We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy adjoining rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Chapel Hill
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2012

The rewards points are not worth it! Adjoining room noise woke my family up after 2hrs of sleeping. Called front desk and they argued with me saying could not confirm the noise. We were supposed to stay for three nights but will check out tomorrow. Traveler beware!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tired88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (399)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Chapel Hill
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

282 - 286 of 399 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2012

I arrived late night and a deer darted in front of my entrance to the building. This was rather refreshing!. I felt very secure in this hotel as it has interior access only. Some Residence's Inns are exterior access rooms which are beautiful but...not my favorite as a single traveler.


This is another great Residence Inn location. Very quiet, peacefull location. Easy parking by room, simple breakfast and excellent evening reception. Free Internet with really easy access.(they have a new server which is really slow and hopefully they fix this).

The pool is nice, clean and relaxing. Staff was sincerly kind.

Great experience.

Room Tip: The entire property is quiet! Great nights sleep!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atarnove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

First time at a Courtyard. The location was good. Close to UNC but a little out of the way. Needed a car to go almost anywhere. Neat, clean hotel. Good value. Beautiful room nice lobby. Friendly staff. Would have been nice to have an outdoor pool. It was really hot. Outdoor patio was a nice touch. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janetrs47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

I would like to thank Cynthia Knight and the general manager for correcting a misunderstanding on my bill. Also, the room was comfortable for a middle class person without all the extras that you usually pay for and don't use. I recommend the breakfast. Everyone was nice.

Room Tip: We stayed on floor 4; the elevator was fast. Ask for a discount.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrystalBynumGM, General Manager at Courtyard Chapel Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Thank you for the review of our hotel. I am happy to hear that we were able to correct the misunderstandning with your bill. We hope that we have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Thanks!
Crystal Bynum
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Please read other "Terrible" review, don't take my word on this along.

You make your reservations more than 45 days in advance, follow all of the rules, show up and are told you are being "walked" to another Hotel as they are over booked. Still have not figured out what "Walked" means, must be Marriott speak for "Get Out".

We were booked for 4 nights, they made a one night reservation at another Hotel we had to find on our own, in the dark. We were on our own for the rest of our stay.

No apology, no directions, no gratuity, just hit the road with a cold impersonal form letter that had been copied a thousand times, telling the new Hotel we were entitled to one night and one phone call on the Marriott.

As a frequent business travelers we were not happy and will never use them again.

To their credit when I did call Marriot Corporate and complain that I at least would like my points, the General Manager did accomodate them, just what we would have gotten if we had stayed the 4 days, and a little more (please, about $5 worth). I should never have had to ask.

No Thanks, there are better places to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank mLIZp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrystalBynumGM, General Manager at Courtyard Chapel Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Thank you for the review of our hotel. There has been a situation in the last month in which we had an unforeseen circumstance that placed the hotel in a situation to relocate a few guests. In this scenario, we pay for the first room night and welcome you back to the hotel on subsequent nights. We take full responsibility for the issue that caused the limited availability of guest rooms which is why we pay for your one night stay.

If the point compensation isn't what you expected, please feel free to contact me directly at (919) 883-3402. I want to be sure that you are satisfied with the compensation so that we can maintain your loyalty to the brand.

Thanks and I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Crystal Bynum
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chapel Hill hotels
4.1 km away
The Carolina Inn
The Carolina Inn
#3 of 18 in Chapel Hill
1,351 reviews
2.7 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
3.9 km away
Chapel Hill University Inn
Chapel Hill University Inn
#7 of 18 in Chapel Hill
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Aloft Chapel Hill
Aloft Chapel Hill
#9 of 18 in Chapel Hill
459 reviews
1.3 km away
Rizzo Center
Rizzo Center
#1 of 18 in Chapel Hill
469 reviews
3.9 km away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Chapel Hill? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Chapel Hill

Address: 100 Marriott Way, Chapel Hill, NC 27517-7100
Region: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
#8 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range: ₹ 7,507 - ₹ 13,666 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Chapel Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Chapel Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Chapel Hill Hotel Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill Courtyard
Chapel Hill Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing