We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience, but was hoping for better” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alpen Acres Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alpen Acres Motel
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good experience, but was hoping for better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

Our family of 4, (kids 16 and 13) spent one night at Alpen Acres and I think it will be the last... nothing horrible, just was hoping for more. Pat at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. Our room was very large so if you are a family and need to spread out this is a great option.. Our kids enjoyed the pool. The room was very warm and we could not figure out how to turn off the heater (In June no less) and the beds were very firm. The bath room was very clean, but dated and in need of a face lift. The most disappointing part is the motel is located right on hwy 321. Because the address is Old 321 I thought that meant main street of Blowing Rock. It does not.. Old 321 is not a hwy but rater a u shaped road along side of 321 that is home to about 4 other hotel/motels. The sound from the road was not terrible, just disappointing and in no way are you walking distance to the main town of Blowing Rock. Over all, it was acceptable for a one nighter, but next time, I think I will spend the extra 30 bucks to stay in town...

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gracious-yoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    63
    24
    9
    3
See reviews for
78
65
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2011

Contrary to most other tripadvisor reviews, I can't recommend this motel. I expected quaint and comfortable, but the reality was shabby and in desperate need of a rehab. The motel says it provides wireless internet, but it wasn't accessible from our room - we had to sit on the porch outside the motel office to get online. The "Light continental breakfast" we expected consisted of unappetizing packaged muffins or small granola bars and coffee or tea (no fruit or juice).

I was most disappointed in the condition of our room. Two of the three window screens had holes in them. The showerhead was too low (I'm 5'7" and the water hit my shoulder) and there was a leak around the base of the toilet. The bathroom sink faucet was difficult to turn on and off, and leaked. Our room had a futon that we couldn't figure out how to use (fold out) until our last night when we finally removed the mattress from the frame. Instructions on its use should be located in the room or, at the very least, given to guests at check-in. In fact, we called the hotel phone number about 8:30 that evening to get instructions about using the futon and didn't hear back from the manager until 6:00 the next evening, after we had checked out.

The positives: The manager, Pat, was very nice and stayed up late to make sure we found the motel (it was tough to find at night). And the location was very convenient.

Unfortunately, the few positives didn't make up for the uncomfortable mattress, hard-as-a-rock futon and overall poor quality of the property. For the price, we didn't think the place would be swanky - after all, it's a motel. But I didn't anticipate shabby and sadly worn out.

I hope the owner will give the place a good scrubbing and invest in some paint, new carpet, curtains, fixtures and repairs. Alpen Acres could be a delightful gem, but it's got a long way to go before it could be described in those terms.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jly18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

My husband and I planned a trip to take my 3 year old son to see Thomas the Train at the Tweetsie Railroad in June 2011. After searching all the normal avenues for hotels in the area, and coming up with results for $140 rooms at places like the "Sleep Inn" and the "Red Carpet" for the weekend, we came across Alpen Acres. It was cheaper than any of the other local places. We arrived and I was immediately smitten. The grounds are beautiful - very well manicured and landscaped. There is a nice sized, clean pool in the back, along with a small swingset and a shuffle board court. We got to spend some time playing in the pool and our son tried his hand at shuffle board one morning. Our room was adorable and immaculate. It was perfect for a small family - a queen bed for my husband and I and a futon bed for our son. We were less than 2 miles from Tweetsie and no more than 5 miles to both Boone (in one direction) and Blowing Rock (in the other). All in all I would highly recommend this hotel (and already have) to anyone visiting the area!! Thank you Alpen Acres! My husband and I are already planning our next trip back!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emjojackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

We booked this motel based on the reviews right here on Trip Advisor and were not disappointed. Alpen Acres is a small motel with about 20 rooms, tucked away on a hill just past an entrance to the Blueridge Parkway. Upon arriving we were impressed with how neat everything kept. Check-in was a breeze.

We had room #12 which for 2 adults and 2 small kids was perfect, as the room is very large and on the end. I appreciated not having guests on either side of us because the kids can sometimes be a bit rambunctious.

The motel has a heated pool which we used both days we were there. It also had an area with a swingset and volleyball net. I appreciated the room for kids to run off their energy.

The motel is between Blowing Rock proper and Boone, a great location, as nothing was far. We went to Tweetsie and this motel was truly a perfect distance.

I didn't give 5 stars because "breakfast" was just some bars and small pre-packaged buns. I suggest not worrying about breakfast at the motel and riding into Boone or Blowing Rock proper for a good meal. Also, the beds are FIRM so be prepared!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oneluckyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2011

In waiting for our summer retreat to be fixed among all the foreclosed surrounding homes and on going POA regulations, my wife and I found ourselves spending a few days at the Alpen Acres Motel.

I could not have been more pleasantly surprised. It has been a rainy spring for this East Carolina state but the trees, grass and flowers couldn't have been happier. This place was surrounded by beautiful Red Maples, moss covered Oak trees and the amenities were incredible. Forget the high tech video game center, disco tech and spa rooms... We had shuffleboard (and yes, all the pieces were there, the deck was cleared off and the numbers were not faded), horseshoes, hiking trails, volleyball court in the grass, swing sets, and a swimming pool. The pool was even heated for you warm blooded southerns. I thought I was on the set of "Dirty Dancing" and the Houseman's were inviting us over to their cottage for pie. But I did have cable and wireless internet.. so move over Babe.

The rooms were non smoking so the fresh clean mountain air breezed through the windows like music. The rooms were simple yet timelessly classic. The bedspread was one you would find on your grandmothers old sleigh bed with tasseled fringe. The bathrooms small, yet had everything one needed to start their day.

The staff was certainly one to be recognized on their own. They brought southern hospitality to the mountains charm. And the value made me rethink the idea of a vacation summer home. Thanks for a great experience. I never would have imagined...

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pnwexpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
3.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
2.6 km away
Boxwood Lodge
Boxwood Lodge
#6 of 16 in Blowing Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
2.6 km away
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
#4 of 16 in Blowing Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
#7 of 16 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
3.7 km away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 16 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
2.5 km away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 16 in Blowing Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpen Acres Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpen Acres Motel

Property: Alpen Acres Motel
Address: 318 Old US Highway 321, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-9129
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Blowing Rock
#2 Family Hotel in Blowing Rock
#6 Romantic Hotel in Blowing Rock
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,055 - ₹ 10,183
Hotel Class:2 star — Alpen Acres Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpen Acres is located on a scenic hilltop 1/4 mile off the Blue Ridge Parkway, near Blowing Rock and Boone, NC. Designed like the motor courts of the past, our accommodations include charming, comfortable rooms and a cozy mountain chalet. Amenities include: heated outdoor pool, recreational area, free wireless internet, flat screen TVs with full cable, hairdryers, coffee makers, complimentary tea and coffee, kitchen suites, original artwork by local artists in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Alpen Acres Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpen Acres Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing