We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveller rating
78
51
13
9
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
51
13
9
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bagels continental breakfast hard boiled eggs fire pit microwave fridge tap water is seneca lake beds were comfortable pride of ownership community room the breakfast area spent nights motel style rooms place to stay the cottages wouldn't stay anywhere else highly recommend staying here
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 160 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2018

The beds were comfortable and the young woman who took care of the fire pit for us was wonderful, but sadly the accommodations were dated and in need of some basic maintenance. The towel rack in our bedroom was placed poorly and caused us to hit our heads frequently when using the toilet. The curtains were falling down in the bathroom and the bathroom as a whole left much to be desired The room felt more like a rustic dated retreat style room. The breakfast buffet was also very average with packaged muffins and fruit cups as well as cereal, yogurt and boiled eggs.
It was very disappointing to only be able to walk a certain distance down toward the lake since access to the lake is cut off by signs indicating that it is off limits. There was a nice walk beside a stream with little waterfalls, and there is a beautiful view of the falls across the lake. There are two Adirondack chairs beside the stream.
The hotel is a small and convenient distance from the town which was an advantage to us and anyone else taking the tours of the wineries.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018

The pictures are deceiving....I thought we would be in a cabin lakefront. No...it was facing a 4 lane highway. There is a lake...way off. The staff was very nice and helpful. The cabin was cute....no problem with it. They served a Continental breakfast which I thought was very good with a lot of selections. There is renovations going on now.....so after the new cabins/restaurant/bar is done I think it will be very nice. There are new owners so changes are being made. It will just take time....

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2018 via mobile

To start with, there’s no lake.. not even to access the lake. Although, you can walk along the creek and enjoy the nature, also you will find hammocks and wooden chairs. The cabin rooms are ok, they have microwave, tv , and mini fridge. The motel rooms are ugly looking from the outside so I can’t imagine the inside. It was sad not to see a fire out back going while we were there, they have plenty of wood but I guess no one to assist you with the fire. The breakfast consists of boiled eggs, bagels, cereal , yogurt, juice and coffee. I will keep looking for a better place if I was you! Keep this one for last resort.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Road258202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2018

Clean, but with a peculiar overpowering smell of either perfume or detergent. Inside was spacious, a little old but well kept. Fridge, microwave and coffeemaker which was really nice. Windows have seen better days and need replacement or maintenance. Staff or owner very friendly. Breakfast – very disappointing even for a continental.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HGUDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the Lakeside Resort mid-way through a road trip from Montreal to Boston. I booked the resort as we wanted somewhere we could relax for a couple of days before heading to NYC and from the description and photos, it looked ideal. Unfortunately, the photos and description aren’t a true representation. The place is undergoing significant renovations and this wasn’t mentioned when we booked or on the resort website, so when we arrived we were really disappointed to see how much of a building site it was. There were diggers and trucks moving constantly, so sitting outside and reading etc would have been in no way relaxing. The lake is a fair walk from the cabins and the resort is actually located on a really busy road.
The cabin itself was ok but be warned of how noisy the fridge is if you’re a light sleeper and also, the tap on the sink in the kitchenette area dripped constantly and my request for someone to have a look at it was ignored.
Once the renovations have been completed I’m sure the place will be much better but we felt a bit cheated out of what should have been a relaxing break.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Jen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melinda S, Owner at Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2018

Dear Jen,
We do apologize for your vacation being less relaxing than you had hoped. The construction has been very difficult to predict/coordinate, but we have taken your feedback and been proactively notifying all of our guests going forward. The fridge and sink issues were not ignored, they just weren't able to be fixed while you were there. We do keep the construction noise limited to 9-5 and hope you were able to enjoy the daily campfire during quiet hours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews