We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Unique, great for large group; beautiful grounds”
Round Knob Lodge at Night
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Round Knob Lodge at Night
Andrews Geyser with Round Knob in the background Pond on property
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
Round Knob Lodge at Night
Andrews Geyser with Round Knob in the background
Pond on property
Pond on property. Both ponds are stocked with trout and bass.
Porch area sitting among the trees
Driveway
Steps leading up to porch
Walkway out to ponds
screened porch area
Side deck
Beach area at pond for swimming
Stream running through the property
Pond view
Walkway across the pond; Excellent setting for weddings
Pond view
Wide perspective of Round Knob Lodge grounds
View of grounds from Round Knob Lodge.
Screened in porch decorated for wedding reception
Wedding event tent example
Wedding shoot on the grounds of Round Knob Lodge
Wedding shoot on the grounds of Round Knob Lodge
Wedding shoot on the grounds of Round Knob Lodge
Wedding shoot on the grounds of Round Knob Lodge
Stream on the property
Living Room w/ wood burning fireplace
Wood Fireplace
Living Room
Living Room
Sitting area in Living area
Living Room
Living Room
Kitchen
Kitchen area with seating for 10
Kitchen
Hallway
Sink area
Kitchen table seating for 10
In kitchen table seating for 10
Dining Room seats 14
Master Suite w/ king bed
Master suite sitting area
Captain's Quarters w/ king bed
First Mates' Cabin w/ 2 twins
Charleston Room w/ queen
Tackle Box Room w/ queen
Bunk House Bedroom w/ 5 twins
Basement game room
Basement game room w/ wood fire place and widescreen TV
Wedding shoot on the grounds of Round Knob Lodge
Wedding shoot on the grounds of Round Knob Lodge
Panorama of grounds
Panorama of grounds
Panorama of grounds
Panorama of grounds
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Black Mountain, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Emptynest...
Columbia SC
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Unique, great for large group; beautiful grounds”
Reviewed 4 October 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We stayed here in June to celebrate a small family wedding in Asheville. We had a total of 12 people staying here, and the accommodations were perfect for a large group. Plenty of room to gather, or to sneak off by yourself. The house itself is old, a little on the dark side, and I'd even say a little creepy in some places! But in a way that was part of its charm. The kitchen was large and reasonably modern, and had a large table that accommodated our group easily - we spent many hours around the table, and also out on the screened porch. We enjoyed the property a great deal, but there were some disappointments:

1 - for starters, as mentioned, the house is old. Which is kind of cool, but some of the furniture was rather worn, and the seating areas were a bit uncomfortable.
2 - no cell service. Ever.
3 - no wi-fi. ever. Even though it was promised.
4 - millipedes -- dozens, maybe hundreds of them -- all over the basement floor.
5 - speaking of the basement (which is where 3 of the bedroom are located) it was dank, dark, and frankly, creepy. Plus, millipedes. Everywhere.
6 - Parts of the exterior decking were roped off and not usable due to repairs or pending repairs
7 - there was a bee's or wasp's nest outside the front door under the awnings. They were quite aggressive.
8. Did I mention no wi-fi or cell service? Ever?

Still, there was a certain charm about the place. Other than the fact that we expected wifi and didn't have it, the rest of the complaints (well, maybe not the millipedes) were just part of staying in a huge, old, historic home in the woods. The setting is beautiful. We had a magical time there, in many ways. Lots of great memories made!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danielwM4...
Charlotte
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great grounds, unique cool lodge, only OK service/cleanliness”
Reviewed 14 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018
1
person found this review helpful

3.5 stars

Rented the lodge for my father-in-laws 80th birthday. Really beautiful grounds with lots to explore. Couple fishing ponds and rushing creak. Very private. House is cool with lots of history. Rooms to mingle with group or 'get away' as sometimes is needed with big gatherings. :) Fairly close to Black Mountain and Asheville

Some of the furniture is showing its age and not really comfy usable. Would like more seating in the main family room for larger groups. LOTS of worms/caterpillars in downstairs...including in the bedrooms. Downstairs bedrooms definitely not as nice as upstairs (smells like a basement).

One of the main reasons we picked this loge is the stated availability of WiFi. We asked two different people if it was functioning and were told yes. It never worked the entire week were there. Told the property management the first day we were there and never could get it worked-out. This couple with virtually no cellphone (Verizon) coverage made it difficult for me to get the work I sadly needed done. Granted, cellphone/WiFi shouldn't be a criteria in a get-away lodge, but I was counting on it. I requested partial refund and haven't heard back. I will update this review if/when I hear back

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcross888
South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Beautiful historic property”
Reviewed 30 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
3
people found this review helpful

Round Knob Lodge is a 20 acre historical rental in Old Fort, NC. We had a small wedding here and stayed for the week. The grounds are absolutely spectacular with incredible mountain views. There is a flat area with 3 stocked fishing ponds and even an area to clean fish outside the house. There is also a beautiful mountain stream on the property.
From the flat area, it is a steep ride up a gravel driveway to the house ( lodge).
The lodge is an old building that used to be a retreat for railroad executives.
There is a large screened in porch with a couple rocking chairs and tables. The lodge has a decent size modern kitchen. (Local caterers are willing to serve this venue). The kitchen table seats 10 and the formal dining room has room for 16 people. There is a large great room with scenic views and a fireplace. Outside on the top level, there is a nice area with a swing and seating.
A spiral staircase descends to the lower level where there is a bar, pool table and football table.
Downstairs flooring is stone, which is cold and hard. There are several bedrooms down and several up. There is a vintage elevator, which is helpful for caterers and for those who have difficulty with steps.
The mattresses are comfortable and sheets are good quality, but the rooms are very rustic with shared bathrooms. The lodge has the smell of an old house.
The internet was a source of frustration as it was very limited. We did not get any cell reception at the lodge, but there was a land line.
You can see "Andrews Geyser" from the lodge. Although it is not a real geyser, it looks like one.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2017
What a great review. Thanks for taking the time to leave this feedback. Glad you enjoyed the time at Round Knob Lodge! - Greybeard Rentals
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz A
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfection”
Reviewed 29 December 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Amazing for large gatherings. Plenty of room inside and lots to do outdoors. My wedding could not have been in more a perfect spot. Photo-friendly in every direction for events. The perfect outdoor, destination experience. No one wanted to leave...

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2017
Round Knob is a great gathering spot!! I'm so glad you had a great wedding celebration there and found it picturesque. Congratulations to you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy S
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
“Great rustic feeling with wonderful atmosphere”
Reviewed 14 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Our tennis team stayed at RKL for 3 nights and had a great time. Very short commute to Asheville and our matches. The game room was a blast and the accomodations were superb. Only issue was with the internet, but was told were working on it.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Sep 2015
Glad you enjoyed the stay at Round Knob Lodge! Sorry about internet troubles during your time there.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing