We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Inn of Happiness”
Review of Albergo Allegria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Albergo Allegria
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Windham
Certificate of Excellence
Denville, NJ
Level Contributor
194 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“The Inn of Happiness”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

This B&B minutes from Windham Mtn and a little longer from Hunter, is an oaisis in the Catskills. There seems to be a fireplace in almost all rooms, which are kept spotless by an efficient staff, with plenty of hot water. The breakfasts are on this side of gourmet. Each day you have a difficult decision to make in selecting from a multitude of choices. All of the personnel are ready and able to answer all questions regarding activities in the area and will not steer you wrong. When you return from hiking, skiing, having a go at snoe shoeing or cross country, the ambience of the Victorian in welcomes toy like a member of the family. it is an experience not to be missed when in the vicinity.

Room Tip: Added space and whirlpools are located in the separate bldg in back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Logistics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    441
    44
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
89
303
14
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Bergen, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

My husband and I stayed here a few days ago to celebrate our 2nd wedding anniversary and the B&B was perfect for our ski trip to Hunter Mountain. Like one of the earlier reviews mentioned, it is more like an inn with breakfast. The decor and ambience were very nice, not too dated, we enjoyed relaxing in the living room in front of the fireplace with our book and hot chocolate. The breakfast room especially was gorgeous, bright and sunny. The breakfast was good and filling and it kept us going through the day while we were skiing. The variety of teas, as well as the drinks, coffee, cookies available throughout the day was a nice addition. We stayed in the July room, which has a high ceiling and stained glass windows and a slight view of the slopes, and found it to be comfortable. We were impressed with how clean and well maintained the entire property was. Overall a very cozy stay, we would highly recommend it for all

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neelam55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rishon Lezion, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

I had an excellent time in this very cozy hotel!
It is so good because of the people who run it. They made me feel at home.
They were so nice to me and also since i came without a vehicle, they made an extra effort to come and pick me up from/to the bus station and also from/to the mountain base lodge.
The breakfast is really something - each day there are specials which made as you like!

i'll surely be back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eran F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

My family made the trip from FL with the purpose of showing our 6 and 10 year old daughters snow for the first time. Our stay in the Spring Suite at the Inn was so perfect for our family. We had adjoining rooms that were quite comfortable and we loved the fireplace in our room. We enjoyed spending time in the main living room where we could enjoy a hot chocolate and cookies from the pantry and play games. We LOVED the breakfast-the open faced frittata was delicious, and the staff so friendly. We would highly recommend this lovely family friendly inn.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karynlcsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY, NY
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I stayed at this B&B, which reminded me more of an Inn that included breakfast, during a short ski trip to Windham with my friends last week. It is conveniently located about 1/2 mile from the mountain. The staff is very hospitable and there is water, coffee, tea and soft drinks always available for you to help yourself in the kitchen. The Inn has a wireless network and computer available for guest use; the rooms are very quaint and clean and there is a welcoming living room with a fireplace, table, books, dvds and board games for guest use as well. Although we did not have the breakfast, the staff warmly insisted on use taking some of their homemade muffins one morning before departing for the day. Overall, this is a perfect place to stay if you are spending a few days at Windham mountain, and you cannot beat the price, which is comparable to other, less comfortable, accommodations in the area.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cah234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windham
0.7 km away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.2 km away
The Thompson House
The Thompson House
#3 of 7 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
31.3 km away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Copper Kettle Motel Cottages
1.6 km away
Beds On Clouds
Beds On Clouds
#1 of 9 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
1.0 km away
Winwood Inn & Condos
Winwood Inn & Condos
#6 of 7 in Windham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Allegria? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Allegria

Property: Albergo Allegria
Address: 43 State Route 296, Windham, NY 12496-5307
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Windham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Windham
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,143 - ₹ 13,765
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Albergo Allegria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm Hospitality & Cool Amenities--Albergo Allegria Bed & Breakfast Hotel is set atop the Northern Catskill Mountains where outdoor adventure abounds. The 21 guest rooms boast modern amenities and the grounds offer relaxation-- whether by the fire pit complete with S'Mores, the Batavia Kill Creek that runs through the property, or the extensive farm to table garden. Just steps from the door, guests will trek The Windham Path, a 2 mile crushed-stone trail through pristine nature. The 24 hour guest pantry is among the guest favorites that's stocked with made-from-scratch-cookies, locally roasted coffee, and beverages. Italian for the "Inn of Happiness", Albergo Allegria shines its brightest through its unparalleled breakfast, just check out the reviews! Added Value: In addition to the pre-mentioned deliciousness that's included in the rates, each of the guestrooms are complete with modern amenities including private baths, dream worthy beds, flat screen TV's, HDTV/DVD--included are 2500+ DVD's to choose from! For seekers of romantic indulgence, Albergo Allegria features luxury suites with king size beds, whirlpools, fireplaces, and plenty of space to romp around. Hospitality of a bed and breakfast, and all the conveniences of a world class hotel create an ideal setting that's filled with character and history so you can fully enjoy your time away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Albergo Allegria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Allegria Hotel Windham
Albergo Allegria Windham, NY - Catskill Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing