We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classic perfection!”
Review of Fryemont Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bryson City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fryemont Inn
Ranked #5 of 10 Bryson City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Classic perfection!”
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Whenever we travel I go to great lengths to find lodging that provides not just a bed but an experience. The Fryemont is our favorite! It truly feels like you are stepping back in time. The accommodations are impeccably clean and the dining experience was relaxing and delicious. To spend time with the kids in the spacious lobby playing board games, relaxing and chatting with fellow travelers and to rock on the porch with a view of the mountains is why we return. This place connects you to the past in a way that is so rare today. I look forward to many happy returns!

Room Tip: The fun thing about this place is they leave all of the doors open so as you walk the halls you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    75
    22
    11
    4
See reviews for
72
133
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We stayed at a balcony suite for 2 nights right after Christmas. Unfortunately they don't serve meals during winter time, but it has a little wet bar with refrigerator and microwave for your food.
First night, the power was down in the whole town around 5:00 - 10:30pm. Luckily the fireplace with gas-logs worked and gaved us some light and warmth. We ended up having wine in candle lights by the fireplace. It was a bit inconvenient, but a nice memorable romantic night.
The porch was nice and specious with two rocking chairs. We would have enjoyed sitting there if the weather was a little warmer.
We had a good time staying at the suite at Fryemont Inn.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yukon23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

The moment we walked in we expected to see Grandma sitting by the Huge fireplace in the common area. Books to read,games to play,people to meet. The big squeaky screen door,squeaky wood floors and a warm welcome.
The price comes with a dinner-great good from soup to dessert also breakfast is included.The restraunt is connected to the inn.Nice outside patio for the summer-
You get to order from the menu whatever you wanted. Great bar and bartender with local stories and another huge fireplace. If you are looking for rustic,charming and a bit of history,stay here and not your big box hotels.
Our room was old like the inn but had what you need-bed bath no tv-go to the lobby to meet others as in days gone by to chat.
Glad we stayed there

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dszostek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

My son and I stayed in a stone cottage suite at the end of June, and enjoyed our stay very much. The inn is rustic and cozy, not at all corporate and slick. If that's what you're looking for, I'm sure the chain hotel down the road will be happy to take your money.

Breakfast and 5 course dinner are included in the price--I loved the "express breakfast," which is designed to get you on your way and out the door (especially if you have reservations on the Great Smoky Mountains RR). I wasn't in need of "express," but I couldn't pass up the grits, biscuit, egg, bacon combo, and had it all three mornings. My son thought the french toast was the best he's ever had....it was, he says, "great" but he doesn't feel like that even does it justice. For dinner, the pecan encrusted trout is a must, although there are also burgers for the kids. The waitresses are attentive and friendly.

The suite itself was clean, comfortable, and convenient. Parking is right outside the door, and you can sit on the front porch of the cottage and enjoy the view overlooking Bryson City and the mountains beyond. It's a quick walk to the pool and to the main lodge.

The best part about the Fryemont Inn, though, is the atmosphere, especially in the evenings. The bar is welcoming and relaxing, and there's a pool table to enjoy. The bartenders are a huge part of the ambiance. Tip 'em well! The lobby is beautiful and warm, with huge fireplaces, comfortable couches and mission style leather chairs. It's a great place to hang out, do a puzzle, play games (provided by the inn), and chit chat with friends and family late into the night. Try that in the cold, corporate lobby of a chain hotel. The front porch of the main lodge is a beyond-pleasant place to sit and rock, day and night.

Bryson City is a charming town, with many cute shops. The public library is just down the hill from the inn. For lunch, try the Cork and Bean, also a short walk or drive from the Fryemont.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MSimo_623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
huntersville
Level Contributor
93 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

When we booked our train trip on the Great Smoky Mountain Railroad, we were having a difficult time finding a place to stay. My wife was informed of Fryemont Inn by a friend and what's offered. She mentioned that when you book, you receive a free dinner and breakfast (leave tips for both) we decided to look more into it. The Inn offered a four course meal for dinner and a warm breakfast. We decided to book one night for the balcony suite which is separate from the Inn.


The lobby is what you would expect. A fireplace with chairs and a couch close by for a warm comfortable evening, a small TV with more chairs and couch, tables with board games and cards available to play. There is also a small gift shop.

We were happy with our room. Yes, it's old looking but it was great in our mind. The room offered a king size, fireplace and access to a wrapped around balcony. The fireplace was turned into a gas and had a timer, which was great. Set it and go to bed and turn it back on whenever you wanted it too. You had a living room area which offered a couch and a small TV. The TV's were old school 18", but we weren't there to watch TV, we were there to relax and enjoy the mountains. So, we didn't mind that. There was a small kitchen area which offered a microwave, small fridge, coffee maker and plates and glasses. The fridge came in handy for our snacks and drinks from our trip. The bathroom wasn't anything special, it was clean and it worked. The balcony was huge and offered 2 rocking chairs and a small table. We enjoyed sitting and reading in the evening.

The dinner and breakfast were amazing. Dinner was a four course meal - we ordered cheddar and broccoli soup, salad, almond crusted trout with lemon butter and pie. The servers were happy and friendly. The dinner room is big and has a big fireplace connected to the bar area. Like the hotel, it's old but it offers great characteristics. We always enjoy the old rustic look of hotels and Inns. Since we stayed at the Inn, our meal was free - you basically paid for the tip. Breakfast was offered in the same room. You order from a menu which had pancakes, french toast and eggs. We ordered one walnut pancakes, one apple pancake and french toast. All were spectacular!

Overall we were very pleased with our stay. The staff was friendly and our room was clean. I have already recommended the Inn to friends and family.

I've read some reviews and would agree with some, the Inn itself looked very old. Once we checked into our suite we went to the bar to get a drink. We walked down the hall and notice some doors to the rooms in the Inn were open. As we looked inside, we were surprised how old they looked and glad we chose the balcony suite. They were old looking and an old "smell." These rooms do not offer a TV.

Room Tip: Take advantage of the dinner and breakfast offered when you are staying there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevkid33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bryson City hotels
0.4 km away
Sleep Inn Bryson City - Cherokee Area
6.3 km away
Lloyds on the River Country Inn
0.9 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Bryson City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Rosewood Inn
Rosewood Inn
#9 of 10 in Bryson City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
6.2 km away
Two Rivers Lodge
Two Rivers Lodge
#3 of 10 in Bryson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.9 km away
Calhoun House Inn & Suites
Calhoun House Inn & Suites
#4 of 10 in Bryson City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fryemont Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fryemont Inn

Property: Fryemont Inn
Address: PO Box 459, 245 Fryemont Street, Bryson City, NC 28713-0459
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Bryson City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Bryson City
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,848 - ₹ 17,453
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the quiet village of Bryson City and the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, the Fryemont Inn offers you secluded comfort and excellent dining, warm fireplaces and scenic vistas. The beautiful bark-covered building was built in 1923 and is listed in the National Register of Historic Places. The Historic Inn and Dining Room are open mid-April through November. The Fireplace Suites and Cabin are open all year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fryemont Hotel Bryson City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing