We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Pinnacle Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Beech Mountain
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Pinnacle Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Beech Mountain
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

One of the photos posted happens to also be the unit we rented, and the photo with the oars on the wall is where a friend stayed. We all went for a school ski trip - five families. We all had a great time. The pool and hot tub were great to have right there for those of us who weren't interested in skiing and for the kids after coming off the slopes for the day. The pool room also has a sauna, ping-pong table, and dvd's for rent. Our two-bedroom had a queen and king bed, and our daughter decided to sleep on the very comfy sofa. We shared the two-bedroom with another family very comfortably. There was a lot of room, a full kitchen, two bathrooms. The fireplace was lovely. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had everything we needed (well bring some extra dishwasher soap). Overall, it was a great experience. The only thing we would have done differently is having snow chains for getting down the mountain after a heavy snow.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CuriousBat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    35
    21
    10
    16
See reviews for
68
26
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

My family stayed here so my teenage son and his buddy could ski on the last weekend of the ski season. My wife and I just hung out at the ski lodge.

Our primary factor was cost so we were prepared for some inconveniences when we found a unit available for a cheap price.

From the other reviews here, it's evident that your experience will vary GREATLY dependent upon which room you end up with. Ours was in generally good shape with new appliances and everything worked. The views were superb.

HOWEVER, be prepared for long walks from the parking lots and plenty of stairs. The exteriors of all the units show much wear with peeling paint, mended railings and worn walkway carpet being the norm.
We got what we expected and were lucky enough to be assigned a nice unit, so be sure to ask to see it first.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tennbidder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed at The Pinnacle Inn for the President's Day ski weekend. This is our second time at this hotel, and once again, completely happy. This place has great amenities - heated pool, two saunas, that I know from past use are great. The room is great - one or two private bedrooms, plenty of storage space - but no skis/boots are allowed inside, i think We left ours in the car overnight-no biggie-didn't want to carry them any further, anyway! Full kitchen, plenty of lounge space, a wood burning fireplace...it's the perfect place to come home to after a full day of skiing! Plus, only a mile and a half from the slopes - take the shuttle the pinnacle provides or drive yourself-if its a slow ski weekend! Parking lots get full...

So, you can either call and reserve a room, or pick yours out online - scroll thru pages of options - choose mountain view, one or two bedrooms, and then just pick the decor you want! I loved the one we got this time around - we went with the online option, had a great view of the mountain, and two TVs too!

Check out was easy-just don't lose your keys. Make sure to read the fine print prior to arrival. The rooms should have toilet paper, dish washing soap, etc, but it is the previous occupants responsibility to supply; not the hotels. Basically, you're going into a furnished house-treat it as your own, bring basic toiletries (Fred's general store is a 3 minute drive away and will have all your basic needs if you get there and something is missing). And call up to the front desk with problems you can't live with right now - they are super helpful. And out of respect for future tenants, go ahead and report any issues with the room as you check out. It's a great hotel; I hope to be staying here for years to come. Happy Skiing!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NC-BI-Love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

Was a little skeptical about staying here at first because of some of the bad reviews but i am so glad i ignored them. We stayed in an incredible 2 bed 2 bath condo with a fireplace and ski slope view. The condo was clean and so homey we didnt want to leave. The amenities at this place are fantastic. The pool and hot tubs were great and i loved that they have a dvd rental kiosk on site.

The staff was so nice and answered any questions that we had.

I would recommend going online and picking which condo you like because they are all different.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank borisgreene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

The unit we rented (3204B) was old and shabby as well. We planned a last minute trip and wanted a nice place to stay as some of our friends were staying about a mile from the resort. The online pictures presented a neat and updated appearance. Little did I know, the wallpaper in the hallway was peeling off, the toilet seat looked like it was dragged down the slopes, the shower curtain had mold all over, and the entire unit had a moldy smell. I just wanted to buy some Clorox wipes and Pinesol to clean the whole unit. The towels were dingy and the "complimentary" soap smelled like it was roach infested. The bed mattress was hard as a rock so my husband and I slept on the oversized loveseat. For nightly rate of $164, I was expecting at least a 3-star quality unit! Boy was I wrong! If you are paranoid about security, do not rent this unit. There is only the main doorknob on the door - no double lock. And to top it off, the doorknob was not catching on to the side of the wall. We had to constantly slam the door to lock it. The handle for the sliding door was broken and we couldn't get to the balcony. We went to let the front desk know and was told a work order would be called in and fixed right away. We checked out yesterday - the handle was not fixed. The lady at the front desk was very rude. She never let me finish my sentences before blurting out an answer. Not very user-friendly. Wish we stayed at the Klonteska not even a block down the road for the same price. Now we know why the parking lot was so empty when we got there. DO NOT RENT HERE!!!

Room Tip: Do not stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan0469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
technogirltx, Manager at The Pinnacle Inn, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
We are so sorry to hear you were disappointed in your stay. I wish, when you reported the door handle, that you had mentioned the other items as we would be happy to move you to another unit. We have tried to contact you to make amends, to no avail. Please come back next time you are on the mountain, and we will make things right for you! By the way, regarding the main door not having double locks -- this is an extremely safe community. Only one lock on the door is necessary! - The Pinnacle Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Beech Mountain hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beech Mountain
4.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
17.9 km away
Courtyard Boone
Courtyard Boone
#7 of 18 in Boone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
18.4 km away
LaQuinta Inn & Suites Boone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 km away
Sleep Inn Boone
Sleep Inn Boone
#4 of 18 in Boone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
1.2 km away
Cedar Village
Cedar Village
#1 of 2 in Beech Mountain
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.7 km away
Beech Alpen Inn
Beech Alpen Inn
#1 of 2 in Beech Mountain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pinnacle Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pinnacle Inn

Property: The Pinnacle Inn
Address: 301 Pinnacle Inn Rd, Beech Mountain, NC 28604-7478
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Beech Mountain
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Beech Mountain
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,214 - ₹ 12,641
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pinnacle Inn Resort is centered in the northwestern part of North Carolina in the beautiful High Country area. Located in eastern America's highest resort community, Beech Mountain, with unparalleled scenery and abundance of activities make for an exceptional vacation experience. The Pinnacle Inn Resort is a year round resort property with suites as well as one and two bedroom condominiums. All are complete with full kitchens, cozy living rooms, fireplaces, cable TV, and telephone (some with washer/dryer). All of our condominiums are privately owned so they are individual in taste and style. Our All Seasons Center offers an indoor heated pool, two indoor hot tubs, steam room, dry sauna, exercise room, recreation area (including ping pong, pool table, electronic games and more). For your convenience we also have an on-site laundry room. On our spacious grounds are two tennis courts, miniature golf, shuffleboard and playground. For small business meetings, retreats or groups we have a centrally located meeting room and we can provide fax and copy services. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Pinnacle Hotel Beech Mountain
Pinnacle Hotel Beech Mountain
The Pinnacle Inn Beech Mountain, North Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing