We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“When can we go back?”
other travellers have booked this property
Private 6 Person HOT TUB on 16x40\' Deck Looking 1/4 Mile Up River Dec has 3 Ceiling Fans
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private 6 Person HOT TUB on 16x40\' Deck Looking 1/4 Mile Up River Dec has 3 Ceiling Fans
Inside eating Table & Chair's for 4, Outside table also seat's 4 Round glass top Has pocket doors to bedroom & bathroom, for privacy *NO Pets
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
Private 6 Person HOT TUB on 16x40\' Deck Looking 1/4 Mile Up River Dec has 3 Ceiling Fans
Inside eating Table & Chair's for 4, Outside table also seat's 4 Round glass top
Has pocket doors to bedroom & bathroom, for privacy *NO Pets
Kitchen area
Fire place & Human Touch Massage Chair  Back, Legs & Feet GREAT
New Human Touch Massage Chair, 20 Min Hot Tub & 20 Min.  Massage is GREAT!!
Granite counter tops, Kitchen area, Weber stainless grill on the back deck
38in HD Flat Screen, Direct TV, DVD Player & NFL Sunday Ticket for Football
Queen Bed, Pillow Top Matterss, Closet to right
Bedroom, Deck just outside the 2 windows to left
Bathroom from Bedroom with pocket door's on right for privacy from Living room
Bathroom
Modern Old Time Bathroom fixtures & Towel closet & Hair Dryer
Modern Old water pump fixtures for Bathroom , Towel closet & Hair dryer below
Looking through Pocket Door
Steps going down to 16ftX 40ft. Coverd Deck River & HOT TUB 10ft above River
Sliding glass doors off deck to go inside,Blinds in sliding glass doors
All Stainless Weber grill hooked to 80 gal. propane tank Outside eating for 4 seating for 12
1Br.Hot Tub lid has power assist on lid & Lock on shock so will not blow over on you
From 1Br deck View off rear deck looking up stream
From 1Br. deck Boulders stopped here in the 1996 Flood
What are you ooking for in get away?
Convicts clearing the road got from library Back in the Early 1900s
Have 2Br Master Suites. Sleeps 6 Hot Tub in (Bat Cave NC.) on river Also
Upstairs Master Suite with deck Will have Hot Tub covered soon
3 Level deck only 7ft above White Water
Also a 2Br. 2 1/2 Bath Master suites in Bat Cave NC. W/Private Hot Tub* Taken before Hot Tub
2Br. sleeps 6 & Pet friendly *Taken before Hot Tub
2Br. Livingroom
2Br. Kitchen Table and Chairs for 6 in diningroom
Have a 3Br.2Bath on river in (Bat Cave NC.) W/Private Hot Tub Before Awning added
3Br, Now has a 4 in. insulated Awning on Deck, Blocks Heat, Rain & Snow Load
3Br Kitchen
3Br Livingroom Also Massage Chair
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Bat Cave, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LoisinCha...
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“When can we go back?”
Reviewed 29 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We had a wonderful week at Bat Cave! Everything we needed was there and a lot of extras. It was hard to take our eyes off of the Rocky Broad River as it gently flowed by. There were ducks out there most of the time and they provided lots of entertainment. Bat Cave was conveniently located near (very near) Chimney Rock Park, Lake Lure and Asheville. We also ventured to Pisgah Mountain on the Blue Ridge Parkway, Maggie Valley, Cherokee and Little Switzerland.

Our last day turned rainy and we stayed in, except to go to La Strada Italian restaurant in Lake Lure. Great food, view, service and atmosphere. We spent the rest of the time enthralled by the rising river which had turned into a raging torrent of white water. It was fascinating and thrilling.

The unit was very comfortable and quaint. The porch was huge and quite private. We were too lazy to cook, so we either went out or ate junk food. We could have used the large gas grill on the porch if we wanted to cook. I was glad to see an ice maker, as the freezer part of the refrigerators (2 small), was limited and I drink a lot of ice water.

Although the unit is right on Lake Lure Highway, (not much of a highway really) we hardly heard any noise from the street, and none at night. We slept with the windows open to hear the river and, later, the rain. It was magical. Owners were available, but not intrusive. We didn't even meet them until we were about to leave. Perfect vacation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The porch.
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2015
I am glad they enjoyed the 1Br. She also said they saw the Mink you have to be outside to see the wildlife. Thank You for the excellent review & the home made basket with goodies in it! Hope to see you again soon.
Bruce & Marion Owner Operated Makes a difference.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renee O
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect riverside get-away!”
Reviewed 2 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This summer was my second stay with Bruce at Bat Cave River Cottages and was the perfect riverside get-away! We are a young, newly-married couple who brought our friends (another couple) along with us. The futon worked out great for the other couple, we spent every morning drinking hot tea on the porch looking over the river (every evening in the hot tub) and the cottage was very clean with a nice, updated kitchen. We were in close proximity to Chimney Rock in which we enjoyed shopping, hiking at the State Park, horseback riding with Cedar Creek Stables and renting a pontoon boat with Lake Lure Adventure Company. I would highly recommend this one bedroom river cottage for any traveling couples or small families.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Proximity to the river
Liked least: We had to leave
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Reviewed 23 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Jan 2015
Hope, Thank You for the GREAT review, Sure we will see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kari O
1 review
“Romantic relaxing getaway!”
Reviewed 20 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Perfect place to stay for a weekend getaway! Right on the river. You could hear it at night. Loved soaking in the hot tub at night. Perfect place to celebrate our anniversary.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Hideaway”
Reviewed 28 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

This is the perfect place to get away from it all. Since our sons and grandchildren are on the west coast we usually spend the holidays with neighbors and friends. This year we decided to look for a peaceful get away. This river cabin provided that. It was clean, quiet and comfortable with all the amenities you could ask for. The hot tub on the huge deck over looking the river was our favorite. In the evening or when you first awake the only sound you hear is the water rushing over the rocks in the river below. Our hosts, Bruce and Marion were very gracious and even provided a small Christmas tree. Our stay here was thoroughly enjoyable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The private hot tub on the large deck.
Liked least: The kitchen does not have a range but there is a hot plate, toaster oven and microwave so this wasn't really a problem.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Dec 2014
Glad you enjoyed the tree,& Thanks for the GREAT review. Merry Christmas and Hope you have a great 2015 !!
Bruce & Marion Owner Operated
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 160
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing