We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved It!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Captains Inn Point Lookout

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Captains Inn Point Lookout
collingswood
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved It!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

We just returned from a 2 night stay at the Inn and will definitely return. The view from our room was breathtaking, We enjoyed one of the finest meals ever for dinner on our first night and had a delicious Octoberfest meal on night 2. Ron and Laurie, the owners, are very friendly and accommodating and the staff was attentive and fun. We were looking for an Inn that reflected the area we were visiting, not a hotel that that can be found anywhere you travel. Point Lookout Mountain Inn more than fit the bill and our room was very comfortable, clean, and charming.

Room Tip: If you can get a valley side room you will never want to go out...that's how beautiful your view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FiveStateView, Owner at Captains Inn Point Lookout, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
It is always a pleasure to be connected to the Nicest people in the World. Thank you Father God, and Special Thanks to Linda & John becoming part of the Point Lookout Family. Friendship & new beginnings, two of lifes' most enjoyable moments. We stay grateful and thankful to ALL our customers & Friends : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    24
    2
    5
    4
See reviews for
26
45
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Graham, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

My husband and I spent our anniversary here at the Point Lookout Mountain Inn and had a very romantic weekend. We arrived to our room and was greeted by a beautiful rainbow! The view from our room was totally amazing! We ate dinner that night at the Inn's own restaurant-it was truly phenomenal. Everything from salad to bread to the main course was superb. The next morning we were again in awe of the sunrise view from our room. Breakfast is serve yourself in a cozy kitchen in the lower level of the inn. There were egg fritattas, waffles, cereal, toast, fruit , juice-it was all fresh and tasty. We just wanted a quick little weekend escape and we found it at this charming Inn.

Room Tip: Choose the valley view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OakRidgeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FiveStateView, Owner at Captains Inn Point Lookout, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Thank-you, Thank-you, Thank You! No matter the stress of day to day operations, it is people like you that make it all worth it. God Bless you Always : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

My review is long overdue. I stayed with my wife and two children for three nights back in early July. I have nothing but great things to say about the owners Ron and Laurie. They truly went out of their way to make us comfortable. The food at the restaurant was excellent and the free breakfast was above and beyond our expectations. The view as many have already mentioned is outstanding and the area affords a plethora of activities. This place has charm which you never find in the chains and is run by people whom actually care about your experience. I can without hesitation recommend the Point Lookout Mountain Inn.

Thanks Ron and Laurie!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkeyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FiveStateView, Owner at Captains Inn Point Lookout, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
You say great people? I say You are the great people. Keep bearing good fruit. You both are an inspiration of goodness to all who know you. It is only because of the awesome people like you that we are still here and Loving Life. Thanks again : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Wow! What a great find. Point Lookout is nestled right in the heart of the Catskills, a close drive to four major activities: North-South Lake, Catskill Mountain House site, the Zoom Flume, and Katterskill Falls. We took our 2 kids (7 and 9 years), and never wanted for activities. The owners of Point Lookout (Ron and Laurie) are super friendly, and super knowledgable about the area and things to do. We stayed at the Inn for a couple of days, enjoyed the character and charm of the Inn, and the "bend over backwards" attitude of EVERYONE at the place. The views that this Inn has are incredible- a truly panoramic view, it calls to my mind views from the Rockies as much as anything here in the eastern US. And, oh my....the restaurant -" The Victorian Rose" was extremely good, the food was excellent, seemingly everything of any importance is made onsite, and the "made to order" care is evident in every bite. ANYWAY...to summarize: I travel for business 40-50 nights a year, and typically stay in "Courtyard" or "Garden Inn" caliber places. While those places are OK, & mostly brand new, the Point Lookout Inn has more character & charm in one plank of wood than those chains have in their entire building. DEFINITELY going to come back again. HIGHLY RECCOMMEND THIS INN!!!

Room Tip: Book The 5-State View Side of the Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichGfromNazareth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FiveStateView, Owner at Captains Inn Point Lookout, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
This is why we do what we do. It is one of the greatest rewards in life to be able to provide caring hospitality to our guest,. ( and that they approve. ) Thank you again for taking time to share your joyful feelings. We look forward to seeing & serving you again : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albany NH
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

My husband and I stayed at this Inn with my sister and her husband while going on a motorcycle trip through the mountains. The views that this Inn has are incredible- a panoramic view! We live in NH where the views are also incredible - but this view is probably the best we have seen on our journey through the mountains we were in awe when we were rounding the corner to the site of the Inn. The staff at the Inn were great. Ron the owner was very personable and shared stories and his vision of the Inn with us. I think that he is right on with his vision and passion to make this Inn something very spectacular. This is prime real estate with a heavenly view - and with a little bit of the right attention this could offer so much to everyone. It's truly a slice of heaven. The restaurant " The Victorian Rose" was extremely good- the food excellent! the view,- so relaxing and beautiful. We did have to wait a bit for our food which we knew in advance because of other reviews. But well worth the wait! We enjoyed our drinks out on the deck. Our room was not on the view side and we wish that it was. The view on that side is so beautiful! We would like to go back some time to experience staying in the view side of the Inn. The room that we stayed in was cozy and very clean. The comfort of the bed was not that of my sister"s experience- but would not deter me from coming back to this magnificent slice of heaven. All in all We had a pleasurable experience at this Inn.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brit326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windham
7.7 km away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#1 of 6 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
7.5 km away
The Thompson House
The Thompson House
#2 of 6 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
22.7 km away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 km away
Copper Kettle Motel Cottages
11.4 km away
Christman's Windham House
7.5 km away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 10 in Windham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captains Inn Point Lookout? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captains Inn Point Lookout

Property: Captains Inn Point Lookout
Address: 7604 State Route 23, Windham, NY 12439-5153 (Formerly Point Lookout Mountain Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Windham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Windham
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,409 - ₹ 8,894
Hotel Class:3 star — Captains Inn Point Lookout 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Captain's Inn Point Lookout is historically located 2000 feet high in the Catskill Mountains. It has an unprecedented Five State, 180 mile view into Vermont, New Hampshire, Massachusetts, Connecticut, & New York. It is in close proximity to Windham Mountain, Hunter Mountain, and offers a huge variety of year round activities,Fishing, Hiking, Mountain Biking, ZIP LINING, Boating Kayaking, snow-shoeing, Snow skiing, snow boarding, Leaf peeping, sight-seeing, scenic drives, Golfing, hunting, discovering, The Great Northern Catskills. The Restaurant has received accolades for its performance and vows to continue to be better. A wonderful place to come for a getaway, a delicious meal, or a quick bite to eat in the lounge. Family friendly with a great children menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Captains Inn Point Lookout reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Point Lookout Mountain Hotel Windham
Captains Inn Point Lookout Windham, NY - Catskill Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing