a deer darted in front of my entrance to the building. This was rather refreshing!. I felt very secure in this hotel as it has interior access only. Some Residence's Inns are exterior access rooms which are beautiful but...not my favorite as a single traveler.


This is another great Residence Inn location. Very quiet, peacefull location. Easy parking by room, simple breakfast and excellent evening reception. Free Internet with really easy access.(they have a new server which is really slow and hopefully they fix this).

The pool is nice, clean and relaxing. Staff was sincerly kind.

Great experience.

Room Tip: The entire property is quiet! Great nights sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atarnove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

First time at a Courtyard. The location was good. Close to UNC but a little out of the way. Needed a car to go almost anywhere. Neat, clean hotel. Good value. Beautiful room nice lobby. Friendly staff. Would have been nice to have an outdoor pool. It was really hot. Outdoor patio was a nice touch. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janetrs47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chapel Hill hotels
4.1 km away
The Carolina Inn
The Carolina Inn
#3 of 18 in Chapel Hill
1,298 reviews
2.7 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
1.4 km away
Aloft Chapel Hill
Aloft Chapel Hill
#11 of 18 in Chapel Hill
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Chapel Hill University Inn
Chapel Hill University Inn
#6 of 18 in Chapel Hill
461 reviews
1.4 km away
Rizzo Center
Rizzo Center
#1 of 18 in Chapel Hill
427 reviews
4.8 km away
Residence Inn Chapel Hill
Residence Inn Chapel Hill
#7 of 18 in Chapel Hill
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Chapel Hill? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Chapel Hill

Property: Courtyard Chapel Hill
Address: 100 Marriott Way, Chapel Hill, NC 27517-7100
Region: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
#8 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,409 - ₹ 11,274
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Chapel Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Chapel Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Chapel Hill Hotel Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill Courtyard
Chapel Hill Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing