We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in NC”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cashiers
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
High Hampton Inn & Country Club
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cashiers
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great place in NC”
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Wife and I stay at High Hampton every summer. We love it. Wonderful place to relax and forget about the stresses of daily life. Rustic cabins, great food, and fantastic people.
We recommend at least a five night stay. They also have a very fun golf course.

A wonderful mountain retreat.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
targmarket, General Manager at High Hampton Inn & Country Club, responded to this review, 2 August 2011
We are appreciative of your loyalty. For us, it is important that you were able to unplug and enjoy some of the finer and important things in life. Hope to have you back often.
Thank you!
Clifford Meads
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    43
    16
    13
    14
See reviews for
103
50
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

My wife and I have spent a long weekend the last two Octobers at this resort. We love the simple, rustic accommodations. We love the fact that there is no TV in our room. We love the fantastic hiking trails, the clay tennis courts, the lakeside setting, the evening entertainment and the bfast/lunch/dinner buffets. And we love meeting the other guests.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rowdy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
targmarket, General Manager at High Hampton Inn & Country Club, responded to this review, 2 August 2011
Thank you for your recent note regarding High Hampton Inn. We look forward to your visit in October which should be beautiful. October is a special time of year with fall colors, Oktoberfest and many other family activities.
Thank you again
Respectfully
Clifford Meads
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Last week, we returned to High Hampton for our second visit. Travelling with my wife and I were our two children - seven and five.

We had a truly wonderful 5 days.

I used the Inn as a fitness "bootcamp" : I signed up for 1:1 fitness lessons with the trainer at the health club plus with Marianna the tennis pro. They were excellent.

My children begged to be enrolled in Noah's Ark which is the kids Club.

My wife worked on the Inn's front porch.

We spent our afternoon's together as a family --the kids Club closes at 2:00 pm --relaxing at the Lake.

So many positives, most of all the friendly staff especially at the restaurant.

Truly a wonderful place.

That said, it is woth setting expectations: The rooms are adequate and charming. They are not luxorious and I hope will never be.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeandeMontebello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
targmarket, General Manager at High Hampton Inn & Country Club, responded to this review, 2 August 2011
We want to thank you for your review and the fact that you used so many facets of the property. We truly believe we have a lot of activity choices for families that have a variety of needs. You certainly have seemed to capture the essence of whom and what we are. We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to providing your family with memories for years to come.
Respectfully,
Clifford Meads
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germantown, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

This is a PRETENCIOUS DUMP! What a joke! COMPLETELY OVERPRICED and NOT SAFE! This "lost in the woods" resort is a want to be and I have vacationed at the likes of The Homestead Spa & Resort, Nemacolin and the Greenbrier. What a joke! No elevator and we had many elderly and disabled individuals in our party, no phones in the rooms, no AC, dead bugs were in the room, there is a foot gap between the floor and the door so that rodents, bugs, etc....can enter your room. NO HAND RAILS in the bathroom for those that assistance when bathing and the fire exits in the event that the popsicle structure went up in to flames was frightening to say the least. THE ONLY redeeming quality of this resort is the picturesque view of a rock face overlooking a murky and nasty pond and the food. The food was pretty good and the young staff was polite. Save the money and RENT an RV if you want to go camping instead of staying at this dive. We left a family wedding and opted for the HAMPTON INN in Cashiers and it was LOVELY!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank smoothieqn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
targmarket, General Manager at High Hampton Inn & Country Club, responded to this review, 13 July 2011
Once in a while get do get guests who are not in tune with who we are and what we offer. Sadly, this appears to be in case in this instance. When we discover this we hopefully can resolve the apparent discomfort while they are on property but even that cannot always be done. High Hampton goes to great length to describe who we are even by posting this statement in all of our literature and web site content. “Over the years we've found that not everyone likes it here. Those who don't like it usually want more plush accommodations - ours are simple and rustic. While there are many planned daytime and evening activities, there are no neon lights or crowded casinos. Commercialism is not part of High Hampton's beauty. But fortunately, most people do like it and come back season after season”.
This review in our estimation clouds the joy and memories that High Hampton Inn is known to produce. We wish there was a re-do for this family so that we could have them depart on a very different note and submit a very different message. Our invitation to them stands open.
Respectfully,
Clifford Meads
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights with my husband and 2 kids ages 8 and 12. The property is beautiful and well maintained. Our room (Appletree 204) was very spacious. We loved the rustic feeling and the fact there were no tv's. It allowed us some quality family time. There were tons of other kids here and they all play together by the lake or on the open lawn spaces in front or on the side of the inn. We saw many extended families that have been coming for years. The activity options were great... Hiking, boating, volleyball, horseshoes, playground, board games in the lobby, and family evening activities in the inn. We did not take advantage of the supervised kids
club but they looked like they were having fun. Tennis and golf are
available too but we did not do those either. Meals were buffet and
quite good. They seemed to have a theme every meal (seafood night,
itialian night, Mexican lunch, etc. We appreciated the variety and the fact that the kids could try lots of new things. It is like going back in time when you stay here. Most buildings were built around the turn if the century. We only had 2 negative issues during our stay. Housekeeping dud not come one day and it took 2 walks up to the lobby (remember no phones!) to even get someone to exchange our towels at 5pm. Also, during one lunch we did not gave a waiter and had to pour our own drinks and clear our own dishes. Overall a GREAT family place! Would love to come again if our budget allows!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Floridabeachbum11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
targmarket, General Manager at High Hampton Inn & Country Club, responded to this review, 13 July 2011
Thank you very much for your remarks and we are glad you enjoyed this beautiful spot in the mountains. Yes, families are very important to our heritage and we look forward to your return year after year.
Respectfully,
Clifford Meads
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cashiers
3.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
12.0 km away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
201 reviews
12.2 km away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 km away
Highlands Inn
Highlands Inn
#6 of 7 in Highlands
171 reviews
12.4 km away
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages
12.0 km away
200 Main by Old Edwards
200 Main by Old Edwards
#4 of 7 in Highlands
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Hampton Inn & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Hampton Inn & Country Club

Property: High Hampton Inn & Country Club
Address: 1525 Highway 107 S, Cashiers, NC 28717-4518
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Jackson County > Cashiers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cashiers
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,146 - ₹ 8,152
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A southern version of the famous Great Camps of the Adirondacks, historic High Hampton Inn is located on a 1,400-acre estate in Cashiers, NC. This full-service resort has a focus on the great outdoors and takes advantage of the natural setting. A sumptuous Spa, 18-hole George W. Cobb-designed golf course, miles of hiking trails and a 35-acre lake for canoeing, kayaking, swimming and fishing make it easy to take in all that this scenic area offers. The historic inn exudes a rustic mountain atmosphere with cedar shingles, stone fireplaces and handmade twig and mountain-crafted furnishings. Meals are events in themselves with three bountiful buffets served daily featuring high-country favorites like Fried Chicken, Mountain Trout and local produce. A choice of lodge rooms, cottages, and cabins (all with private bath) make High Hampton the perfect place for individuals or groups of friends and family to gather. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
High Hampton Inn And Country Club
High Hampton Inn & Country Club Hotel Cashiers
Hampton Inn Cashiers
Cashiers Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing