We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but very nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Expensive but very nice!”
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We stayed in a 3 bedroom condo that worked out great, was very comfortable and clean. Just more than I usually pay. We had 2 couples and 2 little guys so it worked out for us. We regretted not having an extra day to enjoy the lake and the indoor pool.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    180
    59
    22
    10
See reviews for
224
250
6
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chadds ford pa
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Absolutely beautiful, lake side settomg, swans swimming and manicured lawn. Wedding party moved seamlessly from wedding in front of gazebo to cocktails in the lake house (while photos being taken) to a tent with dance floor. Brides do yourself a favor.........pick this resort.

Room Tip: I did not stay at resort, but did visit a beautiful 4 bedroom condo on hillside. Lovely setting for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wreath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2012

When we pulled up we thought the grounds looked absolutely beautiful. was so nice right by Chetola Lake. But when we went inside we immediately noticed the place was OUTDATED big time! It looks like decor from the 70s or 80s. It was strange that our room had old decor but the fixtures(faucet, handles, etc.) looked modern. A big update needs to be on the TV...most hotels for the same price have flat screens. The cable was being worked on, but once it was fixed we had 5-10 channels. Our breakfast was included since we got the groupon, but couldn't believe that it was a breakfast buffet in a crappy banquet room(also outdated). We thought it would be a nice sit down breakfast considering it charges 200-300 a night depending on your accommodations. Breakfast was horrible french toast, sausage, bacon, oatmeal, cereal, make your own omelet station, and bagels. If our Groupon didn't include breakfast we would have had to pay $14 a person (I wouldn't have paid $5 for breakfast). We didn't even want to go back for breakfast so we went to Panera. The most frustrating part was we went to the spa and it did feel amazing (BUT when the price came it was $30 more then we expected). The online price says $60 each, but we had to pay $75 each. I would have been fine with paying that if it said somewhere online that prices are subject to change and/or the lady I made the appointment with told me that the prices are different than online. I think it should always be protocol that service people always tell you that pricing is different. By the way, for 2 (30 minute) massages, $75 is ridiculous. It should never be that much. From what I honestly felt after leaving, they are struggling and thats why they had a Groupon in the first place.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeganMitterko86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Chetola needs to invest in a hot water circulator -- the first night we thought there was no hot water because the hotel was full (Memorial Day weekend). After everyone left on Monday, there was still no hot water . . . we discovered if you let the shower run for about 15 minutes you would FINALLY get some hot water. Front desk staff was indifferent -- dining room staff for breakfast very friendly. The room was very clean and the grounds are gorgeous, but our children wanted to do the paddle boats and we were told they were only for use "in season". Isn't after Memorial Day "in season"?? We'll stay somewhere else next time. . .

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Adelaide1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

After several years of trying, we were able to swap into Chetola (only 38 timeshares). Check-in was a breeze with no delay and very friendly, helpful people at the desk. They provided info sheets about the resort, attractions, hiking trails and the town of Blowing Rock

The grounds were mature and absolutely immaculate. The hybrid rhododendrons were at full bloom in the resort and town. After moving into the unit, we made a run into town (1/2 mile from the resort gate) just as a wedding was starting at the resort’s lake. Coming around the lake was a pair of white horses pulling a Cinderella type carriage with the bride and father on their way to the groom….made for a memorable start to the week!

We were in Dogwood 4 which is listed as a Deluxe 2 bedroom unit and was upstairs. Being on a hillside, there was one flight of stairs to the upstairs unit and one flight to the 1st floor unit. The kitchen, dining area, 2nd bedroom and bath were on one level with the den, master bedroom, balcony, and glassed in Jacuzzi room on a level down just one step. The unit overlooked the resort lake.

The unit was very large and well furnished including a wet bar. The kitchen had granite countertops and was well equipped. Everything was clean with the exception of a stain on a den chair and a little crusted food on one of the upholstered counter stools in the kitchen. There was a flat panel TV (26-32 inch with 40+ channels) and DVD in the den and a 13 inch in the master bedroom; none in the 2nd bedroom…….TV was not a priority in such a beautiful location as Chetola and Blowing Rock! WiFI was free and generally good although at times speed was slow or it was slow to connect. Shutting power off and restarting the router a couple of times after storms seemed to help. I did not hear any noise from adjacent units. I did wonder about what our downstairs neighbor may have hear as I noticed several squeaks in our floors, as well some movement when my 200+ pound brother walked about the unit. A problem with the drapes was responded to quickly by maintenance.

There were few resort activities at this time of year but plenty of attractions nearby. These included the Blue Ridge Parkway with entrances just 2 miles away and overlooks nearby which provided some spectacular vistas. Moses Cone Park is accessible by a trail from the resort and has 15-20 miles of trails as well as Bass Lake which has a 1 mile trail around it which was very popular. Grandfather Mountain is about 15 miles with Linville Falls (which has fairly easy trails to overlooks of the 2 tiered falls) being about 10 miles further. Linn Cove Viaduct, an engineering feat to complete the Blue Ridge Parkway, is also nearby. There are many waterfalls nearby with directions available in a pamphlet from the visitor’s center in town.

Blowing Rock is a small mountain town that has charm, shops, galleries and many well rated restaurants (if you want fast food, go to Boone). In addition, the Moses Cone Mansion has very nice art and craft shop featuring many local craftsmen. Blowing Rock has Art in the Park, which is a jury selected arts and crafts fair, monthly from May to October. Based on the one in May, the jury makes excellent selections.

My wife and I have decided we will jump on another chance to revisit Chetola. If you enjoy the eastern mountain scenery and arts and crafts, Chetola would make a good base to explore.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gangin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
2.3 km away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
451 reviews
0.5 km away
Meadowbrook Inn
Meadowbrook Inn
#7 of 15 in Blowing Rock
356 reviews
0.5 km away
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
#8 of 15 in Blowing Rock
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
0.4 km away
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
#5 of 15 in Blowing Rock
116 reviews
0.3 km away
Cliff Dwellers Inn
Cliff Dwellers Inn
#9 of 15 in Blowing Rock
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock

Property: Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Address: 185 Chetola Lake Dr, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-6037
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,979 - ₹ 24,001
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock, an 87-acre resort within walking distance of a quaint mountain village, neighboring a 3,600-acre National Park and surrounded by the Blue Ridge Mountains of Western North Carolina. Enjoy first-class accommodations in Chetola's Lodge, luxury Condominiums or the Bob Timberlake Inn at Chetola Resort, as well as fine dining at Timberlake's Restaurant. Discover The Spa at Chetola Resort, our Health and Wellness programs, and the many opportunities for recreation at Chetola Lake and along the Blue Ridge Parkway. Chetola also offers exceptional meeting and conference facilities and is a favorite destination for weddings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chetola Mountain Hotel Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort
Chetola Mountain Blowing Rock
Blowing Chetola Nc Resort Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing