We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bowmans is the place for fried at Carolina Beach”

Bowmans at the Beach
Price range: US$ 10 - US$ 20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bowmans is the place for fried at Carolina Beach”
Reviewed 26 June 2012

When I want fried seafood at Carolina Beach, I go to Bowmans. The seafood breading can be a bit salty, but I overlook this because the waitresses are so attentive and they treat my kids like family. The hushpuppies are incredible and the slaw is really good. The prices are fair, and they allow us to share large plates. This isn't the case at some other restaurants at Carolina Beach/Kure Beach. We make a trip to Bowmans an annual event in our family, and I'm always glad I checked in.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Drivin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    81
    52
    30
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waynesville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Bowmans”
Reviewed 25 June 2012

One of the places we frequent for seafood here on Pleasure Island. Reasonable prices, friendly folks, and yummy hush puppies

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wncmtngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Browns Summit, North Carolina, United States
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Classic seafood”
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Bowmans at the Beach is a classic "Calabash" style seafood restaurant. Staff is extremely friendly, service is fast, and the food is outstanding. The hushpuppies alone will keep you coming back. The prices are reasonable too. This is the place to bring the family for a night out with great food and a casual atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Randall M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metamora
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lots of seafood at moderate price”
Reviewed 21 June 2012

The food was great and staff very friendly. Had to take a doggy bag. Lots of food.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank GAC194565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simsbury, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“No Booze!”
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Friend seafood in long family table/wood booth atmosphere. But don't ask for a beer. Ice tea is it. Was embarrassed to leave so stayed. Wait staff your old time "Alice" friendly. Food plate as expected heaping pile of fried everything. Nothing exceptional but cheap. No view.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank slce123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bowmans at the Beach also viewed

Carolina Beach, NC
Carolina Beach, NC
 

Been to Bowmans at the Beach? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing