We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of my favorite places”
Review of Hemlock Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bryson City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hemlock Inn
Ranked #6 of 10 Bryson City B&B and Inns
Marietta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of my favorite places”
Reviewed 23 March 2012

I am a little prejudice, but Hemlock has been a part of my life for 60 years. I love the peaceful, quiet, relaxing atmosphere. I love that there are no TV's or Telephones and love to sit on the porch and rock in the warm weather and sit in front of the fire in the winter. I gain 5 pounds every time I go because the food it so good. Home cooking and we eat family style with other families. Good conversation and good friends are made at the Inn. It is truly one of my favorite places in the world.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    20
    8
    6
    3
See reviews for
62
35
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2012 via mobile

My wife and I went to the Hemlock Inn, and had such a wonderful time that we want to make it a yearly event. The food was fantastic and the rooms were comfortable. The staff made sure we felt at home and always had a smile. We highly recommend this Inn!

Stayed January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Allen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kihei, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2012

My wife and I stayed at Hemlock Inn for 3 days and it was the highlight of our visit to the grand Smokey Mountains. Great place, great food, great service and wonderful people.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carterville, Illinois
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

My family and I have been going to the Hemlock Inn for more than 25 years. We first started going when my two sons were young children. The boys loved the Hemlock just as much as my husband and I did and they continued to enjoy the visits through their teenage years and are now taking their own young families.

The Hemlock is not a big, swanky, city hotel. It is a casual family style inn where one of the best parts is getting to relax, meet new people, and eat. At the Hemlock Inn, the scenery is beautiful – from the first peak of the sun over the mountains in the morning to the sunset in the evening. This scenery changes frequently as the mist over the Smoky Mountains moves in and out.

There are huge porches on three sides of the inn lined with rocking chairs and a large sitting room inside for those would want to gather there. There is room in the yard for children to play and run around. On cold mornings or cool rainy days, the big fireplace is filled with a cozy fire for all to gather around and talk. Guest rooms also have comfortable seating for those times when you want some privacy. One former guest room has been turned into a library with books from floor to ceiling. No phones in the rooms and no TV sets help to encourage a quiet, restful, stay and visiting with your own group or new friends. The Hemlock has a large percentage of their guests return year after year. It is a great place for large families to gather for reunions.

The Hemlock serves meals around large tables, seating about 12 at a table. There are huge lazy susans in the middle of the tables filled with a variety of food choices. Breakfast and dinner are included with the price of your room and are always delicious. Conversation around the table includes what everyone did that day and recommendations to table mates of activities for the next day.

When guests stay at the Hemlock, they are treated as friends and are welcomed back as family. I have traveled extensively and this is definitely my very favorite place to stay. I think one's enjoyment of lodging often depends on their expectations. Hopefully, I have given a good picture of the Hemlock so you will know what to expect when you visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2012

The Hemlock Inn is the place to go to get away from it all--they serve two delicious meals a day (breakfast and dinner), which are included in the price of your stay. No phones or tv in the rooms, which really helps with winding down. Best folks ever who own, live on the property, and are your host and hostess.. The rooms are cozy, nothing fancy, but nice and clean--with double top sheets. The rooms were built in the 1950's, so have that mid 20th century charm (and quirks, which is part of the fun of staying here)

Beautiful views from the large porch, complete with rocking chairs. They even have a small reading library. My husband and I have been coming here for annual (and now semi-annual) retreats since 1998. We come back from the Hemlock rested, rejuvenated and relaxed every time.

Sleeping is wonderful--no humming air conditioners, just the mountain breezes lulling you to sleep. I love waking up in the morning here, when you can here the surrouniding woods come alive.

Very Close to town, but located on a property that neighbors the Park, it is both quiet and convenient.

I f you want a "retro" vacation, where the kids play games, or ping pong and you can either zone out or hike or both, then tthis is the place for you

Room Tip: Some rooms have their own porch (ask Mort, the owner) Most rooms have a small riefrigeator in them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kvh89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bryson City
2.5 km away
Lloyds on the River Country Inn
3.9 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Bryson City
4.5 km away
Sleep Inn Bryson City - Cherokee Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Rosewood Inn
Rosewood Inn
#9 of 10 in Bryson City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
2.3 km away
Two Rivers Lodge
Two Rivers Lodge
#4 of 10 in Bryson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
7.6 km away
Hampton Inn Cherokee
Hampton Inn Cherokee
#2 of 28 in Cherokee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hemlock Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hemlock Inn

Property: Hemlock Inn
Address: 911 Galbraith Creek Rd, P.O. Box 2350, Bryson City, NC 28713-8229
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Bryson City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Bryson City
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,751 - ₹ 10,981
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Hemlock Hotel Bryson City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing