We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Fun”
Review of Outer Banks Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Outer Banks Motel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Appalachia, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Family Fun”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We stayed in one of the houses away from the beach. It was roomy for our group of 5. The room was very clean and they let us check in hours early with no additional charge. Everything in the room was in working order. Staff was extremely helpful and friendly (including the huge cat who lives in the outgoing mail basket. SO CUTE!) In addition to being right on a huge stretch of quiet beach, there was a great pool and row boats. It was a wonderful trip at a great price. We'll be coming back!

Room Tip: The rooms off the beach are cheaper and the beach is less than a mile away. Totally worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    44
    11
    10
    17
See reviews for
59
38
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Martinsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Stayed here 2010 & 2011 and just booked for 2012. We love this place. It is perfect for families and is so close to the ocean. The staff is wonderful and extremely helpful. The rooms are always clean. The place is older but I personally like that as opposed to the newer places that all look the same with out any "character." The Outer Banks motel has a lot of repeat customers. We saw two families last year that we saw the year before. The place gives my family a "homey" feel while we are away from home. We will most definitely be returning here for many more years.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GillispieFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massapequa, N.Y.
Level Contributor
146 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Been going here for over 25 years...not fancy, but certainly adequate and clean...great air conditioning to get out of the sun...literally steps to the ocean waves...sightings of dolphins, rays and even whales breaking the surface. Terrific surfing and fishing form this beach; wifi is so so, but if you want to get away and looking for something affordable this is the ticket..go one time, you will be drawn back year after year.

Room Tip: Rent one of the cottages on the beach...probably a third of the price for Jersey Shore or Ocean City...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MARKLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robbins, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

My brother and his wife alone with my husband and myself stayed sept 19-23 and were extremely pleased with the motel and the service. The owner of the motel along with the employees were very nice and helpful. It made you feel like the way vacations were before the hustle and bustle of today. We will definitely be choosing this vacation spot for future vacations. The rooms were very clean and the kitchen area in the room was a big plus.

Room Tip: The rooms with a kitchenette saved us from having to eat out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sherry b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

I visited with my husband and a 5 year old daughter. The check in was very smooth and we were given M1 unit (1 bedroom house) for $110+ tax on Aug 5th. The 1st look at the condo looked shabby from outside but i guess i visited at night and it looked isolated but when i opened the condo I was impressed with the cleanliness and space of the 1 bedroom motel which had all amenities like dishwasher, oven, microwave and Full size washer and dryer. But you need to carry your own cleaning suppplies like dishwasher liquid, laundry liquid as you cant purchase from their office. In this motel room everything was just too good for the price. It has central AC but be prepared for Mosquitos outside the bedroom. You must carry a mosquito spay when planning for outer banks vaccation. Also an itch cream along with your sunscreen. I guess this is the ideal place to stay in the place without hurting too much on your pocket as compared to others in the area. This room was approx 1 mile from motel office and beach and i dont think 1 mile from beach iwas a problem with me for the kind of room we got. This room was just 10 steps away from grocerry store and every amenity is easily available and shops are open till 9.pm. The next day we left that room as we had to change the room with them due to heavy season. We moved to the main motel room No 102. We were told that check in time was 3.pm but we were given a call at 11.30 am telling that the room was ready for check in before time. I was impressed. We moved in to this room and the price paid was $155+tax. The price was highre and the space was less as this is the efficency unit with no in room laundry. It was like a studio apartment still not bad. In fact it was good as it has all amenities except laundry and all GE appliances (new). The room was clean and tidy. This was pool facing and from the balcony I could see the beach. Its 3-5 steps walk to beach. I was happy about the location. The only minus point here was bed sheets and towels.The sheets on the other bed in the room were stained and the bedspread was somewhat tattered. The towels were old, probably could spend some money on newer towels & bedding. Their pool is open till 9.30pm which was good and the best part is that pool's temperature was warm. It was very comfortable. There is a grill shop right opposite to this motel which serves delicious food and u must try the food there. We loved it but unfortunately mornings were busy and we could not get it.

Room Tip: carry a lot of musquito repellent and skin itch cream as this place is close to nature. Not required...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kirtimandal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.2 km away
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
4.6 km away
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
15.3 km away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#9 of 11 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 km away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#6 of 11 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.1 km away
Cape Hatteras Motel
Cape Hatteras Motel
#4 of 6 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
1.3 km away
Cape Pines Motel
Cape Pines Motel
#2 of 6 in Buxton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outer Banks Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outer Banks Motel

Property: Outer Banks Motel
Address: 46577 Hwy 12, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Buxton
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Buxton
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,720 - ₹ 19,593
Hotel Class:3 star — Outer Banks Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Outer Banks Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outer Banks Hotel Buxton
Outer Banks Buxton
Outer Banks Motel Hatteras Island/Buxton, NC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing