We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very clean, nice location, great staff”
Review of SeaWitch Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
SeaWitch Motel
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Carolina Beach
Reviewed 11 July 2010

When you go...tell them the black and white FJ cruiser sent you. They are under new management. Wonderful friendly staff made me feel welcome from the start. The end rooms next to the beach are big. Have refrigs and microwaves. Little kitchen area with table and chairs. Very clean and within walking distance to boardwalk and other areas. Sea Witch tiki bar across the street had great food and beautiful atmosphere. Very friendly staff too. Walked in during the afternoon, talked to the manager, went back that night and he remembered me and made a point of speaking to me and asking how my food was. That's service.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deniseForsyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 58 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2008

We found the Sea Witch online and were excited that we had found a nice place to stay with a cafe. We have a family of 6 and they offered a room to accomdate us.
When we got there we were pleased with the price of the room and the room was pretty decent but the staff wasn't all that great, not a lot of help and there was no cafe. It had been closed. I found the website to be misleading.
The overall vacation was good and the beach was nice as well as the pool.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Whittington5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2007

In terms of the actual motel, it basically served it's purpose, which was an affordable place on the beach. My group felt slightly mislead by the website, with it's marketing of the cafe & the boardwalk, both draws for staying at the motel.

The motel is basically on a strip with other hotels & motels, which not much else in the walking area. Both downtown Wilmington & Wrightsville Beach were about 25 minutes away.

Complaints -
The Seawitch Cafe, advertised online & even in the up-to-date travel guide provided by the Motel, is closed with no due date to open.

Parking is limited. There are not enough spots for at least 1 car per room. Parking at the closed cafe is not permitted, so guests may be forced to park at the pay-for-parking lot a block or two away.

The boardwalk was actually a strip of concrete with a neon sign that says "boardwalk" off the actual beach that stretched only a couple blocks. Many of the businesses along the boardwalk were closed down with the exception of an ice cream place, an arcade, a dive bar & miniature golf (not putt putt).

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mcetak8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2007

they charged us extra on our card without our knowledge or consent 40.00

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank stillmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2007

Overall a very nice and quaint place to stay if you're visiting the Carolina Beach / Kure Beach area but... be advised that the cafe and tiki bar they advertise has been completely closed and sold to other investors and has not been reopened nor is there a timeline for when that will happen. Another issue would be the parking, very limited and very cramped, the best thing to do is find yourself a spot and never move your vehicle unless absolutely necessary because at times there are more cars needing a space than there are spaces to be had. Now for the positives, although the single size rooms are small, they offer everything you would need to have a great time on vacation, they are kept clean and neat and the staff is on top of the cleaning duties whenever the need arises. The pool is clean and open and usually not too crowded. (A side note about the pool: It appears the staff and a few guests invite others / family who are not staying at the Sea Witch to use the pool also expect kids since it is a family motel, be advised and plan accordingly.) The staff was very pleasant and helpful when booking and checking out which is a plus during the tourist season. Beach access is mostly private, easily accessible being that it's ocean front, and as always the Carolina Beach sand is warm and inviting. In closing, I would recommend the Sea Witch to anyone seeking a good location, affordable rates, and looking to get away from the daily grind.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rebel_gray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carolina Beach hotels
1.7 km away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
433 reviews
0.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
0.4 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach
0.2 km away
The Savannah Inn
The Savannah Inn
#3 of 19 in Carolina Beach
140 reviews
0.6 km away
Drydock Motel
Drydock Motel
#12 of 19 in Carolina Beach
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SeaWitch Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SeaWitch Motel

Address: 224 N Carolina Ave, Carolina Beach, NC 28428-5539
Region: United States > North Carolina > Carolina Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Carolina Beach
Price Range: ₹ 5,731 - ₹ 14,002 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — SeaWitch Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quaint 16 room oceanfront hotel with swimming pool. All rooms are non smoking and no pets allowed. Our buildings run perpendicular to the beach but our top floor rooms have a great view of the ocean from the balcony's. We also have a private beach access on site. Close to the boardwalk, convenient stores, restaurant, and the carnival when it is in town. Great location to watch the Thursday night fireworks. Located across the street from the SeaWitch Cafe & Tiki Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your SeaWitch Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seawitch Hotel Carolina Beach
Seawitch Hotel And Cafe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing