We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brunch”

MacArthur's Riverview Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in West Point
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 12 - US$ 22
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: This renowned restaurant on the Hudson River, with its Gothic windows and old world charm, sets the stage for a truly unique dining experience. Savor sumptuous breakfasts, lunches, dinners and an award-winning Sunday Champagne Brunch - all prepared by our Culinary Institute of America-trained culinary staff. From business lunches to romantic dinners, MacArthur’s Riverview Restaurant is one of the top restaurants in the Hudson Valley, also offering seasonal outdoor waterfront dining on the intimate and exquisite Jefferson Patio.
Reviewed 16 October 2018

We were a large table to celebrate a friends birthday. We were given a round table in a corner. Our server Sandy was incredible! Extremely attentive and caring. She put a candle in the desert and offering to take all the pictures we wanted. Making sure that our celebration was a happy one. The food was plentiful and with a large variety. All the temperature be it hot or cold was perfect.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Shekse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlys_Lemler, General Manager at MacArthur's Riverview Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2018

We're happy to hear you enjoyed the award winning brunch at MacArthur's Riverview Restaurant. We will make sure tell Sandy to keep up the good work. Make sure to follow us on Facebook as we regularly update with new specials and events. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (406)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 406 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2018

This was a wonderful way to continue our 45th anniversary celebration. The food was excellent, we were seated at a lovely spot overlooking the river, and the service was attentive. Actually, they came every time we used the call button on the table. Mimosas were excellent. My only complaint was the beef they were carving was cold, but it was still very good. Wouldn't come back every week, but WOW is this a nice place for a special celebration.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Karl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlys_Lemler, General Manager at MacArthur's Riverview Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2018

We're happy to hear you enjoyed your time here at MacArthur's Riverview Restaurant. We're proud to say that our Champagne Brunch, held every Sunday, was voted the best buffet brunch by Hudson Valley Magazine. Thank you for your review, and we look forward to hosting you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018

This Sunday Brunch was the perfect choice for our group to meet up for a special birthday celebration. Most of us had never been and we all enjoyed all the food selection -so many choices and the staff made sure the food stations were never empty - our server Sandy was extremely attentive and so accommodating. Thank you Sandy for making our visit so pleasant and we hope to see you again soon -

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank jkessny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlys_Lemler, General Manager at MacArthur's Riverview Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2018

We're happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us at MacArthur's Riverview Restaurant. We pride ourselves on our five star customer service, and we will make sure to tell Sandy to keep up the good work. Make sure to follow us on Facebook as we regularly update with new specials and events. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018 via mobile

We were really looking forward to it but....
First there’s not much parking so you have to park well below the hotel. I was thinking the whole time that they need valet parking and when I finally got to the front door, there was the valet guy. He apparently was asleep when I was stopped outside looking for a valet or a sign or something.

Then, I was so glad we had made reservations b/c when we got to the restaurant there was 40 empty tables and one other couple. I found out why later.

Our server was good as were our cocktails, but then they brought our soup and it sat on a tray stand for a good 15 minutes b4 someone finally brought it to our table. It was warm but not hot. My wife’s mussels were plentiful but not especially great. My chicken schnitzel was strange. It was a huge, pounded chicken breast washed in breadcrumbs and then fried for too long. It didn’t have much flavor to start with and then they put a HUGE salad all over it - huh?

Someone isn’t minding the store there. Maybe the steaks are better - I hope so.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank Bobby44881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlys_Lemler, General Manager at MacArthur's Riverview Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2018

Thank you for your feedback. We pride ourselves on giving a five-star experience to our guests, and we’re sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations here at the Historic Thayer Hotel at West Point. Please reach out to us directly at clemler@thethayerhotel.com, so that we can discus how to make your next visit, the best visit. Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018

food was excellent..so much variety between breakfast and lunch.. and service was much more than we expected. Our server, Anthony, was VERY attentive!

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ebateman2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlys_Lemler, General Manager at MacArthur's Riverview Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

We're happy to hear you enjoyed yourself at MacArthur's Riverview Restaurant. We'll make sure to tell Anthony to keep up the good work. Make sure to follow us on Facebook as we regularly update with new specials, and events. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed MacArthur's Riverview Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to MacArthur's Riverview Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing