We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Enough the Second Time” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Flintlock Family Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boone
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Flintlock Family Campground
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
135 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Nice Enough the Second Time”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

Since our last visit for the Grandfather Mountain Highland Games, not much has changed. The bathrooms and the cabin could have been cleaner this time. But the cabin/tent loop is still a great place for kids, with the creek, playground and wooded hill right outside your door. My son loved it. The folks running the place were cool about our dogs staying at our cabin - tied up on a long leash - while we were at the games, So we'll probably be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    22
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
32
10
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport News
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2010

We stay here in a pop-up with our granddaughter. Wanted a site along the creek side with full hook-up but it was all booked up. I now know why, it's wonderful. We got to stay in a site across from the creek. It was nice and shaded. Everyone was so nice and friendly even the people with seasonal sites. It's a small campground but it is kept clean. Granted, it's a little hard to find because you can breeze right by it and not know it's there. But I like that. I also love it's so near everything. We have stayed at the KOA before but like this campground better. We will be back next year. See you then, Sam.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wahoohick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
135 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2010

For what it is, this is a nice place. We stayed in a camping cabin that was more than adequate - with the mattresses and bunks, it actually felt luxurious because we're used to tent camping. The creek here is lovely and my son loved the playground area. People in the office were pretty nice. The first loop is pull-through RV city, so we weren't over there very much. The only drawback is that the campground is pretty close to the road, but we didn't really hear it at night.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaston County NC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2008

We stayed in a cabin right on the creek and we all loved it! Since I was unsure of the layout of the cabins, I initially asked for an available cabin which was closest to the bathhouse. After we arrived, the owner told us we were welcome to look at any other available cabins if we wanted another location.

We just couldn't pass up being right on the creek, so we decided to stay in that one. The kids (ages 7 & 8) had a great time playing in the creek and roasting hotdogs and marshmallows on our campfire. We thought that $45 was a great deal for this family outing. Our main intention was to be at Tweetsie Railroad when it opened for Day Out With Thomas. We only live a few hours away.

We plan to stay here again this weekend for a family reunion we will be attending in the area. The owner is very friendly and we couldn't have asked for a better time.

  • Liked — Located creekside
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank CKFreeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surf City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2008

This was our first visit and it is now my favorite campgound. It has lots of shade trees and a stream that runs through the campground. It has no special ammenities. Just a great shaded, old-fashioned campground that allows motorhomes. There is a fire ring and garbage can at each campsite. They have a small playground over at the tent side of the park. It was seven miles from Tweetsie Railroad. Now, the only bad thing was backing into our spot. The problem doesn't lie with the mothomes on either side. The road is narrow and if there is someone occupying the site in front of you across the road, then there is no room to pull up so that you can back in. Very tough. You'd better be good at backing in! Other than that, it really is a nice place to stay and it was a reasonable
$30.00.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank Caryln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boone hotels
5.2 km away
Courtyard Boone
Courtyard Boone
#6 of 18 in Boone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
5.2 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Boone Near APP State
6.2 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Boone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Super 8 Boone NC
Super 8 Boone NC
#12 of 18 in Boone
3.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
5.6 km away
LaQuinta Inn & Suites Boone
5.6 km away
Sleep Inn Boone
Sleep Inn Boone
#3 of 18 in Boone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flintlock Family Campground? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flintlock Family Campground

Property: Flintlock Family Campground
Address: 171 Flintlock Campground Dr, Boone, NC 28607-7875
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Boone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Boone
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flintlock Family Campground is located in the majestic Blue Ridge mountains, made famous by America's best loved pioneer, Daniel Boone. Flintlock sits in a natural mountain "hollar" with a picturesque mountain stream. Only nine miles north of the Blue Ridge Parkway (exit U.S. 221 N) and three miles southeast of Boone, Flintlock is near many natural scenic areas, historic sites and northwestern North Carolina attractions including Grandfather Mountain, Tweetsie Railroad, Horn in the West Outdoor Drama, Linville Caverns, Linville Falls and Wilderness Area, Mystery Hill, Moses Cone Estate, Linn Cove Viaduct, Daniel Boone Native Gardens and Mast General Store. Area activities include mountain hiking and biking, river canoeing, rafting and tubing, horseback riding and golfing. Come stay at Flintlock and enjoy a peaceful mountain vacation! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Flintlock Family Campground Hotel Boone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing