We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what I was looking for”
Review of Posada Amazonas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Posada Amazonas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Took my 17 year old daughter to Peru and wanted to experience an "amazon lodge" not too hard-core rustic but not 'american-ized' either. This was neat, clean, with great service and EXCELLENT guides. They are passionate about their Reserve. The food, local and well prepared, satisfied everyone. We were there 3 days and could have used another day. You are truly there with nature as the rooms open to the jungle (bug nets on beds for evenings) and shower curtain-like doors. We had some animals try to make friends (lizard in room and a possible opossum in the evening) but it added to the experience and we now have lots of stories to tell. It's tame enough that my teenager wasn't freaked out but intense enough that we both learned things and had a great time. We were there during the rainy season and it's not that bad. You just prepare for it with raincoats and rainboots (provided). Take a good flashlight. I took a pen-light and my daughter's small strong flashlight was much better, especially for our nightwalk. Met many people from other countries and everyone was friendly and happy.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AvidTraveler703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (893)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

689 - 693 of 893 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2012

We visited Posada Amazonas for three nights, not knowing quite what to expect. It was our first time in the Amazon jungle. We found an extremely knowledgeable and helpful guide who was native to the area, a new and well constructed lodge with good food (included) and comfortable bar. What we weren't prepared for was the suffocating heat - and no ceiling fans or other means for cooling down We simply took lots of showers. Although electricity is limited during the day, we managed just fine, and, given the rustic nature of things were happily surprised to find wifi available on a periodic basis. The explorations on the river and within the jungle were great and we saw lots of animals. The lodge is run by people from the local community who are warm and gracious.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

I had an amazing time at Posada last year. Well above my expectations. Great food and lodge.

Room Tip: All the rooms were great overlooking the jungle
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

What a great place to stay. Upon arrival at the airport, an English speaking tour guide lead us to our bus, and we were off to the jungle. Every transition was very smooth. The guide that met us at the airport was the same guide that lead all of our excursions and dropped us back off at the airport. We were able to get to know him and we felt very comfortable with him. From the airport to the lodge was pretty rugged, but the lodge makes it worth it. Be prepared to do a lot of hiking, but it is totally doable. My 70 year old dad, who is pretty young for his age, was able to complete all the hikes. If the night is clear, have your guide take you to the observation tower for star gazing. Also, make sure you don't have any food in your bags that is not in the safe, or you might have some friends at night. But this is only if you have food on you. Overall, it is a great place that provides great stories to tell friends.

Peace!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

The staff is local, friendly, and a joy to spend a few days with. The room was simple, not luxurious by any means, but what you would expect from an eco-lodge in the jungle. The food was better than expected. Your guide meets you and the others in your group, our group was six people, and then is with you the entire trip. I liked that because we got to know him and it really felt like we were spending the three days in someone's back yard. We saw amazing wildlife, much of which was very near to the lodge.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tambopata National Reserve
50 km away
Tambopata Research Center
Tambopata Research Center
#1 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
553 reviews
14.4 km away
Refugio Amazonas
Refugio Amazonas
#2 of 63 in Puerto Maldonado
859 reviews
19.2 km away
Wasai Tambopata Lodge
Wasai Tambopata Lodge
#2 of 2 in Tambopata National Reserve
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.2 km away
Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion
Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion
#1 of 63 in Puerto Maldonado
370 reviews
39.5 km away
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica
#3 of 63 in Puerto Maldonado
804 reviews
5 km away
Tres Chimbadas Lake Lodge
Tres Chimbadas Lake Lodge
#8 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Amazonas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Amazonas

Address: Private Reserve within the Native Community of Infierno, Tambopata National Reserve 084, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Madre de Dios Region > Tambopata National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Tambopata National Reserve
Price Range: ₹ 29,117 - ₹ 35,609 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Amazonas 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Amazonas is a 30 bedroom lodge owned by the Native Community of Infierno and managed with Rainforest Expeditions. Thanks to its accessibility, excellent wildlife observation opportunities, cultural context and comfortable accommodations, Posada Amazonas is ideal for a two night introduction to Tambopata's rain forests. It is located within the territory of the Infierno Community, built within the 2,000 hectare, private, communal reserve, which in turn is directly adjacent to the Tambopata National Reserve. Posada Amazonas was selected to be among the Best Eco Hotels in 2014 by Gogobot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Posada Amazonas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Amazonas Hotel Tambopata National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing