We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveller rating
30
32
26
9
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
30
32
26
9
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews comfortable rocking chairs seneca lake air conditioner worked great refrigerator and microwave another couple water pressure enjoy the view would stay here again great place to stay gazebo rockers jim porch lodging key
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 113 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

This great place is just a short drive from downtown Watkins Glen (WG). It is just far enough away to avoid the 2018 downtown revitalization construction noise. Room #12 was clean & comfortable with two full sized beds. The bathroom & carpeting was very clean and the beds super comfy. Enjoyed the great view overlooking Seneca Lake just outside the door. The staff was friendly & very accommodating. My five day stay was very enjoyable - a great hotel at a good price.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank SageTraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jimbo535, Owner at Longhouse Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate responsible honest people who tell us about their visit very much!! We hope you willl come visit us again when in our beautiful area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018

First time ever - bedbug bites. Will not be back, ever. I only wore flip flops in the room because the carpet was yucky. sorry to say I have not positive to relate. The rooms need a major overhaul, smaller furniture, better mattresses - bathrooms need to be remodeled.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank laurensp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jimbo535, Owner at Longhouse Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

This review is totally false. I had inspections by state and by an exterminator here right after their stay. They found no signs of bed bugs in any rooms. There are bed bug covers on all box springs, mattresses, and pillows to help prevent them. These people had friends staying at the Longhouse Manor B & B and wanted to move up there after their first night at the Motel for the other two nights they were here. Two members of my staff heard them laughing and saying " we got our way to the Manor" while they were sitting in the gazebo located right outside our office at the Motel. They had liquor bottles and beer cans in all the common areas when they moved up to the Manor and I had other guests complain about them. They thew up on the carpet in the room at the Motel the first night. Perhaps that is why they wore flip flops? The beds are new and very comfortable. Please read other reviews from responsible guests about our establishment. Do not fall into the trap of listening to people who just want to get their way no matter how.

We take reviews from our guests very seriously and use them to provide a comfortable clean room. Out staff is excellent and go above and beyond to make sure our guests enjoy their stay. We have made many changes based on peoples reviews but please do not believe someone who is just out to get their way. The internet is a very great and powerful tool when used by responsible people. It is a very harmful and destructive tool in the hands of irresponsible people.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018

My sister and I stayed in room #9 for 2 nights. We spent as little time in the room as possible.The room smelled musty. It had two queen beds. Mine was extremely soft. The green carpet has seen better days. It had a huge black long bureau/ desk that took up too much space. It was decorated in outdated decor such as a straw hat with fake flowers, very 1970’s.
For $150 a night I expected an up to date and cheerful room.
On a positive side, the location was convenient. It’s just a short ride to town, beautiful vineyards and the Falls at Watkins Glen. Most of the employees were helpful. They have comfortable rocking chairs outside of each room as well as many hanging flowers decorating the outside. There was also comfortable seating under the gazebo and at the pool.
The continental breakfast was basic, but the orange juice was fresh and bagels soft.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank bmmcg5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jimbo535, Owner at Longhouse Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2018

I am so sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. The room actually has two full size beds in the room and not two queens. I'm sorry the decorations were not to your taste. The decorations are in our rooms to give our guests a feeling of home.

Some of the carpets are older but are very clean, we have our own professional steam cleaner on site. We are in the process of replacing older carpets as needed as of this writing.

You made your reservation online through one of the booking engines. They all get commissions for using their services and they deserve their commissions. If you would like a better rate for a room, I suggest you call the establishment directly. Most of the time you will get the best rate this way.

We do hope you will come back and see us when you are in the area again. You will see that all I have mentioned is true on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2018 via mobile

Another great weekend. The motel rooms and grounds are kept so neat! The beds and linens are so comfy, they make you want to sleep all day! My husband and I love to bring our dogs when we travel and they have become familiar with the motel and act as if they were home! Thank you Jim for being such a friendly person & nice owner. Tim, Lynn, Zoey and Mystic. See you soon.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank sunshine2016684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jimbo535, Owner at Longhouse Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2018

So glad glad you enjoyed your stay with us! I know allowing pets is tough because there are so many people allergic to pet dander.
We have a professional steam cleaner on site and after a customer with a pet stays in a room we steam clean the carpet and all the furniture in that room. Bedding is obviously washed as well.

We look forward to your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018

Honestly, I do not understand how anyone could give this place a negative review. Such a beautifully, clean and well kept place. Very family friendly, lovely HEATED pool. Considering most of the motels in this area are extremely out-dated (wood paneling and 1980's bathrooms!), Longhouse Lodge Motel was very refreshing with comfy beds, luxurious sheets, beautiful decor, and an overall warm and fun atmosphere. We enjoyed our stay quite a bit. After the kids enjoyed the pool for hours in the evening, we put them to bed in their comfy beds and finished our evening in the gazebo. Finished off a nice bottle of Seneca Lake wine. We had a slight mix-up with our reservation which was quickly and efficiently resolved by the owner who was more than happy to help us. Not to mention that the rooms ALL come with a refrigerator and microwave. Very convenient!

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are HUGE and are always our first choice!
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jennylynnpaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jimbo535, Owner at Longhouse Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2018

Thank you for your review. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews