We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place as Always”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Outer Banks Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Outer Banks Motel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Warrenton, VA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Place as Always”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2011

Stayed here 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010 and scheduled for 2011. We love it here and stay right on the beach. Older place but wonderful location and service!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank flhtp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    42
    11
    10
    17
See reviews for
58
38
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Staunton, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2010

The hotel is a great place to come with friends and go fishing. Great location and within minutes of the Point and other places to fish. Red Drum Tackle is 200 yds down the road and there is a great breakfast/lunch restaurant right across the road. Avon Pier is 8 miles to the north.

This time of year the rates really are cheap compared to summer time. This hotel is a little dated and everything is in need up a fresh coat of paint. However, the rooms are warm and dry. We stayed in room 4 and everything was clean. The bed linens and towels were also clean though old.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bubspeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2010

We stayed in a cabin. It was very clean and had everything in there we needed. We had a lagoon in the backyard.That was nice because we fed the turtles.My kids loved that.The cabin was about a mile from the motel which is where the pool and beach is. That was ok.We enjoyed our stay very very much. The ladies there are great. My husband is taking college classes and our laptop did not work there,but that was fine cause they have a pc in the office and they let him do his work Thank goodness for that. We had a great time.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonysniecedogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2010

Booked reservations over phone. when we arrived clerk said he had no reservation but put us in another house for same price. Owner did not honor employees agreement. Each time I came to office to settle bill I was given diferent story. When she found time to talk to me, between phone calls, said I did have reservation, she did not know why clerk did not put us in original room. Next day she said i was not supposed to arrive until next day, I informed her that my daughter had made a reservation and she was to arrive that day. Later that day I was told I had not made the reservation for July but for June. After that I was told original rooms would not accommodate my party size. NC law only allows two people per bedroom, yet put seven people in a three bedroom home. She actually told me "Thank God all our customers are not like you" She also told me her employee was not very smart. All this because of a mistake on their part. Make sure you have written confirmation of your reservations although I don't think it would make any difference to staff that doesn't care at all about customer satisfaction.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank friscogirl6799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knightdale, North Carolina
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2010

We arrived in Buxton with no lodging reservations on a Friday afternoon. Most establishments had their no vacancy signs lit so both of us thought we'd end up driving back to the mainland sooner than we wanted to, then we saw this place so we gave it a try. We were greeted by a sweet older lady, she had a 1 bungalow for 2 available for the weekend. It was an adorable, clean, newly renovated little place. Decor was bright and airy all done in white and pastel sea blue. Perfect for what we wanted and priced extremely resonable (never expected to pay such a low price in peak season). The light house was around the corner and we found our own private beach where just us 2 basked in the sun the whole weekend!! When in Hatteras you must take in a sunset over the sound, absolutely breath taking!! We found our little nook at the beach now I can't wait till we return!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fezziewhig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.2 km away
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
4.6 km away
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
15.3 km away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#9 of 11 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 km away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#6 of 11 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.1 km away
Cape Hatteras Motel
Cape Hatteras Motel
#4 of 6 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
1.3 km away
Cape Pines Motel
Cape Pines Motel
#2 of 6 in Buxton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outer Banks Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outer Banks Motel

Property: Outer Banks Motel
Address: 46577 Hwy 12, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Buxton
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Buxton
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,818 - ₹ 14,087
Hotel Class:3 star — Outer Banks Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Outer Banks Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outer Banks Hotel Buxton
Outer Banks Buxton
Outer Banks Motel Hatteras Island/Buxton, NC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing