We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fresh is Good Name for this Family-Friendly Restaurant”

Fresh Wood Fired Pizza and Pasta
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Shelby, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fresh is Good Name for this Family-Friendly Restaurant”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

My wife and I don't usually seek out pizza places when traveling, but decided to try out Fresh Wood-Fired Pizza and Pasta based on TripAdvisor reviews and recommendations from friends. This is a casual restaurant located a few blocks from the center of Black Mountain and very convenient to I-40. The service was excellent and the food was memorable. My wife and I had lunch with another couple and split two pizzas - the "Fun Guy" (play on words) with seasonal wild mushrooms, ricotta, feta, parmesan, garlic, and fresh basil, and the "Veggie Delight" with spinach, kalamata olives, mushrooms, sun-dried tomatoes, roasted red peppers, onions, roasted garlic, mozarella, and red sauce. We also tried the Tuscan Salad with spring greens,arugula, cherry tomatoes, local goat cheese, toasted pecans and homemade lemon-parsley vinaigrette. Everything was very fresh and very tasty. Great experience. We will be back!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ATripAdvisee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    92
    15
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Pizza & Wine”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Loved eating a different type of pizza. Liked everything about this new restaurant

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Absolutely amazing food, kids eat free Wednesday's!”
Reviewed 7 April 2012 via mobile

Fresh was an amazing pizza experience. Our server, Kate, was wonderful with our children and our dinner was awesome. The Chèvre pizza with goat cheese is made with local goat cheese. The scarface pizza was wonderful too. Their homemade cookies are giant and were a treat that lasted us a couple of days!

Helpful?
Thank bjuugamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fresh says it all, great, fresh ingredients”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

This is coming from a gal who does not often like Pizza. If I am going to eat it, it had better be good. Fresh has some of the best pizza I have ever tasted. Pear and blue cheese - yum - innovative recipes and just great pizza! Outside area to enjoy this lovely spring weather. Come visit the restaurant town of Black Mountain and check out homes while you are hear at www.PattonPropertyGroup.com

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rowpatton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weaverville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
136 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The Holy Grail, finally a truly wood fired pizza”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We had a Rosa's pizza, it was wood fired, tasty and hot. I only wish it had a bit more of the charred bits (even bits of the wood)... Certainly a find. Will definitely make this a go to spot when we go back to Asheville.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NorthJerseyTraveler8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fresh Wood Fired Pizza and Pasta also viewed

Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
 
Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
 
Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Fresh Wood Fired Pizza and Pasta? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing