We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fryemont Inn
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Bryson City
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Relax Inn(Bryson City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rosewood Inn(Bryson City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riverbend Lodging(Bryson City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Scenic View Motel(Bryson City)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Two Rivers Lodge(Bryson City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (314)
Filter reviews
314 results
Traveller rating
191
83
23
11
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
191
83
23
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprime ribhuge fireplacetroutfront porchhistoric lodgebalcony suiteincluded in the room raterocking chairsthe main lodgedining room isbrown familystep back in timeno air conditioningrustic charmboard gameslamb shankplaying games
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
236 - 241 of 314 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We stayed at a balcony suite for 2 nights right after Christmas. Unfortunately they don't serve meals during winter time, but it has a little wet bar with refrigerator and microwave for your food.
First night, the power was down in the whole town around 5:00 - 10:30pm. Luckily the fireplace with gas-logs worked and gaved us some light and warmth. We ended up having wine in candle lights by the fireplace. It was a bit inconvenient, but a nice memorable romantic night.
The porch was nice and specious with two rocking chairs. We would have enjoyed sitting there if the weather was a little warmer.
We had a good time staying at the suite at Fryemont Inn.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yukon23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

The moment we walked in we expected to see Grandma sitting by the Huge fireplace in the common area. Books to read,games to play,people to meet. The big squeaky screen door,squeaky wood floors and a warm welcome.
The price comes with a dinner-great good from soup to dessert also breakfast is included.The restraunt is connected to the inn.Nice outside patio for the summer-
You get to order from the menu whatever you wanted. Great bar and bartender with local stories and another huge fireplace. If you are looking for rustic,charming and a bit of history,stay here and not your big box hotels.
Our room was old like the inn but had what you need-bed bath no tv-go to the lobby to meet others as in days gone by to chat.
Glad we stayed there

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dszostek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

My son and I stayed in a stone cottage suite at the end of June, and enjoyed our stay very much. The inn is rustic and cozy, not at all corporate and slick. If that's what you're looking for, I'm sure the chain hotel down the road will be happy to take your money.

Breakfast and 5 course dinner are included in the price--I loved the "express breakfast," which is designed to get you on your way and out the door (especially if you have reservations on the Great Smoky Mountains RR). I wasn't in need of "express," but I couldn't pass up the grits, biscuit, egg, bacon combo, and had it all three mornings. My son thought the french toast was the best he's ever had....it was, he says, "great" but he doesn't feel like that even does it justice. For dinner, the pecan encrusted trout is a must, although there are also burgers for the kids. The waitresses are attentive and friendly.

The suite itself was clean, comfortable, and convenient. Parking is right outside the door, and you can sit on the front porch of the cottage and enjoy the view overlooking Bryson City and the mountains beyond. It's a quick walk to the pool and to the main lodge.

The best part about the Fryemont Inn, though, is the atmosphere, especially in the evenings. The bar is welcoming and relaxing, and there's a pool table to enjoy. The bartenders are a huge part of the ambiance. Tip 'em well! The lobby is beautiful and warm, with huge fireplaces, comfortable couches and mission style leather chairs. It's a great place to hang out, do a puzzle, play games (provided by the inn), and chit chat with friends and family late into the night. Try that in the cold, corporate lobby of a chain hotel. The front porch of the main lodge is a beyond-pleasant place to sit and rock, day and night.

Bryson City is a charming town, with many cute shops. The public library is just down the hill from the inn. For lunch, try the Cork and Bean, also a short walk or drive from the Fryemont.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MSimo_623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

When we booked our train trip on the Great Smoky Mountain Railroad, we were having a difficult time finding a place to stay. My wife was informed of Fryemont Inn by a friend and what's offered. She mentioned that when you book, you receive a free dinner and breakfast (leave tips for both) we decided to look more into it. The Inn offered a four course meal for dinner and a warm breakfast. We decided to book one night for the balcony suite which is separate from the Inn.


The lobby is what you would expect. A fireplace with chairs and a couch close by for a warm comfortable evening, a small TV with more chairs and couch, tables with board games and cards available to play. There is also a small gift shop.

We were happy with our room. Yes, it's old looking but it was great in our mind. The room offered a king size, fireplace and access to a wrapped around balcony. The fireplace was turned into a gas and had a timer, which was great. Set it and go to bed and turn it back on whenever you wanted it too. You had a living room area which offered a couch and a small TV. The TV's were old school 18", but we weren't there to watch TV, we were there to relax and enjoy the mountains. So, we didn't mind that. There was a small kitchen area which offered a microwave, small fridge, coffee maker and plates and glasses. The fridge came in handy for our snacks and drinks from our trip. The bathroom wasn't anything special, it was clean and it worked. The balcony was huge and offered 2 rocking chairs and a small table. We enjoyed sitting and reading in the evening.

The dinner and breakfast were amazing. Dinner was a four course meal - we ordered cheddar and broccoli soup, salad, almond crusted trout with lemon butter and pie. The servers were happy and friendly. The dinner room is big and has a big fireplace connected to the bar area. Like the hotel, it's old but it offers great characteristics. We always enjoy the old rustic look of hotels and Inns. Since we stayed at the Inn, our meal was free - you basically paid for the tip. Breakfast was offered in the same room. You order from a menu which had pancakes, french toast and eggs. We ordered one walnut pancakes, one apple pancake and french toast. All were spectacular!

Overall we were very pleased with our stay. The staff was friendly and our room was clean. I have already recommended the Inn to friends and family.

I've read some reviews and would agree with some, the Inn itself looked very old. Once we checked into our suite we went to the bar to get a drink. We walked down the hall and notice some doors to the rooms in the Inn were open. As we looked inside, we were surprised how old they looked and glad we chose the balcony suite. They were old looking and an old "smell." These rooms do not offer a TV.

Room Tip: Take advantage of the dinner and breakfast offered when you are staying there.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevkid33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

We spent this past weekend at the wonderful Fryemont. We have been staying there now for the past seven or eight years. We stayed in our favorite room, Room 111, which is on the first floor and right around the corner from the fireplace. Our room was exactly as we expected, cozy, rustic, and full of charm.
Again, as in each of the last several years, we met new friends and passed the time reading, playing games, and relaxing in front of the awesome fireplace. Our evenings always begin in their fabulous bar with our favorite bartender, Sarge! We met him on our first visit and have been seeking his assistance ever since. As usual, our meals were also the best. The staff is always so accomodating and friendly.
We tried to make reservations for next year, but we have to wait until January 1st. We look so forward to our visit next year and hope that we can continue our tradition of room 111!
Mike and Honey

Room Tip: We have stayed in several but prefer the first floor.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews