We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the stay as always”
Review of Outer Banks Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Outer Banks Motel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Stayed in 107 right on the beach. Fantastic view and great accommodations. This is a place that was built in the 50's and is is still clean and comfortable. You can't get any closer to the beach than this. The staff is always friendly and ready to help you. We have already made our 2012 reservations.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flhtp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 121 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2011

Adequate, but watch out. We were charged $50 clean up fees for leaving a few wine bottles for recycling, and a few food stuffs in the fridge we could not take on the plane. Apparently this extra couple of minutes by the clean up staff cost plenty!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rleomagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol D, Owner at Outer Banks Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Thank you for your review. We respectfully disagree with you on the way this unit was left. We only charge a cleaning fee if it is warranted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2011

Stayed here 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010 and scheduled for 2011. We love it here and stay right on the beach. Older place but wonderful location and service!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank flhtp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2010

The hotel is a great place to come with friends and go fishing. Great location and within minutes of the Point and other places to fish. Red Drum Tackle is 200 yds down the road and there is a great breakfast/lunch restaurant right across the road. Avon Pier is 8 miles to the north.

This time of year the rates really are cheap compared to summer time. This hotel is a little dated and everything is in need up a fresh coat of paint. However, the rooms are warm and dry. We stayed in room 4 and everything was clean. The bed linens and towels were also clean though old.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bubspeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

We stayed in a cabin. It was very clean and had everything in there we needed. We had a lagoon in the backyard.That was nice because we fed the turtles.My kids loved that.The cabin was about a mile from the motel which is where the pool and beach is. That was ok.We enjoyed our stay very very much. The ladies there are great. My husband is taking college classes and our laptop did not work there,but that was fine cause they have a pc in the office and they let him do his work Thank goodness for that. We had a great time.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonysniecedogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.3 km away
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
15.4 km away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#10 of 11 in Hatteras Island
52 reviews
4.6 km away
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 km away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#7 of 11 in Hatteras Island
136 reviews
0.0 km away
Cape Hatteras Motel
Cape Hatteras Motel
#4 of 6 in Buxton
287 reviews
1.3 km away
Cape Pines Motel
Cape Pines Motel
#2 of 6 in Buxton
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outer Banks Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outer Banks Motel

Address: 46577 Hwy 12, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Buxton
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range: ₹ 5,789 - ₹ 12,423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Outer Banks Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Outer Banks Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outer Banks Hotel Buxton
Outer Banks Buxton
Outer Banks Motel Hatteras Island/Buxton, NC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing