We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax evening for dinner”
Review of Vidalia

Vidalia
Ranked #6 of 159 Restaurants in Boone
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 8 - US$ 45
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Upscale casual dining specializing in creative American cuisine focusing on local/regional cuisine and products. Extensive wine and specialty beer lists including mixed beverages.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When in Boone, Vidalia is one one the best restaurant to enjoy a meal. We had a delightful evening, quiet atmosphere, food good and delicious and the service was very very good. A lot of attention but not overdone. The drinks were great as well as the dessert.

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (501)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 501 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were visiting Boone on business and did not free up until about 2 PM. A friend recommended Vidalia for a late lunch. Upon arriving there we were disappointed that lunch was over, but happy to learn they offer an abbreviated bar menu between lunch and dinner.

The Vidalia bar menu has plenty of variety and creativity considering that it is a consolation prize for people who arrive at an off hour. It primarily has salads, soups, and sandwiches, including both meat and vegetarian dishes. As a bonus, the bar menu prices are somewhat below those on the regular menu, which we studied for a likely future occasion.

You do not have to sit at the bar to order food from the bar menu, nor do you have to order anything alcoholic. I found the iced tea excellent, and my lady enjoyed a glass of the Noah River cabernet sauvignon, which was quite good.

We both ordered the Vidalia burger, an excellent hamburger with a side of our choice. Also, a short stack of delicious onion rings was presented on top of the burger. Despite the fact that we were famished at this late hour, the ample servings resulted in our leaving with a doggie box.

Do not expect quick service during the hours between lunch and dinner, because the kitchen is getting prepped for sophisticated dishes they will serve later. This is a rule of thumb for any good restaurant, and Vidalia is no different. Our server Alyce was pleasant and efficient, although stretched a bit in covering the entire restaurant by herself at that time of day. Our check totaled $37 before tip, but you should expect to pay more when ordering off the lunch or dinner menus.

Vidalia has a screened porch for fresh air dining which is probably closed for the winter, and a convenient private parking lot beside it. Limited curbside meter parking is available in front, and the meters accept credit cards. We look forward to dining here again soon, hopefully during lunch or dinner service.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The food is always delicious and the service is great! When we want to celebrate or go somewhere a little more upscale, this is our go to place. We just celebrated my birthday there the end of October. I had tuna and it was delicious. Others in our group had shrimp and meatloaf. Everyone was pleased.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank mountainview2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2018

Came nere for lunch when we were running errands in downtown Boone. The burger I had was delicious. My husband had the homemade mac n. Cheese and his was delicious as well. Our server was very attentive.
We will be back.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank msbent3218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2018 via mobile

Very interesting menu and food was above average. Our server was excellent despite a very busy night.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank Robkal2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vidalia also viewed

Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Vidalia? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing