We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner Out”

Puerto Nuevo Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 54 Restaurants in Banner Elk
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 7 November 2018

Excellent meal, but the ambience leaves much to be deisred. We've been there many times, though and will continue.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Leslie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (448)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 448 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2018 via mobile

The translation of “Puerto Nuevo” is Newport. Which makes you think that perhaps this is a seafood restaurant. And it is!

The menu offers a wide variety of seafood on the menu and it’s good. But it also offers all the traditional Mexican and Tex-Mex foods one would expect in the typical Mexican restaurant. One of my favorites is the Sopa de arroz con Pollo. This soup is a meal in itself. And it is priced as such now at $8.95 (for a bowl of soup).

Puerto Nuevo’s guacamole is probably the best I’ve ever had and the tostada bar offers complimentary salsas of your choice in addition to the chips and salsa put on your table upon your arrival.

The cocktail drinks and beers are good and they offer many types of margaritas. My favorite is the organic margarita, made with fresh fruit juices and no sugar syrups or additives of high fructose corn syrup and sugar.

My one complaint is the escalation of prices. This used to be a place where we could eat out once a week: Either with family, or with a gathering of friends. That is no longer the case. When prices went up over a year ago it became a once a month kind of place. Within the last few months the prices were raised again. Now we’ll be going elsewhere for our weekly night out or to Puerto Nuevo maybe once every few months.

Buen apetito

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank nancyliberis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2018

We went here per the recommendation of a local. We found the food and service to be very good. We would likely return.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ineedasol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2018

Our first visit with recommendations from friends that we were with. It was very good. The portions were enormous! It had a salsa bar which was nice if you wanted more salsa to dip chips in or for your tacos, etc. We shared two appetizers and was very glad we shared. The jalapeño poppers were very good. We had another dish (nachos) which were also good. We were with a group, so the service seemed a little slow, but then we were talking and it really didn't matter. We got food, we got full and had fun.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KMW-FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2018

We like coming here on Thursday or dinner in the Summer when we are up from Florida.
They have free raw oysters for Happy Hour on Thursday. Then we order dinner. A few
Favorites are the chicken soup, shrimp quesadilla, and any of the shrimp dinners. They will come to the table Nd make fresh guacomole if you wish.
The service has always been good too.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank msbent3218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Puerto Nuevo Restaurant also viewed

Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
 
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
 
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Puerto Nuevo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing