We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, terrible service”
Review of Deck House

Deck House
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 20 - US$ 40
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We serve some of the most delicious and fresh seafood and handcut steaks around. Come in to try one of our great wines or cocktails and if you are unsure of what to get a friend or family for a gift, our Gift Certificates will always make people happy! We do not accept reservations, however we do have a spacious full service bar for you to wait in if a table is not available right away.
Leland, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, terrible service”
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Ate there with a group of eight. The gratuity was included, so the service drops off a cliff after they take your order. The food was top notch, and most of the entrees were in the twenty dollars range. A little slow in getting the food out to you. The place is not very large, so you would think they would be faster. They are first come first serve, but they are open late. Parking is easy and onsite.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    130
    42
    21
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kimberling City MO
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Good prices and unique decor. Easy walk from our hotel. Arrive about 5-5:30 to get seated without a wait.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank swr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed 30 July 2012

The Grouper Chower was delish! All 6 of us enjoyed out meals. My seafood pasta was so yummy! Rachel, our server, was delightful and took the time to write down other places we should visit during our stay:) The decor was beautiful - an old church turned into a wonderful restaurant!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mdsnowgirl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stuffed salmon, good sesame tuna, great service”
Reviewed 28 July 2012 via mobile

Neat atmosphere in an old church, the crab stuffed salmon was outstanding! Service was very good and helped us learn the area better, as well as serving us well. Highly recommended !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FranklinTnGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cool place, but overpriced”
Reviewed 27 July 2012

The deck house was a cool place, but the food was not up to the hype. We enjoyed our time there and the service was excellent! Some of the portions were big, but we found the food a bit plain. Drinks are a must here and they have a good selection. We will be back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Deck House also viewed

 
Carolina Beach, NC
Carolina Beach, NC
 

Been to Deck House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing