We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Melting Pot

The Melting Pot
Reserve with OpenTable
The Melting Pot is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 257 Restaurants in White Plains
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 20 - US$ 30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Main Street
Transit: The White Plains Train Station is a short walk from the restaurant. Walk North up Bank Street and cross Ferris Avenue. Bank Street turns into Main Street. Walk up Main Street, pass the Galleria Mall and then turn right on Mamaroneck Avenue. The restaurant is 1/2 a block up on the right, across from the movie theater.
Description: Westchester's favorite celebration restaurant. "The Melting Pot is pure entertainment," said the New York Times. Whether it's a romantic dinner for two, bridal event, babyshower, Ladies' Night Out, or birthday, The Melting Pot has the recipe to make all your occasions special. Relax in our private, elegant atmosphere and let our attentive servers guide you through our wide selection of fondues, fresh salads, succulent entrees and fine wines. Winner of an "Award of Excellence" from Wine Spectator magazine.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
105 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

The Melting Pot is a very nice experience eighter you going with your partner or just a few friends for a dessert! A little over priced, but since fondue it´s not something we eat every week, it´s fine to pay for it!

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
Thank GiLuca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    49
    17
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
96 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice change of environment.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

I went here recently with a friend. We got the spinach artihoke fondue as an appetizer, some meat combination as an entree and melted chocolate wih baileys for dessert. I enjoyed the appetizer and dessert. Both had a variety of foods for dipping. I found the entree to be overpriced and annoying. It was around an extra $20 and you have to cook each piece of food for 1-3 minutes on a stick in oil. I recommend passing on the entree and just doing the cheese and chocolate.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank roselleleone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food and great experience but a little pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

The Melting Pot is definitley a fun place to go with friends or on a date. It is a little dark and oddly layed out but an overall nice atmosphere. If you get the special (or do it individually) and get the salad, bread, entree, and desert you will leave very full! It is on the expensive side but worth it on a special occasion.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank aa1474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yonkers, New York
Level Contributor
188 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Prices are getting higher and portions are only getting smaller”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

I’ve been coming to the melting pot since it first opened. And I remember when they would fill the pot with cheese for four people. Now they only fill it half way. In my opinion, I shouldn’t have dippers left over after the meal. Cooking the food isn’t worth it, everything tastes like the broth they boil it in. It’s been really disappointing the last couple of times we went. One time the cheese was too watered down, aren’t these people trained to make cheese? That’s all they do and bring out stuff for you too cook your own food. I’m paying someone so I can cook my own food…interesting concept. Last time we went the manager was hounding every table asking how everything is and how can they improve. I didn’t say anything because I didn’t want to be hounded or make the waitress uncomfortable. What would they do, give us more cheese? It doesn’t change anything because they aren’t giving any of the other tables, they jip more cheese. They also increased the price for “ladies night” which is annoying. I have to say never again and hopefully I stick to it and not give this place anymore changes. One positive is that it does have a romantic feel but hey I can dim the lights at my own home, with my own fondue pot and have a similar effect.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank epoh84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Plains, NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very romantic to go the first time”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2010

Very unique experience. You choose your dips for appetizers, you cook your own entries, and then you choose your chocolate for dessert. If you went for only appetizers or only dessert, it would be more fun. The cheeses for appetizers are sort of bland, but chances are you're hungry and will like it. Dessert is great but you'll be too stuffed to enjoy most of it. Cooking the entries (chicken and steak) will seem like a burden you could do without. In fact, there is the issue of raw meat touching your plate (they advise you to be careful). I don't find any joy in this like with the appetizers and the dessert. It is kinda hard to keep track of time to know how long you have to keep everything submerged in the oil for. I had to whip out my cell phone to time each piece - otherwise you end up with uncooked meat. It's fun if you go once or twice for special occasion, but definitely not something you'd want to bother with regularly. The food isn't even THAT good and it's a LONG dining experience. (Figure 2-3 hours)

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Diskette66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Melting Pot also viewed

White Plains, Westchester County
White Plains, Westchester County
 
White Plains, Westchester County
White Plains, Westchester County
 

Been to The Melting Pot? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing