We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Screw this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Drifters Reef Hotel
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Carolina Beach
Reviewed 28 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed for Memorial Day weekend. It was a 2 night minimum, which was a load of crap. The room was LITERALLY a tiny bed, dresser, old TV, and bathroom. NO bedside tables, NO alarm clock, NO phone. ONLY one small wall lamp worked so it was dark. Had a window unit AC (which was MOLDED, and made a terrible noise) and a plug in space heater.
The shower barely worked. I had to lay in the tub to even wash my hair! It was like taking a shower in a distant sprinkler. Screw this place. Only good thing was the fact is was clean and a place to sleep.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmberBee_OG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 91 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2012

We went to Carolina Beach on the recommendation of a friend, did not make reservations as we wanted to check all the Hotels out prior to staying. We stopped at this Hotel the front desk let us look at the room first, did not even ask him to see it first. We checked out 2 rooms and chose the one where we could park in handicap right outside our door. The room was clean, refrigerator and microwave in the room, no alarm clock but we weren't on a time schedule and had our cell phones, no coffee maker, we went across the street to the gas station, next time we will take one with us. Nice pillows, we asked for more as we my friend needs to be propped up at night to sleep, the front desk clerk gave us more. I would recommend telling people where the ice machine is as I had to bother the front desk again by calling and asking where it was located.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012 via mobile

Staff was great at first, Internet says the place is pet friendly. However, they don't tell you up front to register your pet. At check out they will tell u that u are being fined $250 for not registering your pet. Then they show you a sign on the desk that a person with 20/20 vision couldn't read. These people are money hungry jerks.. We have stayed here for 8 days and the staff has played with our pets and talked about how cute they are and never said a word. Then after you spend $800 at the hotel and another $300 at their lazy pirate bar and grill they want u to leave. Also, they claim to have won food contest in the area and have posters on the wall saying first place when in fact, the event coordinator works for the lazy pirate! Hugh! No wonder they got first place! Bunch of crooks!! Avoid this place. Arrogent !!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Blm12366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

The room had NO alarm clock...no clock at all, no chairs, no lamp (just an overhead light) no coffee pot, toilet tissue was sitting on back of commode not on a roller. While the bed did seem to be clean and comfortable and room reasonably clean, the walls were dirty and greatly in need of paint. The AC unit was adequate for our short stay (one night in May) but did not have the choice of just a fan. Had to ask for towels at the front desk. Very noisy, as there is a restaurant, bar & grille right in the parking lot area. The price was twice the amount we paid for a room at Fairfield Inn just two weeks prior. (The Fairfield Inn was not at Carolina Beach but in another area of the state.) For half the price, the amenities were many times more at the Fairfield Inn. If I ever visit Carolina Beach again, I will stay in the Wilmington area (less than 15 minutes away). There was no breakfast of any kind nor coffee pot.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

This place was only decent on the outside. First of all the stench of smoke in both rooms used by my family, each posted as "Non Smoking" with plaques affixed to doors. The rooms were filthy as well and missing many ammenities. One room was missing some of these. It appeared to have mold, crumbs on the beds, and stains on the spreads. Loud people congregated outside on benches until all hours, perhaps due to the pirates sports bar adjacent to the property. Should never have stayed one night. Left early.

Room Tip: Heard later some rooms upstairs were better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Abby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carolina Beach hotels
2.0 km away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
438 reviews
0.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
0.8 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach
0.5 km away
The Savannah Inn
The Savannah Inn
#3 of 19 in Carolina Beach
141 reviews
0.5 km away
Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
#13 of 19 in Carolina Beach
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drifters Reef Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drifters Reef Hotel

Address: 701 Lake Park Blvd N, Carolina Beach, NC 28428-4826
Region: United States > North Carolina > Carolina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Carolina Beach
Price Range: ₹ 5,001 - ₹ 8,313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Drifters Reef Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drifter's Reef Hotel is located in the heart of Carolina Beach, North Carolina and offers you great accommodations at a reasonable price. We offer microwaves, mini frigs, air conditioning, cable, free Wi-Fi, large outdoor pool, charcoal grills, volleyball courts, laundry facilities, onsite restaurant and bar. The Lazy Pirate is our famous award winning restaurant boasting legendary wings and crab shack! All quests will receive a 10% discount on food purchases! Carolina Beach's charter fishing fleet, top of the line cruise boats, excellent shopping at the Carolina Beach Boardwalk, fine restaurants and our beautiful beaches are all within a few short blocks and easy walking distance. Drifter's Reef Hotel has 57 rooms consisting of King rooms, Double rooms, Double Deluxe, Double Suites and a 2 Bedroom Full Apartment. We hope you will choose Drifter's Reef Hotel for your next vacation!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Drifters Reef Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drifters Reef Hotel Carolina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing