We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fleas”
Review of Russo's Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carolina Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Russo's Motel
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Carolina Beach
Reviewed 14 April 2012

fleas in the room and the management did not seem concerned about situation and refused to give a refund they offered another room but fleas can travel from room to room

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Geraldine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RussosMotel, Manager at Russo's Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

We are sorry that you weren't happy with your room. However, I don't know how you can say we (the management) weren't worried about it. We immediately went up to the room to inspect it. We offered to upgrade you to a new room, which you refused. There is a sign in our office where you checked in stating that there are No Refunds. After our inspection of the room, we found only 1 flea in the whole room and that was on the bed you had already turned down and sat on. You told us you had pets at home, so it is likely that the "fleas" you saw were on you when you came into the room. We tried to correct the problem and we are sorry you had to leave. Thank you. Darrell & Tammy Rackley, Managers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 26 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2011

had a great time, was there for a beach wedding. and was there in july. this is a Family Friendly place, has been remodeled too. the manager's Darrell and Tammy are so helpful and the nices people you would ever want to meet ! will come back time after time !!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucy28016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Stayed for a couple of nights in July and was not impressed. The room had a stale cigarette smell, the carpet was sticky and the lounge chair grimy. We also had a cockroach in the room. The lock and framework to the door of the room has been broken at some point and made you feel slightly unsafe as it was not securely locked. On a positive note, the location is great, being central to the beach, the boardwalk, restaurants and bars. You did not need to drive once you checked in. The staff were friendly, but the place could do with a serious make-over. Probably quite expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Digby78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2010

My family and I stayed @ Russo's and we were fully satisfied with our extended stay there. Managers, Mike and Jean were excellent and provided such a good atmosphere for our family to stay and feel welcome. The room was Pristine! Before trying there I'd went to a few other places on the island checking rates and what not. Just entering the room and my decision was made. The room didn't have that musty, beachy smell like many other places around here tend to, instead, It smelled...clean! The room was spacious enough with nice, clean furniture (two comfy lounge chairs, Kitchenette table w/ chairs) The beds were queen size and VERY comfortable. I was also impressed with each room having a nautical themed painting on the wall . It added a bit of flair to the cozy room. Everything down to the toilet paper was above my expectations! I will always recommend this place to friends and family before anywhere else!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jessnadeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carolina Beach
0.3 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
17.6 km away
WoodSpring Suites Wilmington
WoodSpring Suites Wilmington
#34 of 45 in Wilmington
89 reviews
1.4 km away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach
0.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
0.6 km away
The Savannah Inn
The Savannah Inn
#3 of 19 in Carolina Beach
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Russo's Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Russo's Motel

Address: 213 Cape Fear Blvd, Carolina Beach, NC 28428-5128
Region: United States > North Carolina > Carolina Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Carolina Beach
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Russo's Motel is a mom & Pop style motel located a block and the half from the ocean. We are within walking distance of the boardwalk, shopping, dining, amusements and nightlife. We have the largest pool in Carolina Beach, free wifi, extended cable and plenty of parking for our guests. We have locking bedbug covers on all of our mattresses and boxsprings. We also do not have carpet, or wooden bedframes where bugs can hide. Despite some unpleasant, untrue reviews from a disgruntled ex employee and their friends in 2015, I assure you all of our rooms are very clean and well updated. We welcome you to come by and check out our rooms and judge for yourselves before you stay. We have complete confidence that you will be pleasantly surprised. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing