We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveller rating
5
17
25
5
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5
17
25
5
10
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 62 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2018

We went during a busy weekend, and realised upon check-in that the hotel had sold all of the booking dot com rooms! There were at least 15 people in the reception area, all looking distraught. I spoke to guests who had been able to check in, and they told me they didnt make any reservation! the hotel therefore deliberately left the booking dot come guests out. It was rather stressful to have to find another place when it was already dark outside. The hotel staff seemed rather bored with us, as we were clearly not the first ones (nor the last) with this issue. They also tried to put us in their "appartment", about 3km away, for a much higher price. What a scam!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzydelorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018

The room was good size with a balcony, AC and ceiling Fan. Shower pressure was a bit low. Breakfast on their rooftop was good but they could improve the variety of food available. Tea/Coffee making available in the rooms as well as a fridge and tv.

Room Tip: Its good to check out the rooms beforehand as I viewed 3 rooms, 1 of which was a bit small and dark.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vivienne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2017

This hotel is near the Memories of Zanzibar, the location is perfect, the top open restaurant is very quiet and they offer good meals and breakfast. The rooms have the sultan beds which are very comfortable indeed. at a very affordable price you get all these luxury.

Room Tip: The Rooms on the east side are more spacious and the AC working perfectly.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gi7476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017

Shangani was an average hotel with a price range of 40$ to 60$ for single rooms and 50$ to 70$ for double rooms depending on the season, but with an excellent location right in the Historical Shangani and Kenyatta road of the old Stonetown.

Now they have just changed the management in the span of a month and without prior notification the price have been increased to 70$ for single room and between 80 and 100$ for double room! Thus with no improvements, for small old rooms and not really comfortable, at least really not worth it for the new prices!

When we asked the new manager we have been told that this is a new management and that are the prices and that if we are not happy we can go somewhere else! We have booked this hotel over the years for numbers of our business relations!

Anyway why would you want to pay that crazy price for a place which is not worth that amount of money when you can pay 10$ more and stay in Dhow Palace or pay 15$ more and stay in Tembo and both places are well located with swimming pool and Tembo is right on the beach of Stonetown!

Also we have witnessed one issue, been told of another one from another guest staying there and the last one from friends which were supposed to come and join us there but couldn't because of the incompetence of the General Manager! Let me tell you the stories:

1. We have been told a by a local tour operator of the General Manager screaming at a Westerner, which we discovered later to be the tour operator himself, because he came and discussed a potential booking with a receptionist of the hotel, he is dealing with on a regular basis! He was telling him that this is his hotel and that he needs to obey his rule and not to come and visit staff there, and he is the General Manager that him only can deal with bookings! The Tour Operator told him that he was not his employee and therefore does not have to abide to his rules, and certainly not shouting at him or he will take his business elsewhere!

2. We have witnessed a fellow Indian traveller, staying with us in Shangani, been mishandled and abused by the General Manager, what has happened to him is unthinkable! He asked for a taxi to pick him up so that he can go and buy a flight ticket, at the moment the taxi driver came to pick him up the General Manager turned up and asked the taxi driver what he was doing there, he pointed at the guests and explained that he was coming to pick him up to go to the airline and buy a ticket! He started to shout at the taxi driver asking him if it was his duty to organize flight tickets, the taxi driver told him that he was bringing him directly to the airline! The General Manager chased the taxi driver away and told the guest that in his hotel he was dealing with flight tickets! The Indian guest told us that the hotel failed to get him the ticket and that he had to go outside to fetch a taxi to finally go to the airline and buy his ticket! Last be not least the guest wanted to organize the same taxi driver from the morning, but there again the manager chased him and insisted to organize a taxi! Taxi which failed to arrive on time, which angered the guests who then told the GM of his incompetence, relating the facts of the morning and asked him what has happened to his taxi as he needs to catch a flight at the airport! The GM bluntly told him to go and fetch himself a taxi on the street! This is when we saw him last leaving the hotel on foot with his luggage trying to catch a taxi outside!

3. A Tour Operator from Arusha organized a booking online at Shangani hotel for our friends, who were supposed to join us in Stonetown! We have just discovered that they won't be able to join us, as the GM had just cancelled their booking because he overbooked the hotel at a higher price where he does not have to pay commission to the Tour Operator from Arusha! They have tried through the TO to resolve the situation but the GM does not want to know anything and does not care whether or not the TO had made a booking online for our friends!

This place is a real disaster, the new little horrible GM is rude and incompetent and the thinks he knows it all!

Do not stay there!!! Chose any other place you want but not Shangani Hotel!

We sincerely hope that the ownership of the hotel realize what kind of GM they have hired and that they will fire his A_S quickly or their hotel will go bust!

Stay there at your own risk!

Room Tip: Do not take the standard rooms - way overpriced!
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zahirabbas M, General Manager at Shangani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Dear Evan ,
I am the new GM in Shangani Hotel , Summer Shen . Very Glad to hear so many advises and suggestions from you and thanks so much to write so true things to us . I am sorry to give you so bad impression and so bad experience and hope you doing well now and have a good mood to talk .In the Future , I will try to do my best to make every customer satisfied with our service and then give them good impression and experiences and make sure the same issue will not happen again and many thanks .
Best Regards
Summer Shen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

Is opposite to postal areas and close to many places
Cleaned is just average, the price is okay and breakfast is simple
Not good for dinner or lunch
Have no good view
Shangani hotel is one of the old hotel and the services is just average

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Thank Glory K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zahirabbas M, Manager at Shangani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Hello Glory,

Greetings from Zanzibar!

Thank you very much for taking your time to review your recent stay with us. We are very happy to have an opportunity to serve you at our Hotel it was a joy and great pleasure. Thank you once again for highlighting our clean room. We at Shangani Hotel try our best to ensure the stay of our guests get the most out of their travel experience.

Shangani Hotel has a rooftop restaurant serving breakfast only, and where guest can enjoy eyebird view of indian ocean and stone town. Our hotel is surrounded by many good restaurants where guests can have lunch and dinner.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel and ensuring your next visit is another amazing experience.

Regards
Zahirabbas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews