We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“AN ABSOLUTEY AMAZING PLACE - A WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE !!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Posada Amazonas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Posada Amazonas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Dorchester
Level Contributor
192 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
“AN ABSOLUTEY AMAZING PLACE - A WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

This jungle lodge is not somewhere that you can just arrive, knock on the door, and ask if there is a room available for the night! It is necessary to book a package which includes being collected from Puerto Maldonado airport (flights available from either Cusco or Lima) and transported by road to a river station to embark on what is described as a motorised canoe (looks about the same as a 1920's Thames launch except it is powered by a large outboard engine rather than a small inboard petrol or steam engine) for the rest of the journey which takes about an hour.

Various packages are available and my Wife and I chose the cheapest which is the "intro to the Amazon" three days and two nights, for single occupancy this would cost $485(US) but for double occupancy it is $375(US) per person - $750(US) or a little bit less than £500(UK) for the two of us - FANTASTIC VALUE.

So what did we get for our £400++?............The collection from the airport (and the return there at the end of our visit)...............The services of really enthusiastic and friendly guides.............A large number of activities including fishing for piranhas...........A trip to an ox-bow lake where we saw giant river otters............A trip to a hide overlooking a clay lick frequented by parrots, parakeets, and macaws.............A night walk through the jungle..................Sure I have forgotten to mention something but there is just so much to explore and enjoy!!..............About 15 minutes walk from the lodge is a 30 metre (about 100 feet) high observation tower, going up there are three viewing platforms, the first at monkey level (although is is quite rare to see any of them), the second at the 'top of tree' level, and the third above the canopy with a vast vista of treetops and the river.

Also included in the price are all meals, not exactly gourmet standard (who expects to find a michelin* in the jungle?) but very enjoyable and well adequate. The only thing not included in the price are drinks. There is a well stocked bar - beer, wine, and a great range of cocktails (and water if you want it). The bar prices are extremely reasonable.

The rooms are basic but very comfortable and have en-suite facilities. One side is open and sometimes "things" may visit during the night --- some of the most colourful butterflies and moths I have ever seen, and sometimes little scuffling sounds on the floor!! But we are laying on a comfortable bed under a protective mosquito net!!

My general advice is that if you have any severe mobility problems please do not visit (a degree of agility is required). Do take a torch (US - flashlight) with you - there is no electricity at night and if you need to get out of bed to visit the loo you do not want to tread on anything nasty!! Talking of electricity, the generator only runs for about two hours a day, the rest of the time it is candlelight or oil lamp - if you need to charge up your mobile (US - cell-phone) or anything else make sure you meet this window.

To summarize I can say only one thing - IF YOU HAVE EVER HAD THE DESIRE TO VISIT A RAIN-FOREST you will really enjoy your visit to POSADA AMAZONAS.......................ENJOY!!!

Thought I had finished but have just rememberd two more things, firstly when darkness arrives the sound begins - so many jungle noises, a perfect lullaby to ensure a serene nights sleep, and secondly had my first ever encounter (not in the bedroom) with a big hairy tarantular - he/she looked very cuddly and strokeable but I decided not to.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank InnesDorchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

800 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    606
    154
    25
    11
    4
See reviews for
162
296
70
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

I loved everything about this place, from the natural surroundings, to the lack of intruding technology, and all eco-concious materials and supplies. But mostly the incredicley lovable guides and their friendly, caring and accomodating nature. The food was a mix of vegetarian and non-veg which was more than I expected at a jungle lodge since I had bad experience at Peruvian cities hotels. I missed this place already one day after leaving. I never thought I could find so much peace in a place so remote and loud (monkeys/frogs/birds), keeping in mind I have hyperacusis! I loved most the guide Robin's cute animated style of explaining :)

Room Tip: If you fear insects pick rooms with center beds and remember to spray bug repellent two hours on you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank perla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

The staff are as helpful and friendly as any I've ever seen and the guides are extremely knowledgeable (as well as helpful and friendly, too). The activities and tours they have included in the price were great and the extra available activities well worth it.
The lodge was kept very clean, beds were comfortable and the food was great. There was also a very nice, relaxed atmosphere that helped us to just relax and enjoy.
It truly was an amazing trip - highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjheit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Ana, CA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

I loved this place, it's rustic but has all the necessary comforts. The atmosphere is relaxing yet there's so much to see and do. The accomodations are nice and clean, the food was delicious, the cocktails were strong and the guides were super cool.

It's a great experience and the rainforest is so amazing. I have to thank our guides Pedro and Jamie for making the experience so special, their enthusiasm and love for the forest and animals was genuine.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kpark714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
299 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stayed here for 4 days/3 nights at the end of our two week tour of Peru with Trip-Peru (highly recommended). It was amazing. We had a great guide, Fino who took us on all of our hikes and other excursions. Fino was so knowledgeable. All he had to do was hear a bird call and he could immediately identify it and show us in the bird book.

We thoroughly enjoyed the rustic nature of this lodge - no power except during mealtimes in the dining room, and kerosene lamps and candles after dark. The food was plentiful and very enjoyable.

I was a little hesitant before going about the 4th side of our room being open to the jungle, but it was a non-issue. Yes, we did get a few moths in the room, but the bed was covered with mosquito net each night by the staff when we left for dinner. It was very charming to return to our room and have light only from the lamps.

We would love to return to Posada Amazonas again if we ever return to Peru.

Room Tip: Some rooms had hot water and some didn't at the time of our stay, so check with the lodge if thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tambopata National Reserve
36.3 km away
Sandoval Lake Lodge
Sandoval Lake Lodge
#2 of 10 in Puerto Maldonado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
14.6 km away
Refugio Amazonas
Refugio Amazonas
#1 of 52 in Puerto Maldonado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
50.0 km away
Tambopata Research Center
Tambopata Research Center
#1 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.4 km away
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica
#3 of 52 in Puerto Maldonado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
5.0 km away
Tres Chimbadas Lake Lodge
Tres Chimbadas Lake Lodge
#8 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
39.3 km away
Wasai Tambopata Lodge
Wasai Tambopata Lodge
#2 of 2 in Tambopata National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Amazonas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Amazonas

Property: Posada Amazonas
Address: Private Reserve within the Native Community of Infierno, Tambopata National Reserve 084, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Madre de Dios Region > Tambopata National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Tambopata National Reserve
Price range (per night): ₹ 21,726 - ₹ 33,299
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Amazonas 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Amazonas is a 30 bedroom lodge owned by the Native Community of Infierno and managed with Rainforest Expeditions. Thanks to its accessibility, excellent wildlife observation opportunities, cultural context and comfortable accommodations, Posada Amazonas is ideal for a two night introduction to Tambopata's rain forests. It is located within the territory of the Infierno Community, built within the 2,000 hectare, private, communal reserve, which in turn is directly adjacent to the Tambopata National Reserve. Posada Amazonas was selected to be among the Best Eco Hotels in 2014 by Gogobot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Posada Amazonas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Amazonas Hotel Tambopata National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing