We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (458)
Filter reviews
458 results
Traveller rating
347
90
15
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
347
90
15
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslost springsthree storyfull kitchenhot water beachtennis courtsone bedroom apartmentfree wifiwashing machine and dryerfirst floorlost spring spawell equipped kitchenswimming pooltop floorhome away from homethe managersgreat place to staytown centre
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 458 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2017

We stayed for 3 nights in unit 1. Beautifully clean, large, fully equipped kitchen, good internet. Friendly people. Unit serviced daily. We would definitely choose to stay here again. No views, but very close to the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dennis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oceans18, Manager at Oceans Resort Whitianga, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2017

Thanks for taking the time to review Oceans Resort Whitianga. Our cleaners take pride in all our apartments. We may see you back one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

We had a long drive from gisborne to whitianga and when we arrived I was extremely pleased with our accommodation as we only booked it the night before we wasn't really sure what to expect. Well Pam who checked us is was lovely, she was so friendly and welcoming she give us information on where to eat where shops was and how to get about in the area and asked if we needed any other information so I asked her about some trips and she give us the best advise was great. She then walked us round to our accommodation and it was just lovely. A 3 floor apartment the decor was stylish and modern. There was a washer and dryer with was very handy as we had been on the road for 5 days and the view of the sunrise was an added bonus. Had a great nights sleep the heated blankets was well welcomed on the chilly winter night. The next morning we was rushing to check out because we wanted to catch the early boat trip to cathedral coves that Pam had mentioned when we got down to where the boat sets off from we had missed it. But then it turned round and came back for us, this is because Pam had rung them to tell them we was on our way. This is above and beyond kindness and really made our day. We also forgot to give ken our email address for the photos he had taken on the boat trip so Pam also made sure we got them. In short great apartments and Pam is super amazing we couldn't have asked for anything more thank again Pam x

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank C4tcy1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oceans18, Manager at Oceans Resort Whitianga, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2017

thanks for your review. We couldn't have you miss that boat trip, or your photo's. pleased your day went well. trust the rest of your tour did too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

The accommodation was fantastic with all the amenities you could ever require, unfortunately we we're only staying the 1 night, we could have easily and comfortably spent a full week. Great location and super friendly and helpful staff member Pam who gave us lots of information and even ensured that we made it on to a last minute trip by personally calling the tour operator. If you're planning a trip to the area u highly recommend staying at the Oceans Resort.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank smarshall86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oceans18, Manager at Oceans Resort Whitianga, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2017

1 night is better than no night at Oceans Resort Whitianga. thanks for reviewing us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

We stayed for 3 nights and we cant forget this place especially because it was raining for 3 days and we had no option either enjoy the resort or go get drenched. but a nice resort hope to go once in summer to watch this beautiful place.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Manish T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oceans18, Manager at Oceans Resort Whitianga, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2017

thanks for your review. yes we did have a very wet week. see you in the summer maybe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

The apartments are basic - nicely laid out, spacious and with some nice furnishing, but minimum amenities and some features (like TV in the bedroom and a vanity space in the bathroom) that would make it more comfortable. The most frustrating issue is the really bad internet speed. It is diabolically slow to the point where pages don't load and simple email take a long time to be received. The reception warned us on arrival it was - well "ordinary but enough" Sorry it was not enough and really needs to be fixed.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anwil51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oceans18, Manager at Oceans Resort Whitianga, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2017

Thanks for taking the time to review Oceans Resort Whitianga. We have added a free standing vanity unit to give a little more space in the bathroom. WIFI!! Yes we can only appoligise again, our Wifi is slow in Whitianga. We have been told we will be getting up graded cable layed in Whitianga soon. what a blessing. some Wifi days are better than others.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews