We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location in beautiful town”
other travellers have booked this property
House is visible in upper right section of the photo near the Tower
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
House is visible in upper right section of the photo near the Tower
Cosy kitchen and diner..or you can sit outside on the terrace Covered terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
House is visible in upper right section of the photo near the Tower
Cosy kitchen and diner..or you can sit outside on the terrace
Covered terrace
Kitchen and diner
lower bedroom
Lounge
Lower bedroom
Main bedroom
Main bedroom
Lounge
KItchen and diner
First Floor
Ground Floor
Chateau du Cayrou
Puy L'Eveque
Pont, Cahors
Lot River Panorama
Chateau de Bar |
Eglise de Courbenac
Eglise de Issudel
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Puy-l'Eveque, Lot, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Geoff B
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location in beautiful town”
Reviewed 4 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

La Maison du Fort is a comfortable house in a great location in the beautiful medieval town. It is very close to the weekly market and most things are available nearby. We were there during the summer festival, and enjoyed the wine tastings, the music and atnosphere. The fireworks across the river at the foot of the town were absolutely breathtaking! The are some beautiful walks though wineyards and forests nearby. The house is well equiped and we enjoyed cooking the local produce, accompagnied by excellent Lot wine. The path down to the house is quite steep as the old village is built on a steep hillside, but did not present problems to us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2014
Thank you for your review - we're pleased that you had a good holiday and enjoyed the local holiday festivities. August is a great time to be there!

Kind Regards

Ian B
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadja R
Albany, Australia
1 review
“We loved the gite in Puy L'Eveque!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We had a fabulous week at La Maison du Fort. The gite was situated in amongst Puy L'Eveque's beautiful medieval buildings accessed by pedestrian pathways which eliminated traffic noise and hazards. We could park our car close by and loved being able to reach everything we needed by foot - especially for the early morning bakery run!
Not only was the gite reasonably priced in comparison to hotels, it was also delightful - bright and cheerful, clean and roomy, with all the comforts from home - even a selection of books to read. The nature of the 2 bedroom positions (one upstairs and one downstairs) made it easier to travel with others providing private areas for quiet time.
The kitchen and laundry facilities were modern and functional. It was also great being able to wash clothing prior to continuing our trip.
We loved exploring the town and venturing on local walking trails to nearby villages, the local Tuesday market in the town square was fun. Hills and walkways may not be suitable for people with disabilities or knee problems though.
If you want to visit a place that can be accessed by foot and isn't overrun by tourists but has a good selection of restaurants and things to do Puy L'Eveque - La Maison du Fort is highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Walking around the village without distraction and noise of cars.
Liked least: Hills and cobblestones may be tricky for elderly or people with disability.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write the review. We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your kind comments. Hopefully you will return to La Maison du Fort and Puy L'Eveque.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa P
The Settlement, Christmas Island
2 reviews
“Gorgeous!”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

I was looking for a lovely getaway to celebrate a milestone birthday and La Maison du Fort and Puy-l Eveque delivered on the promise. The accommodation is very well located in town amongst the medieval buildings with convenient parking and access to butcher, bakery, shops etc. The place was comfortable and clean and we liked being able to cook for ourselves. There is a good welcome compendium when you arrive about what to expect and where to find things, and also a folder of local walks that we found very helpful. The town itself is very easy to walk around and really had everything that we needed. It is also not touristy so you feel quite immersed in the town which is what we wanted. Plenty to do in the area and I would recommend La Maison du Fort as a great base for your stay. Wifi was a real bonus - didn't have to hunt around town for a connection.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, being able to cook for ourselves and having everything we needed for our stay.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ives2014
Puy-l'Eveque, France
1 review
“Great!!”
Reviewed 5 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We had an excellent stay at La Maison du Fort.
Ian and his staff did offer us a great welcome, the house is clean, the beds are good the location is central. We stayed here with 3 persons (My wife, our son of 14, and me) and we had plenty of space, I think that 4 persons would be no problem to!
I've been in different places during 25 years in this area, this place is one of the best if you want to walk in the morning getting bread instead of a 10km drive. Same if you want to visit a restaurant.
Thanks Ian (& Mary!)

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2014
We are really happy to receive our first review from a family who know the area so well! Thank you for your thoughtful comments and we hope to see you again.

Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas S
Belgique
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: la fraîcheur de la chambre et le frigo avec les boissons
Liked least: l'absence de jardin
Travelling group: En famille avec adolescent(s)
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2016
Merci pour votre reponse, nous attendons le retour avec plaisir.

Cordialement

Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing