We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the better asian restaurants in the US”
Review of Tokyo Express

Tokyo Express
Ranked #33 of 53 Restaurants in Banner Elk
Cuisines: Japanese, Vietnamese
Restaurant details
Reviewed 16 February 2016

We were here twice and had a chance to taste both the basic lunch menu as well as the higher-end meals. We were highly satisfied with the food and liked the service as well as the location.

Date of visit: February 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DesertEagle27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2015

Great owner and friendly staff, they primarily serve Vietnamese food .Better then good food. Very pleased.

Date of visit: July 2015
Thank Peter-Goldwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

About twenty minutes after eating my takeaway, my face became flush and had a headache. These symptoms are consistent with MSG.

The food was decent; I would have been inclined toward three or even four dots on its own.

Date of visit: August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

My and my significant other LOVE Pho. We've eaten at a couple of Vietnamese restaurants and this was one of the best I ever had. A lot of restaurants will skimp on meat and noodles but this had plenty of both. The flavor was just right. I loved the prices of everything.

I can't comment on any other food my friends had but they got the Pho right. Service was a little slow but no problem for us, we had time. It was also pretty cold. It sucked freezing your toes while eating inside.

Date of visit: January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bianca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I love their food, especially the Vietnamese selections. It's a small family restaurant and they are sometimes shorthanded, so I would say go somewhere else if you're in a hurry. However, the food is always excellent and a good value. There's a reason they've been there for a decade!

Date of visit: December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BE-Dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tokyo Express also viewed

Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
 
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
 
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Tokyo Express? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing