We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NZ Honeymoon”
Review of Within The Bays

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Within The Bays
Ranked #9 of 43 Whitianga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Chris and I started our honeymoon at 'Within the Bays' and we couldnt have asked for more. The location is spectacular with brilliant views from high up on the hills. The bedroom is clean, spacious and extremely comfortable. Hans and Annemarie are fantastic hosts. They made us feel very relaxed and shared many a story with us. The breakfasts were of 5 star quality, with home made breads and crossiants, Hans jams, fresh produce and all very well cooked. Annemarie and Hans were able share their knowledge of NZ and offer advice and suggestions for the rest of our holiday. They truly went above and beyond to ensure that we had a wonderful time in Whitianga. We had such a lovely time here and would recommend it to anyone looking for a luxury B&B !

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AClark3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
withinthebays, Owner at Within The Bays, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2012

Thanks for your review, most appreciated! Wishing you a very happy future together, Annemarie and Hans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 55 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2012

A great place to stay with stunning views, very comfortable bed, very functional bathroom and a yummy breakfast each morning.
A very new and immaculate house and just like staying with some old friends.

Thank you to Annemarie and Hans for a great stay!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank itstonyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
withinthebays, Owner at Within The Bays, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2012

Thanks very much! We had a great time too! I hope the mouse you needle felted is still in great condition:>) Cheers, Annemarie and Hans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

In Feb. my parents, sister and I stayed for two days in Within the Bays and being one of our first stops in NZ we could not have asked for a better experience. Annemarie and Hans made us feel welcomed and made our stay an unforgettable one. They not only provided us with many interesting stories and all kinds of information about the Stars, flora and fauna of NZ but also provided us with many tips about were to go and what to see.

The place had the best view ever and the breakfast was "divine". Annemarie and Hans make most the jams that they serve and you have to try the croissants. We loved our stay in Within the Bays.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cincinnati4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Our first B & B experience couldn't have been any better ! Annemarie and Hans were the perfect hosts and it felt like we were home away from home.

The place was clean and well maintained. They were keen in helping us plan our day and gave us some great tips. We woke up to a scrumptious breakfast and a million dollar view. The freshly baked croissant and organic jams are not to be missed.

Our evenings were spent sitting at the fire place sampling Hans' great lager and exchanging stories and photos. Annemarie taught us how to spin wool which was good fun and we ended up with our own great souvenirs.

We will definitely return for another for many more stays.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nidhi1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Best B&B ive ever been to. The view from your room is breath taking Annamarie and Hans are an amazing couple who are extremly friendly and very helpful! Also great company if you wanna just relax and have a chat. They both make amazing breakfasts for you which included home made crossants! defnitly recommend with in the bays if you are ever looking at a place to stay in whitianga :)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramesh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
30.6 km away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
4.1 km away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
506 reviews
10.3 km away
Wairua Lodge - Rainforest River Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Andrea's Bed & Breakfast
Andrea's Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 43 in Whitianga
170 reviews
11.2 km away
Hahei Bed and Breakfast
27.2 km away
Sunlover Retreat
Sunlover Retreat
#1 of 8 in Tairua
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Within The Bays? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Within The Bays

Address: 49 Tarapatiki Drive, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Whitianga
Price Range: ₹ 12,520 - ₹ 18,359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within the Bays is a luxury B&B where we welcome you our home: advice on local restaurants, best beaches, great art galleries, etc. While enjoying a glass of wine, beer or something else. Breakfast of your choice every morning. Children are very welcome and we have a lot of toys for them to play with. No pets except guide dogs. We speak English and Nederlands, ein wenig Deutch et un petit peux de Francais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Within The Bays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing