We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Blast From the Past”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cape Pines Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cape Pines Motel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Blast From the Past”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

Found this place while in panic mode...traveling at night with 2 kids, grammie, and a dog from Ocracoke, and the nearest corporate-confident Holiday Inn Express or equiv. was 3 hours from the Hatteras ferry. My first thought was, "where the HECK is Buxton?!!" but we were tired and just needed somewhere safe and clean to rest before heading back to Raleigh.

Cape Pines looks a little old-school when you pull up. Nothing glitzy or fancy; more kitschy-comfortable. Love that the pet fee was only $10 (as of the date of this review), and that the pet-friendly rooms are separate from the others (in case you aren't a fan of early-AM dog barking). The clean, deep-water pool is open til 9, so we got a quick swim in before bedtime.

The rooms are very clean, modestly yet tastefully decorated, and the bathrooms are vintage: yellow & black tile, white porcelain, etc. REAL Wood paneling on some walls, and in our other room, on the ceiling. Free wireless is always nice, and there is easy access to the vending machines, ice and washer/ dryer if you need it. There is also a store right across the street if you need snacks or other essentials.

This place is more than adequate; it is cute and friendly and hospitable. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShayNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    86
    23
    7
    7
See reviews for
95
122
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Liberty, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

We visited the OBX for the first time this week. We stayed for 3 nights in a suite and the rooms are very well maintained. There is daily maid service for the suites. Loved having the fenced yard where the dog could go and run and chase her ball off-leash after playing at the beach all day. We will definitely stay here again and plan on being back next year.

Room Tip: Rooms near pool are pet friendly so they are close to the fanced yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
129 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

I have stayed here twice, both times when going out on a charter boat from Hatteras. The motel is old, but there is now Wi-Fi, plus a computer in the lobby guests can use. There is no breakfast, but there is fresh coffee starting at 8 am. The rooms are large and there are non-smoking rooms as well as Pet-friendly and no pet rooms. I found my room to be very clean, and there were two bars of soap and shampoo in the room. There is not a hair dryer, but there is a little refrigerator. I was more than satisfied.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thea2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mebane, NC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

Does not look like much from the outside, but the rooms are very clean and the staff extremely nice. I would stay here again if traveling to Buxton, NC. This is a laid back place and a great town to relax close to the Cape Hatteras Lighthouse.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCTARHEEL001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carver, MA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012 via mobile

Here's the positives- clean, large rooms, good location, helpful owners, reasonable rates. On the flip side-rooms are very dated (dark hard wood paneling, worn carpets, tiny bathroom, old bed linens, no toiletries except for sliver of soap, no blow dryer in room, and plastic rubber mattress pads. Exterior also showing wear and tear. A little sprucing up would make a world of difference. Met our basic needs of having a place to sleep but with the plastic mattress covers it sounded like you were opening a package every time you rolled over. Could have done without that!

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
Thank shay_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
1.2 km away
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
3.3 km away
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
15.6 km away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#6 of 11 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 km away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#9 of 11 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
1.3 km away
Cape Hatteras Motel
Cape Hatteras Motel
#4 of 6 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
1.3 km away
Outer Banks Motel
Outer Banks Motel
#5 of 6 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Pines Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Pines Motel

Property: Cape Pines Motel
Address: 47497 NC Highway 12, Buxton, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Buxton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Buxton
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,444 - ₹ 11,535
Hotel Class:2 star — Cape Pines Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Pines Motel on Hatteras is in the beautiful Outer Banks of North Carolina. We are a small family owned and operated establishment, offering clean, comfortable rooms at a moderate price. Our rooms are so clean you would think your mother works here! Nestled in the heart of the quiet village of Buxton and situated in the midst of Cape Hatteras National Seashore, our guests are able to enjoy over 100 miles of clean, white sand beach as well as easy access to shopping, sightseeing, and the wide variety of activities offered by the Outer Banks, such as OBX charter fishing in the Gulf Stream, surf fishing, OBX windsurfing at Canadian Hole, board surfing, kite-surfing, swimming, birding, shelling and kite flying.Bring the whole family - we offer a complete range of accommodations from motel rooms to suites with living rooms. And there is no need to leave Fido home alone! Pets are welcome in designated rooms (advance reservations necessary), limit 2 pets per room with applicable pet fee. We look forward to welcoming you to Cape Pine Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Cape Pines Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Pines Hotel Buxton
Cape Pines Buxton
Cape Pines Motel Hatteras Island/Buxton, NC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing