We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint B&B with great filling breakfast and close access to main street”
Review of Catskill Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Catskill Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Windham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pasadena, CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quaint B&B with great filling breakfast and close access to main street”
Reviewed 11 October 2010

David, the innkeeper, was a wonderful host and gave a good introduction to the amenities of the accomodation. He also was helpful in his suggestion for a bike route starting at the B&B and going through some of the nearby towns.

The room was clean and comfortable. It shares a bathroom with another room, but there weren't any issues with that. There is complimentary hot beverages and soda available at all times. There is also a collection of DVDs to choose from and a TV & DVD player set in our room. The breakfast was large and delicious, and different for the two mornings we were there. We had the vegetarian option which is the same as the regular, except with veggie sausage instead. It usually starts with yogurt and fruit. Then eggs, pancakes or french toast, toast, sausage or bacon, muffin or cake loaf. Well-kept accomodation. The main street of Windham with a few restaurants is just a short drive away. The free wi-fi worked well also. We left our bikes unlocked behind the B&B for 2 nights; no problems with that. We didn't encounter any problems during our stay.

On one day of our stay there, we biked from Windham to Hunter, then back west on 23A and then back to Windham. There is a 1000ft climb at the beginning, but the rest of the route is relatively flat. We found a store/cafe to stop for cold beverage, which we later returned for dinner. This store/cafe had many vegetarian and organic options. On 23A, we stopped at RSK farm stand for fresh apples. You will also see an Ukrainian Catholic church with particular architecture along the way. We then had a cold beer at Cave Mtn Brewing Company, which seems to be a popular brewery restaurant in Windham. Another good restaurant in that area is Maggie's in Tannersville.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miriya52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    38
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
48
164
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heiloo, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2010

We stayed here for 2 days and enjoyed our stay enormously. The house is cosy and invites you to relax and makes you forget your daily stress.Although it rained a lot during our time here, David came up with some good tips to enjoy the beautiful surroundings (Kaaterskill Falls) and a delicious breakfast. We loved it!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hendrik70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Enjoyable stay, inn keeper gave accruate information on dining and attractions. Beautiful folliage.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenrharrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silverthorne, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Having never stayed in a B and B, we were not sure what to expect. It was such a lovely place, wonderful surroundings full of history yet clean and updated. The Catskill Suite is perfect for the romantic getaway and worth extra money for the top floor with the jacuzzi master bath topping off a perfect day.

David, the Innkeeper, was awesome with suggestions for dining and activities. His breakfasts each morning were a great start to the day. The whole lodge was clean, comfortable and well laid out for privacy or meeting new people.

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KathyAnn55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2010

As my wife and I made our way up from historic Hudson Valley toward Niagara Falls, we decided to stop at Windham to break up the next leg up toward Corning. Given our appreciation of restored historic homes, and the primarily positive comments already posted regarding Catskill Lodge, we decided to spend a night there.
The overall experience was positive, but without question, the visit requires flexibility in accepting the implications of staying at an 1890’s former doctor’s home converted to a B&B.
1. Although not stated anywhere on the web site or even here at Tripadvisor, the hotel is in a cell phone dead zone. Thus, the owners allow guests to use the hotel’s land line whenever use of a telephone is needed.
2. The B&B itself is a charming structure from the outside, but as noted in a prior review, the building is under physical stress. The front porch, a spot which normally would represent a nice place to sit and rock while viewing the beautiful vistas and world passing by, is closed due to structural damage. We stayed in the Windham room on the first floor, which obviated the need to carry luggage up the stairs to the higher floors. The room was spacious, but the layout created a situation in which the person sleeping on the left side of the queen size bed had approximately one foot of space between the bed and the wall, making it awkward (though do-able) to get up in the middle of the night. Of the windows in the room…one had broken pulleys, so it was necessary to maneuver a screen under it to keep it propped open. The other window was broken and could not be opened. It had been an unusually warm day that particular day, and in the absence of a sorely needed ceiling fan, the room was stuffy and hot (finally cooled off some time after midnight). The bed was as hard as a rock but provided an adequate night’s sleep. The top sheet was worn with a hole readily noted. The in room TV also contained a built-in DVD player, which worked out well since we brought a couple of our Netflix DVD’s on the trip. There were somewhere in the vicinity of 70 channels available on the local cable service. The bathroom was fine, lots of space to set down personal items, only downside being a glass shelf above the sink with partially dislodged anchors, such that the shelf was tilted and could not be used. Shower had nice force and good water temperature. The provided soap and shampoo were rather sad. Although no doubt everyone is looking to control overhead in a tough economic environment, the soap provided was approximately the size of a communion wafer, and the shampoo was a dab of nondescript soap in a single use plastic thingie similar to that in which ketchup or mustard are provided at a fast food outlet…come on, guys, given the cost of a room here, I do think this could beat least a bit more generously handled.
3. The breakfast was great. Started off with juice, coffee, yogurt with sprinkled granola and a cantaloupe slice, followed by a plate including eggs to order, sausage, zucchini bread, pancakes, toast. We suspect that more often than not, guests end up being unable to clean off their plates.
4. We had dinner at the Italian restaurant Vesuvios, a 3 minute walk to the right, or a 30 second car drive for those of that persuasion…a truly delicious meal, very reasonably priced.
5. The WiFi was great…for those without their own laptop, a laptop is provided to guests in the common area.
6. The common area also had a trove of DVD’s available for guests, and a large screen TV for watching in the common area.
7. As has been previously noted, the local tap water does have a somewhat odd taste.
8. Beware the accent rugs if you are staying in the Windham room…as they were placed on hardwood floors with no adherent material in-between, both my wife and I came very close to falling to the floor when they slid…we ended up rolling them up to prevent a catastrophe.

So, all told a nice visit, but thought we’d share the specifics (pro and con)of our visit with prospective future guests.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank petergoode2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windham
1.8 km away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
503 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
295 reviews
2.1 km away
Copper Kettle Motel Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Beds On Clouds Bed and Breakfast Inn
9.0 km away
Fairlawn Inn
Fairlawn Inn
#1 of 3 in Hunter
207 reviews
2.8 km away
Mountain Treasure Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catskill Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catskill Lodge

Property: Catskill Lodge
Address: 350 State Route 296, Windham, NY 12496-5327
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Windham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Windham
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,704 - ₹ 14,998
Hotel Class:3 star — Catskill Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1893, our Victorian home offers historic charm, modern amenities, and a relaxed, communal feel. Start your morning with a freshly prepared hot breakfast. In the evening, gather round the campfire or soak in the hot tub while gazing at the star-studded sky. Catskill Lodge, a registered historic site, sits atop a hill on five lush acres of property, complete with our own wooded nature trail and plenty of friendly wildlife. The area’s best outdoor adventures are just minutes away, from skiing, snowboarding, and snowshoeing to cycling, mountain biking, golf, hiking, fishing, farm tours, and scenic drives. Our seven-bedroom inn accommodates 16 guests, while the Hudson Hollow, our three-bedroom vacation rental next door, sleeps six. We offer the coziness and personal service of a bed-and-breakfast without the stuffiness of a traditional B&B. Group rentals and weddings welcome! Let us help you plan your perfect getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Catskill Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catskill Hotel Windham
Catskill Lodge b&b
Catskill Lodge Windham, NY - Catskill Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing