We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top spot to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2017

We really enjoyed the stay here. NOTE - the entrance is slightly confusing as there are two places both with very similar names. Go to the back office of Oceans not Beachside Resort....it is safe to say that the guy from Beachside is not very friendly when you get it confused. As it says above - "50 Metres Down the Drive".

Oceans Resort is very spacious and has its own parking available. The location is spot on with an access at the back of the property into the Lost Springs next door.

The management of the complex was first class and very helpful. They have great knowledge of the area.

Our particular unit was just great with full kitchen and everything that goes with it. Consideration needs to be given when you book as to which rooms suit your needs as ours had three level with the top floor containing the bedroom and bathroom. This may not be suitable to those with mobility issues.

This is a large property with stacks of room. There is a pool and playground if you have kids.

The cons - the free Wi-Fi is pretty hit and miss as far as keeping a connection goes. The management are aware of this and they are pushing for an upgrade in the area. The Wi-Fi is still usable; just a little tedious.

Another con that will sound quite funny was the bed sheets. Please review how they are laundered as they are 'too clean' if there is such a thing. By this I mean that that are terribly 'noisy' and we found that every time one rolled over the other woke up. They are perfect and crisp but a little like sleeping on a paper bag as far as noise is concerned.

Would we stay again? Yes for sure as we really enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Chose based on your needs. 2 and 3 story unit available from what we saw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oceans18, Manager at Oceans Resort Whitianga, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2017

Hi Russ, thanks for your review.
I'm glad you mentioned the entrance - our reception is 50m down the drive, where we will warmly welcome you.
Yes - the wifi can be hit and miss just due to Whitianga's remote location. :)
We love your comment about our clean sheets - and totally understand what you mean. Most guests love them - but each to their own. They are brand new sheets and laundered daily. Thanks again for your outstanding review. See you again next time - Pamela :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 435 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2017

We were travelling this area by the seat of our pants due to the previous bad rainy weather on the Coromandel Peninsula. We came across this resort quite by accident and were shown the unit but warned about stairs which was not a problem for us. We were blown away with what we saw and went back to arrange the formalities. Whilst arranging a nights stay we decided to stay an extra night and our host Pamela was so gracious in assisting. Pamela recommended a couple of places to eat and we were not disappointed. Eat where the locals eat. On checking out, Pamela advised we should continue with our trip to Coromandel Town and stop at the Driving Creek Railway. We were so pleased we took her suggestion as it was an excellent stop. We could not believe what we heard about the history of the railway. Totally incredible. Take Pamela's suggestions seriously. The unit Pamela gave us was a two bedroom 3 storey townhouse with all modern electrical appliances with a superb view of the bay. A great place to stay a couple of nights or more we were so glad we booked the extra night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view 3 storey townhouse
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oceans18, Manager at Oceans Resort Whitianga, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2017

Hi Richard - so pleased you enjoyed the railway. Isn't it amazing!?
Glad you enjoyed all the recommendations - hopefully we'll see you again next time :)
- Pamela.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2017

This was our second stay at Ocean's Resort and we love it there. Very handy to all the cafes , wharf, shops etc so easy to walk to dinner. Lost Spring right next door, lovely for a bit of R & R. Only thing that could be improved on would be the maintenance in the apartments - light bulbs not going - on outside deck also. The shower slide tray was broken - must have been noticed by cleaner but not passed on to person in charge of maintenance. That said, the gardens, pool area etc are immaculate and very attractive. Very friendly staff - we will definitely book there again soon.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geejae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2017

We were allocated a three bedroom apartment with 2 bedrooms downstairs shut off. There was also a laundry downstairs which we could use. Our bedroom was up the stairs as was an extremely nice sitting room and kitchen and a deck with a BBQ. It was all very nicely decorated and very comfortable. We were only there for one night but it would be a great unit for a longer stay. It was an easy walk along a foreshore path into the town and boat harbour. The only drawback was the staircase as my husband has recently had a knee replacement.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Judy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

Lots to do here. Lost Springs is next door. Close to the shops, wharf, beach, hotel and restaurants.

Pool and tennis court.

Well equiped apartment but narrow and lots of stairs. Bed comfortable. Park outside your apartment.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Raynboz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
0.0 km away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
513 reviews
0.5 km away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 18 in Whitianga
85 reviews
26.7 km away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Baileys at the Beach Motel
Baileys at the Beach Motel
#7 of 18 in Whitianga
68 reviews
19.9 km away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
2.0 km away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceans Resort Whitianga? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceans Resort Whitianga

Address: 18 Eyre Street | 50 Metres Down the Drive, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Whitianga
#2 Family Hotel in Whitianga
#2 Luxury Hotel in Whitianga
Price Range: ₹ 7,009 - ₹ 13,137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oceans Resort Whitianga 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your next holiday in apartment style accommodation at competitive rates. Oceans Resort offers contemporary motel accommodation in self catering apartments. Choose to utilise the upper floor at a 1 bedroom price (serviced daily) perfect for couples or business travel, or choose to use the full apartment at a 2 bedroom price or include the use of the the 'sleep out' - both perfect for groups and families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Oceans Resort Whitianga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceans Resort Whitianga Hotel Whitianga
Oceans Hotel Whitianga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing