We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“they are willing to dig through the garbage for your child” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copper Kettle Motel Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Copper Kettle Motel Cottages
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Windham
Red Bank, New Jersey
1 review
“they are willing to dig through the garbage for your child”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

great place to stay...Lisa and Don will go out of their way to make your trip an enjoyable one. Real home -like environment (minus the stress of your own home). My daughter's favorite blanket was mistakenly thrown out in the garabage and Don and Lisa, flashlights in hand, went right out to the dumpster to help me search....as tons of snow was coming down!! Don then had to help me get my car started the next morning....all as my children enjoyed the company, pool table and the great breakfast in the dining area.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carol b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    28
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
31
36
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glen Rock, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We were lucky to get a Friday night only reservation here at the beginning of President's Week when most places in Windham take only minimum 2-night stays. Lisa was very accommodating on the phone and made me feel welcome, even before we arrived. The rooms are very basic, bordering on "motel retro", but spotlessly clean and warm and you can't beat the price. A little quirky....like having to "wait" for the hot water to travel from main house! But it arrived and we were forewarned. They have a very warm and welcoming bar, serving beer (large interesting selection) and wine (need to expand a bit, ie add a sauvignon blanc perhaps!) only. Don was pouring and he is very interesting to talk to...so friendly. It's clear he and Lisa are committed to making one's stay comfortable.He welcomed our suggestions (like a bedside light for reading). Innkeepers for less than a year, they seem to have what it takes in terms of passion and personality. I agree with another reviewer, that they seem likely to continue to make improvements to the property. If you're in the area to ski versus hang out in your room, this is a great choice. Nice big breakfast room with plenty of choices to fill you up before you head to the slopes. We would certainly come back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
130 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

First the good...
About a mile and a half to Windham Ski Resort and about a mile to the town of Windham and the associated restaurants. The room was clean and had wonderful thick wood paneling, even on the ceiling. The room had a TV. The owners were very hospitable and friendly and went out of their way to make you welcome. The price was very reasonable. It has a bar, run by the owners, a pool table and dart board. There is a complimentary continental breakfast and coffee. We had homemade muffins the first morning. The property was full during our stay.


On the downside, the property looks frumpy from the outside, but belies what is on the inside. The breakfast was minimalist (this is not a B&B).

The owners acquired the property less than a year ago and have to deal with twin challenges of the destruction of Hurricane Irene and a poor ski season. Their hearts are in the right place and they work hard. I won't be surprise if this place is much better with each passing year. I would recommend this place to anybody that wants to visit the area on a budget.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pilot_Sluggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

We were extremely pleased with our overnight stay at the Copper Kettle. We had Room #1 which was basic but comfortable (especially after we turned on the heat!). The location was fantastic - within minutes to the Mountain and to the main street area. We even walked down Route 23 to dinner at a local restaurant.

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful (providing discount lift tickets for sale, a discount on rentals, a blowdryer upon request and fulfilling all of our needs). The resident dog Oakley was very sweet. The continental breakfast is ample and perfect to kick start a day on the slopes (cereal, oatmeal, bagels, muffins, granola bars, coffee & tea, juice).

Given the value and the fact that they don't have a 2 night minimum, this is a great option at Windham Mountain and we'll definitely return again!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuvtoTravel514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
85 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

Just to level set expectations, I wanted to provide the following point-of-view on the 3 star rating: The Copper Kettle Motel is a great place to stay. It's close to the mountains, the service level is high and this is reflected in the owners friendliness and hospitality. The cost is very fair considering the location, however the rooms left something to be desired. While certainly not dirty or unsafe, they were in the need of improvements. Minor things such as only having 3 hangers one which was broken, very apparent noise from the neighboring room, and a cracked window in the bathroom all detracted from the experience. This is the perfect place for a group of high school or college friends to do a weekend ski trip or a family with kids as well. The breakfast while not hearty, was filling and well rounded enough to get us on the hill without needing fuel until lunch. Overall, I would recommend The Copper Kettle to most basic travelers except the most discerning. In conclusion, I would certainly return here as the price is right, the service is exceptional and if a situation arises, the owners are quick to devise a solution.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachvsMountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windham
1.1 km away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#1 of 6 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.2 km away
The Thompson House
The Thompson House
#2 of 6 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
24.4 km away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 10 in Windham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
10.8 km away
Xenia Resort
Xenia Resort
#3 of 6 in Hunter
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
4.2 km away
Christman's Windham House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copper Kettle Motel Cottages? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper Kettle Motel Cottages

Property: Copper Kettle Motel Cottages
Address: 5098 State Route 23, Windham, NY 12496-5404 (Formerly Kopper Kettle Motel)
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Windham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Windham
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,240 - ₹ 9,171
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Copper Kettle Motel Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copper Kettle has 12 Standard guest rooms, a Cottage Suite and a 4 Bedroom house available for your lodging needs. We pride ourselves on offering visitors nothing less than exceptionally clean and comfortable accommodations, warm hospitality and reasonable prices. Winter Season: Hot Buffett Breakfast is included and provided for all cottage and standard room guests on weekends and holidays. Continental Breakfast provided on weekends Summer & Fall. Discounted lift tickets to both Windham and Hunter Mountains are available for purchase for all Copper Kettle guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Copper Kettle Motel Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copper Kettle Motel Cottages Hotel Windham
Kopper Kettle Hotel
Copper Kettle Motel Cottages Windham, NY - Catskill Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing